We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
original white hart
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ringwood
kefalonia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

booked in for 1 night, unfortunately hot water boiler had packed in, but was offered the facility of a hot shower in another room, stayed in room over the front of the building, overlooking the road, earplugs not needed, good nights sleep, absolutely cracking breakfast with very pleasant service, paid bill on leaving only to find they had reduced the bill because of the hot water situation, without a shadow of a doubt will definately stay here again, only sorry that we didnt eat here in the evening, because the selection on the blackboard looked very tempting, went out to meet friends and ate at a restaurant called alice lyles, absolute crap

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mskef17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    50
    33
    20
See reviews for
45
90
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Booked in for sat/sun night on arriving mentioned breakfast time and that was it.
Had room on front over bar should have known ear plugs beside bed,room was ok if a little tired,bathroom no bath looked dirty would not use shower no ventilation working.
Room was stuffy choice between air or noise.Sat night was hell noise levels very high kebab shop oppositeand main road does not help.
Breakfast was good although service was slow.
returned sun evening no one on reception finaly got key ,night only slightly better,turned up for breakfast only to find we missed it no one had mentioned different times,no one was bothered paid ,packed ,left.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulg655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehartringwood, Manager at original white hart, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
We have recently taken over here The Original White Hart and take your comments seriously.
We hope to have rectified all the faults you mentioned and hope that the service and information given is far improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ringwood hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Nice room in the annexe at the back of the pub. NIcely furnished and very clean. Smallish but functional. Good breakfast.
Camp bed provided for additional child, but wasn't made up when we arrived. So we had to chase that.
Otherwise, pleasant stay and value for money

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallyml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on a four for three nights offer, which was good value for money, the breakfast was good, and the one evening meal we ate there was very good value for money. Our room wasn't cleaned, only the bed was made each day. Bathroom not cleaned and towels never changed. Most of the staff seemed to find it hard to smile, apart from the very hard working waitress, who seemed to clean public areas in between serving breakfast, she was lovely. All in all it was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DIZZYStalybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have stopped here a couple of times now, so can't be that bad. we tried to get a double room but none available so we opted for a twin. Then simply pushed the beds together. No debris under bed so thats a good sign.

It all went a little Pete Tong at breakfast. I took ages for us to get a pot of tea, and when it came we had no milk with it, so had to keep heading to the buffet for some. The breakfast chef liked his rock music as we could here this in the resturant so no to considerate of him although there were some good tunes being played.


Other guests we commenting on cold coffee being served, running out of juice and generally poor service at breakfast.

Saying that we will stop here again as it is still pretty good value. Do bear in mind that this is a busy town centre pub so it can get a bit noisy at night, but the pub does shut at 11pm.

We stopped in room 3 this time and again was clean and comfy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnd1234john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night on Xmas Eve (Room 4) and overall was happy with the place.

The good points; very friendly staff, excellent cooked breakfast, comfy bed, flatscreen tv, modern bathroom with powerful shower, free car parking, great location.
The bad/indifferent points; Peeling paint on the ceiling, only 4 channels on the tv, no evening meal available as chef not there (just a one off I think), quite a lot of street noise.

It made a nice change to stay in a place with a bit of old world charm, admittedly there were a few rough edges, but this place has a lot more soul than the usual standard hotel room.
The highlight of the stay was the cooked breakfast. I wasn't expecting much, as it was Christmas day morning and figured the staff might resent working, but the breakfast was top notch and got our day off to a great start.

We booked this place because it was on special offer (£30 per night for b&b for 3 people) and that represents excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trickyjabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on a three for two offer, midweek. The welcome was friendly and efficient, We were shown to our room which was well decorated , clean , comfortably furnished and characterful. The room because of the age of the building had sloping floors,uneven ceilings and small doors. That made a pleasant change from the rectangular souless boxes of modern hotels.There is ample car parking and apart from the day of our arrival had no problem finding a space.Our room was above the bar and there was a little bit of noise coming from there in the evening but nothing ecxcessive or more than one would expect in pub accomodation.
We ate in the pub on the first night. It was an experience we did not repeat for the rest of our stay. The menu is typically cheap pub food with little variety.Two mixed grills had two steaks cooked the same even though different ones were ordered, greasy oil soaked chips,cold hard peas, watery mushrooms, a wedge of uncooked tomato and something I have never experienced before, a plate which was hot on one half and stone cold on the other. Despite a residents discount the meal was dire. Fortunately there are many other restaurants in Ringwood to visit and eat in which served very nice food.. Breakfasts were adequate though not inspiring and with slow service, probably because the hard working waitresseswere seemingly expected to clean annexe rooms and remove bottles from the bar in between serving guests.These activities seen on two days so did not appear exceptional.
Our room was not cleaned or beds made up on our first day. Apologies were tendered but on the next day although the room had been tidied the bathroom and toilet did not appear to have been touched.
The poor meal and lack of cleaning were reported to to the manager on leaving who apologised for them and said he was disappointed that they had happened. He did comment that the menu which was new was not a success and was being replaced. The pub and its accomodation have a lot of potential,the refurbished rooms are a pleasure to stay in, but the other things which make a stay a pleasnt and memorable one need some attention. Upping the service levels will make a huge difference.
Ringwood itself is a pleasant old town, handy as a base for the coast and the new forest

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkshirebred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
4.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
11.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
6.7 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
9.2 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
4.3 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to original white hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about original white hart

Property: original white hart
Address: 4 Market Place, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — original white hart 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your original white hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Original White Hart Hotel Ringwood
Original White Hart Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing