We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint restaurant”

The Old Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 71 Restaurants in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: About us A warm welcome awaits you at The Old Cottage, a well established family run restaurant in the market town of Ringwood. The restaurant is one of the oldest buildings in Ringwood. Thought to be built around the 14th Century it is full of Olde Worlde Charm with warm fires in the winter and riverside dining in the summer.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a very old building with low beams, uneven floors etc and has a lovely welcome atmosphere. The service is very good as is the food and well worth a visit.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullen652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    38
    10
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great service”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great choice of fresh fish, lovely food , good offers on during week, great service

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny022091939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average Food”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Portions are good but the fish in ginger was bland.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusticmozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little Gem in Ringwood”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Whist on holiday in the area recently, my wife and I were lucky enough to come upon this charming restaurant hidden in an old thatched cottage near the river. We received a very warm welcome although we were "first timers" here. It soon became clear that the restaurant had a number fo regulars well known to the owners and staff but we were treated to a no less friendly service.
The interior is set in a very olde worlde atmosphere, very cosy and just the sort of surroundings which we personally like. Spotless tables, glasses, cutlery etc.
The choice of food is enormous - set menus, al la carte, it's up to you! Prices very favourable.
We gave our order and were served promptly with rolls (good) with butter in a dish, not wrapped up portions. Our first couses (we had the same) were scallops au gratin, and I have to say they were memorable!
Main courses came in good time and were again excellent. Finally deserts and coffee.
The whole dining experience was first class. No waiting about for ages, everything as ordered, charming staff, fantastic food.
I have to say we were so impressed we returned on no less than another three occasions and not once did the standard fall down at all.
This restaurant compares very favourably indeed with a number of other higher priced establishments locally and I have no hesitation in recommending it. Just wish they were a little more local to us (a three hour drive would be a little too much regrettably!).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank moggimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Old Cottage - amazing!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

After finding this lovely, quaint restaurant with my partner a few months ago, I was excited to return with friends last week. The menu is amazing. The food is amazing. Fresh warm rolls served to the table. Plenty of fresh game, fish and vegitarian dishes on the menu and a range of home made desserts to die for. My favourite - the hot cherries soaked in brandy with ice crream. The service is incredible. We were looked after by the same lady all weeked. By the end of lunch we felt like locals and booked for lunch the next day.

The building is 13th Century so the ceilings are rather low and its made up of several little rooms, giving diners a more private atmosphere. They also have a snug, full of old fashioned arm chairs and sofas for those wishing to relax after a meal or in our case - enjoy another bottle of wine.

If we lived closer this would be my regular eat out choice and local pub

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank manjobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing