We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic taste of India”
Review of Masala

Masala
Ranked #39 of 71 Restaurants in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An authentic taste of India”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have tasted food in many parts of India during 15 years of travelling in the country and although the dishes offered in the UK are mainly Anglicised. Massala has been able to retain many of the finest tastes in their range. We have not eaten at the restaurant but have had a brilliant service over the last two years. Congratulations Massala, keep bringing us your delicious dishes. Many thanks from 107.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sedanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greasy”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews of this restaurant I was really looking forward to our meal. However I was thoroughly disappointed with the meal we received. The main dishes we ordered (chicken tikka biriani and chicken tikka bhuna masala) came with a layer of oil/grease on top. After pouring this into a bowl I then realised that the grease was actually covering the fact that the sauce in the bhuna masala dish had actually split. Also the bhuna masala dish was advertised as "spicy medium hot" and unfortunately it failed to deliver on this as well. In terms of strength I would not put this above a mild.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guy_lambert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bransgore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delivery perfect”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband loves the food at this restaurant, they deliver to our house which is about 6 miles away, its piping hot and enough for the next day too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dizzi250367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regular Haunt”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful and always look after you. They don't have a licence so you bring your own wine or drink but they provide you with glasses and a bottle opener!

I have never had a bad meal there and will quite often try something new and they will advise you based on your likes and dislikes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Special9936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Found this small restaurant/takeaway by accident whilst driving home to Hampshire after a day in Bournemouth. Very very small with only 20 covers, but immensley cosy and as it was a weekday night there was no one else in the Restaurant part which meant we were served straight away. The food (lamb madrass & lamb rogan) was very nice and plenty of meat in the serving,and more importantly not overpriced like so many are today, only negative point was, we were told before sitting down that there was no licence which didn't bother us as we don't drink so asked for pure orange juice which they didn't do, so ended up with Tango!!. All in all very satisfied and will stop off there again when in that area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkieAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing