We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Trullo - CLOSED

Al Trullo
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went last night for our 2nd visit to the restaurant as we had previously enjoyed our evening, and took a couple of friends with us, hoping they would enjoy it as much as we had. We were all very pleased with the ambience of the restaurant, the choices on the menu and the friendly yet unobstrusive waiters. The food was delicious and we were certainly not rushed at all. We also appreciated the complimentary bread and trio of dips, and also the digestifs offered to all after the meal. Thank you to all the staff, we will look forward to visiting again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank antandjulieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The New Forest at its best - Smashing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Al Trullo is tucked away in the sleepy little village of Ringwood on the Hampshire Dorset border and it is well worth a deviation if you're heading east/west or, in our case, a worthwhile 30 mile round trip to enjoy fantastic homemade pasta and a reliably high standard of service. It is unpretentious, family run and very, very good. It offers excellent value and some exquisitely tasty food. Try the pear and gorgonzola raviloli and you'll be hooked. There is very limited parking outside the restaurant in Christchurch Rd, so you'll need to park in the big open space carpark signposted as you come off the dual carriageway or better still, in the main market square and walk back towards Friday's Cross [ taking a peek at the local deli and the excellent independent bookshop on your way] and turn east along Christchurch Rd. Everywhere in Ringwod is in easy walking distance and this little jem is well worth the effort.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ErnestWordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have eaten many times at Al Trullo and it is always good. It is a small intimate restaurant, great service and the new owners go out of their way to look after you. The menu is extensive ranging from very reasonably prices pizza to more extravagant specials. The relaxed atmosphere means its a restaurant for any occasion and any day of the week and the free liqueurs after dinner always go down well. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodgee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Praise where praise is due - Christmas Day 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have now visited Al trullo on many occasions - often on a wednesday for the extravaganza night which is good value. The new owners have improved the restaurant in our opinion and Vinnie in particular is delightful.
The best thing about this restaurant is if you book a table you are there for the evening unlike the bigger chained Italian in Ringwood where there are 2 sittings & you feel a little rushed. So we thought why not go for Christmas dinner!!
The meal was lovely with a lovely decorated table and high quality Christmas crackers. We had starters,(Soup, mozerella salad, pasta or scallops) champagne sorbet mmmm! then main (Turkey, sea bass or beef) and pud (panetone) or any pud off menu, coffee & mince pies & liquers. I can't tell you the price because it was so reasonable & we intend to go next year!!!
We have recently tried the takeaway too and it is great value and excellent if you cannot get out for the evening. Thank you to everyone at Al trullo and keep up the good work.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue and Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great welcome and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I have visited this small Italian restaurant a number of times, and always enjoyed it.
A few months ago it was taken over by two young guys,one is the chef and the other is Vinnie, front of house. The menu has not changed a lot, but is always good.We love the Veal a la Creme and the fillet steak with pepper sauce is also excellent. If you have a small appetite they are happy for you to have just one , or if you wish 2 starters.The pizzas and pasta are good too.

Vinnie always makes you feel very welcome and the ambience overall is excellent.

If you eat veal or steak price for 2 with wine is around £50 , choose pasta or pizzas and you pay considerably less

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Trullo also viewed

Verwood, Dorset
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing