We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Pub, Good Pub Grub”
Review of Finns at Ringwood - CLOSED

Finns at Ringwood
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Under new management, this tradition pub houses a fine selection of beers, ales, wines and spirits. We pride ourselves on our food and serve local fresh ingredients for both lunch and dinner. Our outdoor space is second to none!
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Pub, Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Finns is a fun pub, it's really character comes from the guys that run it. They frequently have events on, karaoke, live bands, DJs etc. The food is great, although it has a very limited vegetarian menu, the service is always excellent. At night this is the party pub. Top night out :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family Sunday lunch!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We booked Finns for a family gathering having not eaten there before. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and fussed over. The Sunday lunch was fabulous - thick slices of 'real' meat and great vegetables and plenty of it. The staff were very accommodating and eager to ensure we had a wonderful time. Will make this a regular outing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquieD188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent from beginning to End”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Firstly, please don't make a judgement by looking at the outside of the building! It is not the best looking pub in the High St by far but once you walk in the door it changes completely. We are absolutely sure that we would not have had such a good experience had we gone to one of the other pubs. The food was amazing, the best roast dinner we have ever had at a restaurant, the staff were incredible, we even overheard the Manager ask his staff to go out to buy some corn on the cob for a customer because they had run out. The atmosphere and entire lunch was fantastic. They are working really hard to turn the pub around and we really hope they manage this and people go in without judging the outside. You will not be disappointed. Thank you to the chef, waitress and manager for a truly tasty lovely lunch. WE WILL BE BACK. You all deserve for your pub to take off overtake the others in Ringwood because you are all so nice. Wonderful lunch. We both had the lamb which was tender and the roast potatoes and parsnips were perfect, the veg was freshly cooked - it was just all so tasty - wish we could have one every day! See you again for sure. Mr & Mrs Oliver

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blodwynSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I booked a Sunday lunch for 6 people, and having never visited Finns before, went a few days beforehand to check out the food. My husband loves burgers, so we took advantage of their 2 for 1 offer and each had a 'cowboy burger', which came with ribs on the side. The burger was homemade, delicious and quite large. I was impressed that the cheese in the burger was real cheese (not 'plastic' slices) and they seemed to make their own burger relish which was very nice. The meal came with 'unlimited' fries, which my husband seemed to interpret as a challenge, and requested some more. Within a few minutes the waitress came over with enough fries for 6 people! They were gorgeous (although there was far too many for two of us).

When we returned on the Sunday, we were not disappointed. The food was delicious, the wine was lovely and plentiful and the service from Finns was great. Beef was perfectly cooked, the chicken was moist, the pork came with a massive ribbon of crackling on the side. Proper veg, fluffy, crunchy roast potatoes, and impressive Yorkshire pudding.

It's the quality of food you would expect in a posh restaurant, and with the friendly service they provided we will definitely be going back again! Thank you Finns, keep it up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wip138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Roast ever.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a family outing to Finns last week for their Sunday roast. My beef was so tender - couldn't have cooked it better myself. Thick succulent slices. My husband was slightly disappointed with his pork....think it was the end of the joint and was fatty, which was a shame. All the others were well satisfied with their meals. Veg was plentiful - they even brought us another serving of cauliflower when requested. I'd certainly go there again and would recommend Finns.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finns at Ringwood also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing