We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value takeaway”
Review of Masala

Masala
Ranked #39 of 71 Restaurants in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great value takeaway”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

There are better Indian restaurants in Ringwood, however neither of these come close to the value for money that Masala can offer. Big portions, loads of sauce, plenty of meat, decent sides. 90% of the taste 50% of the price!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tajandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for Takeaways”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This review is based on their takeaway service, they deliver for free but if you collect then sometimes you get a discount. I think their prices are very competitive and the portion sizes are generous, unlike other restaurants in the area. I usually have the garlic chilli chicken and lamb or chicken tikka bhuna, just make sure you don't accidently put a chilli into your mouth because they are very hot.

I wouldn't bother eating in the restaurant, there are only about two tables and they don't sell alcohol, if you have to bring your own then you may as well get a takeaway delivered to your house!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahhllmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not great.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

It is a tiny restaurant, yet we had to wait an age for our food - so long that we lost our appetites! Staff not at all attentive - too busy serving their take away customers.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank muffinbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We use Masala mostly for takeaways as the food is fine and very reliable + they deliver locally for free.

It is also an interesting place to visit as it is very small and intimate; also they don't have a license for alcohol but they did not look to charge if you take your own drink in with you.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashfield531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, good food”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Visiting the area a local recommended this small Indian restaurant with only four or five tables. The food was good and staff quick to take orders and serve soft drinks. They have several dishes that are different to that available at many indian restaurants. They don't seem to serve alcoholic drinks but happy to let you bring your own like I know other Indian restaurants I have visited in the past also do. Will visit again next time I am in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gardener andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing