We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still superb”

The Old Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 66 Restaurants in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: About us A warm welcome awaits you at The Old Cottage, a well established family run restaurant in the market town of Ringwood. The restaurant is one of the oldest buildings in Ringwood. Thought to be built around the 14th Century it is full of Olde Worlde Charm with warm fires in the winter and riverside dining in the summer.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Still superb”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a repeat trip to this Restaurant. The place is very atmospheric and a trip to the gents loo is an adventure. However the food choice remains mouthwatering and if you are into fish this is the place for you. We were in a party of four and had homemade soup, king scallops, patridge and steak with sweets and liquors to finish. An excellent night. Not the cheapest in Ringwood but worth a visit for dinner or lunch

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    37
    10
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service!!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had booked our table for 8 and arrived at 7.50. We sat down for a drink and then were shown to our table 75 mins later! Whilst looking at my menu, the waitress took it away then told us that out of 8 mains options, 3 were not available ( on a saturday night ????). We had ordered wine for the table with our food but we had actually finished our starters. At this point we asked where our wine was. They had no record of the wine order. Good service would have noticed by now that there were NO drinks on the table at all.When booking we mentioned that we were celebrating 2 birthdays but they made no mention of this. Surely when taking bookings online you should check for any special requirements?
The food was really good, but took a long time to come out because as we found out there was only 1 chef working!!!!!! All in all the meal was spoiled because of the bad service.

Don't go to this restaurant!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lin1467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent English Food in a Thatched Restaurant”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A great place to eat if you like good food served by friendly staff, in a historic, beamed, thatched cosy restaurant. (Log fire in the winter and seats by the river in the summer.) An amazing selection of dishes served for lunch and dinner at a very good price. Locally supplied food cooked by the owner/chef. The ideal venue for all occasions or just pop in for lunch - and do arrive with time to spare, to enjoy the delightful little "snug" where you can sit and have a drink and peruse the menu or have your coffee later. We've visited many times, on our own or with friends or family and the quality and friendliness are the same each visit. Ringwood is a traditional market town in true English style mixing old and new - don't drive past call in and make sure the Old Thatched Cottage Restaurant is where you eat. A must for travellers from abroad or local.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneRichard571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely building, great staff. Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Family of 5 visit. We had a wonderful meal and the service was great. Awesome bit of history which is well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannybless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good English food”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Large menu - fish dishes to delight, as well as other foods. Excellant service, friendly atmosphere .

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BransgorePear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing