We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great English pub!”
Review of The Red Shoot

The Red Shoot
Ranked #23 of 71 Restaurants in Ringwood
Price range: $8 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the heart of the New Forest, with its own micro-brewery producing 3 ales - Toms Tipple 4.8%, New Forest Gold 3.8% & Red White & Brew 4.0% and a dark mild Muddy Boot 4.2% We have an extensive homecooked menu to suit all tastes, which is served all day throughout the school holidays and weekends (times vary out of season)Outdoor seating area with views over the forest3 Beer Festivals a year April, July & OctoberLive bands every Sunday nightWeekly Quiz on Thursday night from 9.00pmFamilies, Dogs and Muddy Boots Welcome!
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great English pub!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely pub situated in the heart of the New Forest. My wife had a Ploughmans and said it was lovely, i had steak and ale pie which was gorgeous. They have an in house brewery which was very novel as well as having lots of local ales on tap. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMojoRisin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    190
    84
    42
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A fallen angel”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

In my opinion one the best located pubs in the the New Forest. This was ONCE a stunning place to go. It really has gone downhill FAST. No (on site brewed) beer on my visit. No atmosphere. Dirty surroundings and just let go in all honesty. Land lady wrong side of bar and just plain poop to be honest. I know a lot of holiday makers make there way here but please go somewhere else until they sort this place out. Check the reviews!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Early "shoots"of spring”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Fantastic weather, bikers, horse rides, cyclists, walkers, what better pub in the New Forest to visit. Plenty of walks to enjoy and a really good menu to come back to. Book a table in advance if you are coming far. Best food in the area, try it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gone seriously downhill”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Used to be a friendly pub, but has gone downhill. We used to go regularly, but eventually lost count of the times we had food that had to be returned due to e.g. gritty lettuce (waitress insisted it couldn't be), a supposedly blue steak that was medium, or some other issue.

Lots of different staff; some are friendly (and one at least had the decency to be horribly embarrassed about the exorbitant price she was required to charge us for soda water), but one or two are downright rude: we had one barman who refused to take a food order at the till we usually ordered it at; a few weeks later, having queued at the one he'd directed us to on the previous occasion, he directed us to the one he'd refuse to serve us at previously!

We've stopped going.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetenterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Massive portoins”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Great pub in nice location, pleasant clean pub. Friendly staff, food was great and service excellent. Massive portions, great variety. Nice place to visit, anytime of year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Shoot also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brook, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Red Shoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing