We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word... Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Little Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“One word... Excellent”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here with our dog for three nights in July 2013, and we couldn't have been made more welcome. The room was huge and immaculately clean, with a lovely ensuite and views over the beautiful garden. Cherry and Simon were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble and we were invited to treat the house and garden as our own. They pointed out the best places to go and eat (all dog friendly) and directions to get there. The breakfasts were fantastic, with a selection of fruits, yoghurt, cereal and cooked food. All in all a fantastic place run by fantastic people at an incredibly good price. We couldn't fault it and would both recommend it and return. Thanks Cherry and Simon (and Ollie and Millie!)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linds588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
64
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The place has a real relaxing atmosphere - The rooms we're really very adequate to our expectations.I could use it again another time. But I doubt that we would return to Ringwood, since this town is very small :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexSWEDEN45445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alihsbs
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a 2 night stay , taking 2 teenage girls for a mini break, Cherry and Simon could not have been more welcoming, taking a genuine interest in the girls, their activities and interests. The 2 dogs Ollie and Millie loved all the attention given to them and seemed delighted to have strangers arriving at their home and leaving as friends. The room in which we stayed was fresh, clean , with all the amenities you need, the ensuite bathroom was spotlessly clean. In the morning we were given a variety of choices for breakfast, you could have as much or little as you wanted, certainly no reason to be hungry when leaving to explore the wonders of the New Forest. I will definitely be back ( hopefully in the warmer weather ! )

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajsfivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I recently stayed at Little Forest Lodge whilst working at a local hospital. I cannot emphasise enough how welcoming and friendly Cherry and Simon were - and how much they went out of their way to accommodate me despite the fact that i turned their world on its head by working nights and sleeping during the day!!!
The accommodation itself was exceptional and the little extras made such a difference. The breakfast was superb! The beautiful dogs - Ollie and Millie - were a joy. I can't wait to go back as a holidaymaker not a worker!!!

Room Tip: What can I say, superb all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Cherry and Simon were great hosts, really chatty and informative. They furnished us with maps and advised the best places to eat and visit. The 2 dogs did bark a bit on our arrival but soon got used to us and were very friendly. There were several guests there who were regular visitors, always a good sign I think.
We had a lovely big room overlooking the garden, with en suite with a bath and shower. They even had a sitting room just for guests, and we were free to roam the very large garden. Breakfast was a good spread, I couldn't finish it most days, although my partner had no problems.
Only downside was location. It is just off the very busy A31 dual carriageway. We coudn't see it from the property, but with the windows open you could hear it. Also you had to be going the right way on the A31, although we soon got used to that.
I'd definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area. Suitable for all.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Frogeclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wickham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Little Forest Lodge on a number of occasions the most recent being at the end of August. As others have commented, Simon and Cherry are hosts that we all dream about. They are incredibly welcoming and the accommodation that they provide is beautifully appointed (oak panelled throughout the ground floor with lovely open fireplaces), spotlessly clean and with extremely comfortable beds.

Simon is a trained chef and his breakfasts are worth the stay alone!

As others have pointed out, they not only allow children and animals to stay but positively welcome them. They also provide a variety of games, books, puzzles with which guests can amuse themselves on those (hopefully rare!) cold or wet days/evenings!! There is a lovely big, well looked after garden with swings etc for children.

It is true that the location is right next to the A31 but, quite frankly, whilst inside the hotel we were almost entirely unaware of it. Little Forest Lodge is just off the dual carriageway, and if you are travelling west it is on the "wrong" side - however, that is easily overcome by travelling about a further mile and taking the slip road to Poulner Hill, crossing the road bridge and then travelling up the east bound side.

There is adequate car parking available and Simon & Cherry are more than happy to point guests towards all sorts of excellent locations, things to do and places to eat in the New Forest which is literally two or three minutes away.

So, in short, if you are planning to stay in the New Forest don't hesitate - go for it and book at Little Forest Lodge.

Room Tip: No need to specify - they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterH333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife myself and our toddler have stayed here for the last two summers and have had a great time.The owners Simon and Cherry are two of the nicest people you will ever meet the service is exceptional, the facilities and rooms are brilliant you couldn't ask for more ,the attention to detail was fantastic highly recommend the Little forest lodge to anybody

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riccky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
2.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
349 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,045 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
686 reviews
10.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
442 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Forest Lodge

Property: Little Forest Lodge
Address: Little Forest Lodge Poulner Hill, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Forest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the New Forest National Park, Little Forest Lodge Guest House/Bed and Breakfast is a charming country residence set in 2 acres of beautiful gardens and woodland. Little Forest Lodge is an ideal location for exploring the ancient New Forest, with its ponies, deer and other wildlife, the nearby sandy beaches, and the popular family attractions of Beaulieu and Peppa Pig World at Paultons Park. We are part of the New Forest Walker and Cyclist Approved Scheme and are conveniently situated for access to the many varied walks and trails of the New Forest. We are very close to the market town of Ringwood, easy driving distance of Bournemouth, Salisbury and Southampton and the New Forest towns and villages of Lyndhurst, Brockenhurst, Burley and Lymington. Little Forest Lodge, a large Edwardian home, originally built as a gentleman's residence for Lady Morant in 1910 has extensive grounds with lawns, woodland areas, stunning rhododendron and azalea borders and a pond. We have six spacious bedrooms, all en-suite, providing a range of comfortable accommodation for couples, families and single guests. Our charming resident’s lounge overlooks the lawns, log fires blaze in the winter and the patio doors open onto the garden in the summer. We are fully licensed and have a well-stocked bar. Breakfast is served in our oak-panelled dining room, with feature Jacobean fireplace. Sausages and bacon are supplied by Sway Butchers; a traditional New Forest family butcher for six generations, the sausages are homemade to a secret family recipe. Our eggs are sourced from local free range egg producer Claytons Eggs. Dogs are welcome in some of our rooms, however this is by prior arrangement only, therefore please contact us prior to booking. Please refer to our Terms and Conditions for more information regarding dogs staying at Little Forest Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Little Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Forest Lodge Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing