We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an old thumper of a time!”
Review of Ringwood Brewery

Ringwood Brewery
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an old thumper of a time!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Amazing tour guide and amazing ales!
The ringwood brewery was a brilliant evening! Interesting tour, very good for all we came for an 18th bday with family and it was a really good evening for us all from nan to the birthday boy himself.

I recommend this tour!

Helpful?
Thank Chrissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    30
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very interesting... not really suitable for wheelchair bound people.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Visited the brewery with my wheelchair bound brother and some friends on a Saturday afternoon tour ( Mch 2013 ).
The welcome is very welcoming, with an introductory half pint and a 'pre-talk' before the full tour begins. Was a little disappointed that my brothers needs were ignored by the chap giving the tour. As part of it is upstairs which are too narrow to safely lift a wheelchair bound person, we rather expected that the person giving the tour would at least acknowldge the fact and explain what options were open. Instead it was left to us to chase after him to find out how much of the tour would be in-accessible. So my brother was left sat waiting for about 15 minutes whilst we toured the upper level. In compensation they did present him with a gift box selection of their ales, but it would have been nice for the lecturer to have at least said before he took the group upstairs what was to happen.

The end of the tour is a trip back to the small bar area and a further sampling of 4-5 ales. All on a free supply with an engraved half-pint tankard to take away as a souvenir. A very informative 2 hours, only marred by the situation with my brother, otherwise would have been 5 stars. Excellent value for money at £7.50 and a must to book in advance.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Of_Loxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie R, Manager at Ringwood Brewery, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Mark

Thank you for your review, I do apologise again for the confusion with your brother, I hope it didn't spoil the rest of your groups day. In light of the incident we have updated our tour page on our website to give more detail on access restrictions around the brewery and implemented a new procedure. If you are ever in the area again and would like another tour or maybe just to try some more beer, please get in touch we'd love to see you again!

Thank you!
Jodie Ringer
Store Manager
01425 470303
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant beer & knowledgeable staff. Well worth a visit or 2!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I visited today and had a wonderful time. The staff are brilliant and if you've not tired a Ringwood pale ale before you really should. The tour is very interesting and the free tasters before and after the tour were great. Have been on many other brewery tours and this is definately the best we've been to so far. It is Will be coming back again and will recommend to all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank minniemouse101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't miss out on this fantastic brewery tour.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Informative and interesting tour backed up by some fantastic presentations. Good explanation of the history and heritage of the Ringwood Brewery. Good tasting sessions and very friendly environment. I highly suggest a tour if you are visiting the area! Super!

Helpful?
Thank madhatter1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A great tour v intresting and enjoyable. Free taster before the tour then tasters at the end.well worth a visit would recommend. Tour guide was v good made it v enjoyable will be going back again

Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell73593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ringwood Brewery also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Ringwood Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing