We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

The Old Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 67 Restaurants in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: About us A warm welcome awaits you at The Old Cottage, a well established family run restaurant in the market town of Ringwood. The restaurant is one of the oldest buildings in Ringwood. Thought to be built around the 14th Century it is full of Olde Worlde Charm with warm fires in the winter and riverside dining in the summer.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Have to say I'm a little surprised at other reviews I have read about this place. We visited on a Sunday night and the place was deserted. The welcome, when we were eventually noticed was warm and pleasant. We were given menus straight away and then taken to our table.
I had read the menu before we visited but thought all the positive reviews couldn't be wrong. The food was very basic, extremely 1980s in presentation, and average in all other respects. I have eaten a lot better for less and Won't be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcottagerestaurant, Owner at The Old Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Really surprised at this review as we don't open on a Sunday evening during the winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    37
    10
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Quirky and unexpectedly Good”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Visited here on a Saturday evening and have to say were pleasantly surprised after a rather odd start and had a fantastic meal. We walked in off the street, not having booked, and rang the bell at the bar ... there being no staff around ... and we waited and waited. We then went to the other bar and rang the bell ... and too waited and waited! Eventually someone appeared and offered us menus and a drink ... but no table. We were shown back to the original bar area and asked eventually to take a seat and choose off the menu - and eventually given a table. We choose from the fixed price menu ... £22 for three courses, £18 for two courses and definitely werent disappointed. We chose soup (which was a large bowl) and artichoke hearts and both were very very good. For main we had sirlon steak with mushrooms, a selection of veg and a choice of potatoes and was all cooked to perfection. It was the best steak we have eaten in ages. The wines were average in prices. So after some very slow service to start with .. it just got better and better and turned out to be a fantastic meal and will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank webber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I absolutely love this place.
The food is some of the best food I have ever tasted, the head chief is a magician.
Service was fun and delightful I really enjoyed everything about my experience there.
The whole cottage has an amazing atmosphere it just really is so lovely.
I have been here multiple times, tried many different dishes, the meat is always cooked to perfection, succulent and melts like butter in your mouth.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FridaGudmundsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class food”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Choice of food is superb, and it was all cooked to perfection. What more do you need? Definitely recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The food served was well made and the service was excellent. Overall it contributed for me and my friends to a pleasant experience. Highly reccomend the lamb shank!

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing