We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely birds and great staff”

Liberty's Owl Raptor and Reptile Centre
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Liberty's Centre is located near Ringwood on the edge of the New Forest. It is home to a large collection of birds of prey, including eagles, owls and Vultures. We also house a number of reptiles and other creepy crawlies, such as snakes, lizards and spiders in our indoor reptile house. Enjoy a visit that will prove to be fun, exciting and educational for all ages. Observe the birds flying free and the reptiles up close and personal, during various spectacular displays held throughout the day. Facilities include: -> Flying field -> Indoor flying theatre -> Reptile House -> Cafe -> Large outdoor sandpit -> Gift shop -> Party room -> Education room -> Baby changing facilities -> Wild bird rehabilitation facilities
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely birds and great staff”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

All the birds and reptiles looked very happy and the staff certainly knew their birds well. The flying display, although with a temperamental falcon, our guide certainly was entertaining and educational.

The centre could use a make over but I’d rather the funds go towards the birds welfare rather than remodelling each aviary. We did make it round very quickly but the café (if a bit expensive) provided the seat and refreshment until the first flying show.

Aimed mainly towards kids and photographers but all the information available was enough to keep us entertained as we’re young at heart. And we found the caracara, which is now our favourite bird.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    140
    31
    21
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Educational”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The staff are really helpful and seem to very much enjoy the work they do. Good cake in the cafe. Fab place to take the children, even in the rain.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachbum5597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“libertys great day out”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you like birds of prey and reptiles this is the place for you! they depend totally on the public for support and to keep them open. Great for all the family and the bird shows are a must, absolutely fantastic. The staff are dedicated and are extremely knowledgeable, well worth a visit and after visiting the cafe as my wife says "Nice cake"

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place that needs some updating!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Attended the Liberty centre on a family day trip. Ages of our party ranged between 3yrs and 66yrs old and there lots of interesting things to occupy us all!
The staff were friendly, highly knowledgeable and very enthusiastic and appeared to show great passion and dedication to all the reptiles and birds!
The flying display was fantastic and the birds came really close which was perfect for the budding photographers in our midst.
There are a couple of things that let it down......
1) The cafe was full of flies!!
2) The lovely interesting lady who gave us a great reptile talk and showcased the reptiles warning us not to touch them as there was a risk of contracting salmonella.... was later in the cafe serving food and drinks! I'm sure she washed her hands and is well versed on infection control procedures, I just found it a little unhygienic and impractical!
3) Having been a recurrent visitor to the Hawk conservancy in Andover, in comparison I think Libertys would benefit from a make-over! It was all abit dated and run down. The Hawk conservancy encourage members of the public to become season ticket holders and they also ask people to volunteer in the winter months to help with park restoration/painting fences and general maintenance ... This may be an idea for Libertys to help with upkeep.

In Summary.... The birds and reptiles appear well cared for by very knowledgeable staff who are doing a fantastic job in a dated environment that needs a serious makeover!

Keep up the good work everyone, we will definitely visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Lyzajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well done!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I would like to congratulate Lynda and all her staff for the excellent work they are doing at Liberty's. The variety of birds is fantastic, and the conservation and education work is better than any other Bird of Prey Centre I have been to.

If anyone visited several years ago, before the present owner took over, they would recognise the improvements made. Lynda is fully aware that there is a lot more work to do but she has limited funds and believe me when I say every single penny is ploughed back into the centre.

I am sorry people dismiss the centre as being "ramshackle" and depressing but would ask these people to contribute more to allow more work to be done, or even to consider becoming volunteers and helping instead of writing negative feedback. The priority at Liberty's is the welfare of all the animals, feeding and vet fees do not come cheap. All the animals are loved and extremely well cared for and the staff would go without themselves to ensure the animals are ok.

I was a volunteer there back in the days of the New Forest Owl Sanctuary, and I can see massive improvemnts since then. Everything now is legal and above board and I can be assured that the present owner will not just walk away when the going gets tough, leaving everything to be cared for and paid for by 8 volunteers.

Please visit and if you have comments or concerns please speak to Lynda or one of her falconers. They will happily explain everything to you and will willingly listen to any ideas or suggestions. Please do not compliment the staff to their faces and then write something bad on here as I know some people have done. If you are an animal lover have the courage of your convictions to speak out at the time if you feel there is a problem.

You will learn a lot about the history of the centre and the difficulties faced so far. It may not be the tidiest place you have ever visited, but it is far from ramshackle and you will never have a better experience with Raptors and Reptiles than that gained at Liberty's. Keep up the good work!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Owlsfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty's Owl Raptor and Reptile Centre also viewed

Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Liberty's Owl Raptor and Reptile Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing