We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Oh La La Chocolat! - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oh La La Chocolat!
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Ringwood
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

As a fairly regular customer to this quaint and lovely shop/cafe I felt the need to speak up.The existing staff that have remained at the shop have always been courteous and attentive to myself and my wife.i really don't kow how they could improve mr gard? The girls really deserve more credit. We will continue to come in and sample the fantastic chocolates and I really do love the coffee. Keep up the good work girls!
Also dogs are allowed into the shop which is wonderful for us on our walks around town with our dogs

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidwhitesabt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This cafe needs to attend to various issues.
On a damp day you cannot see out of the windows.
The hot chocolate is more warm than hot - at least the version tried by us was. The Turkish Delight they sell is not terribly delightful and the salted caramel ice cream has enough salt in it to melt the ice part of the ice cream and still be savoury enough to deal with a fair sized portion of chips. Also - the sundaes were definitely on the small side.
We also found the staff attitude very lacking. If other customers are treated the way we were I cannot understand why the other reviews on the cafe are so good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesDeans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardbus2012, Owner at Oh La La Chocolat!, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi there as the new owner of the business (I took over on the 1st January 2014) im sorry that you have had a previous bad experience visiting. I hope I can address some of the issues for you. Ventilation - We are having air conditioning installed in the near future to keep customers warm in winter and cool in summer. Products - we no longer have salted caramel ice cream and will be launching a new range of ice creams in time for the summer. We will take a look at our range of Turkish delight to see if any improvements can be made. We have also recruited a number of new staff to the business and are retraining existing employees so hope if you decide in the future to re visit you will notice the many improvements we have made to the business.
If you have any further concerns please contact me directly I notice your visit was in December but I would like to show that we have put things right since taking over. Many thanks Simon Gard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice chocolate, food ok...”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having looked up this cafe on tripadvisor we thought it was worth having a look, first impressions were that we were not welcomed and sat down to then read on the menu that you seat yourself. The hot chocolate was nice and they have a fair few different flavours, we also ordered some sandwiches and then were told that they had run out of white bread, in a cafe this isn't a great start considering it was only 14.00, although we were told that it was due to new owners taking over tomorrow. The chicken and bacon toastie was yummy but the other half had a ham and cheese toastie but it only had a small slither of ham in and she wasn't too impressed, for £.4.50 you would expect a decent amount of filling, other than that the staff were pleasant enough but maybe we just chose a bad day because of the change of ownership, I would say its worth trying but don't get your hopes up too much.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanW0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardbus2012, Owner at Oh La La Chocolat!, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi as the new owner I would like to offer a response to your review, I took over the business on the 1st January 2014. Im sorry you experienced difficulties in ordering the items you wanted on the 31st December, and also for the unwelcome feeling the staff gave you. I would like to invite you to return to see the improvements that have been made since your last visit, we always try to have full availability of menu items and will be launching a new menu in February. We have taken on a number of new staff and have given extensive training to those who have stayed with the business so the levels of customer service will have improved. If you have any further concerns please contact me directly Simon Gard Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hot Chocolate!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I never knew there were that many ways to make a mug of hot chocolate. Divine.

Actually, my daughter had the choccy, I had a regular latte and that was probably one of the nicest coffee's you can get on Ringwood high street.

If you're in town, a good place for a meal.

And they sell chocolates too! But I do find this confusing because I can't figure out if they're a cafe or a chocolatiers. If you walked in to buy chocolates you're in a cafe. If you go in for a drink they sell chocolates so it's a bit odd. Still good though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent tempting Fare”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My first visit, but certainly not my last. I had the doorstep toastie and it was certainly the best toasted sandwich that I have had. Terrific range of chocolates all beautifully displayed and very tempting. If you have not been you are certainly missing out, wish I had tried this gem earlier. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrichtonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh La La Chocolat! also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing