We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away Treasure.”

Tansy Continental Cafe
Ranked #18 of 71 Restaurants in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional English food specialising in Full English breakfast which are notably the best in town, Doorstep Sandwiches, Pannines, Jacket Potatoes, home made soups daily, specials consist of Cottage Pie, Lasagne, Liver and Mash, Chilli Con Carne, Spicy Curry, Large Salad Bowls, Vegetarian Foods available and plenty of gluten free Options. Afternoon Tea consists of Cream Teas, Victoria, Coffee, Chocolate, Lemon Sponges and Tea Cakes and Tea Breads. Continental Coffees, selection of Teas and soft Drinks.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tucked away Treasure.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Found this lovely little café tucked away down a side street off the market place. Popped in for a coffee and slice of homemade Lemon cake. staff were very attentive. cake was tasty and moist, will definitely return

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    21
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The food was excellent, as was the service.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went for breakfast with my wife and kids, service was amazing and very friendly especially for kids !Will recommend to everyone!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravenwood13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average cafe”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

My daughter went here to get a late lunch, but we're told they could only serve sandwiches or soup due to it being past 2pm. Anyway we stayed ordering the simple fayre on offer; we were intrigued to find out why this is the #1 restaurant in Ringwood on Tripadviser. The food came fairly quickly and was quite nice, the bread on my daughter's sandwich was lovely and fresh, otherwise the food was nothing to rave about. As we were eating, we noticed a really terrible smell, like rotten cheese / blocked toilet smell. I went to investigate where the smell was coming from, found out someone had ordered a jacket potatoe with a blue cheese and bacon topping (not sure why she was allowed a jacket potato and we weren't?). Anyway, our opinion is this is an ok place to grab a snack, but not the best place in town. Did also want to mention that none of the cakes on display looked appetising, mainly dry looking sponge cakes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SandraB2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Tansy!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely little place with lots of character. The staff were incredibly friendly which my grandparents enjoyed. I had the daily special of tomato, mozzarella, and basil toastie - good portion, small side salad, and fresh ingredients. My grandparents had a rock cake which they enjoyed which means a lot since they are hard critics! We will definitely be visiting again!!

Helpful?
Thank Tessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Went with a friend who is a regular for 'coffee' - saw the cakes and had to indulge. Well worth the extra calories! This is down a side street off the market place, but definitely worth finding. Staff are very friendly and helpful without being intrusive, (but also very busy when we were there) and the coffees excellent. It has a nautical touch to it and is clean and fresh feeling. Judging by how busy it was it has a good reputation which is well deserved. The meals coming out looked very appetising so may well be meeting for lunch next time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tansy Continental Cafe also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Tansy Continental Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing