We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 90th birthday party to remember”
Review of High Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Corner Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Last evening we held a party for my mother in laws 90th birthday. Most people usually associate this Inn to have lunch, dinner and stay if you are visiting the New Forest but we were lucky to be able to book the function room which had recently been redecorated and had this party for 45 people ages ranging from 1 to 90. The staff helped us chose menus from which our friends and family could chose, and everybody could not believe how much food was given, we had a 3 course meal and afterwards everyone said how lovely it was, it was well presented and served hot. We arranged for pre dinner drinks so people who have not seen relatives for years could mingle which was nice. We had a little dance at the end of the evening which was nice and we were completely separate for the hotel. I know Jean had a lovely evening and I would recommend you give David or Will a ring if you have a function where you can wine and dine your family say up to 50 people. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BARBARA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for High Corner Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 467 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Travelled down from Bristol for Bank Holiday lunch and a stroll in the New Forest. Although the inn was busy we received a warm and friendly reception and our drinks and food orders were taken with no problems even though we asked for something off menu. The food came quite quickly considering the number of customers at the time and was delicious. Thanks to all staff involved.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Had a family birthday meal for 16 on a wet Sunday lunchtime. Most of us had the carvery and the food was very good. There was a choice of beer, pork or gammon and all were very nice.

My son had a burger which was excellent and the childrens neal was perfecly acceptable. Desserts were rich and filling

There was a good selection of vegtables which unusually for a carvery were not over cooked!

Whilst there is no table service the staff looked afer us well. Prices are reasonable

We will certainly visit again in the summer and grab one of the outside seats in the big garden area

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here for just the one night. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Both breakfast and the evening meal we had were of a very high standard. Would definately stay here again. Great location, great views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in March 2014, whilst carrying out a training course nearby. The location and area as a whole are amazing. I missed the entrance track as my sat nav told me to go down a forest track and I didn't believe it!

The place is good on the whole, food was fine in the evenings, menu could have been more varied, no steak for example.

I had a suite and on the whole it was fine, very clean and no issues here. a few problems however, the bathroom was good, but the valve to control the over bath shower was broken, so the bath tap continued to run when the shower was running!

I think the pub caters more for tourists rather than business guests as the WIFI was terrible (reception), and the TV reception was useless in the evenings, like watching freeze frame.

The biggest let down was breakfast, beware they only serve it from 8 30 onwards, although I spoke to 2 members of staff about an early breakfast they said it was not possible, but I still got charged for them!!

As I stated, ok if you are on holiday and a late riser, but no good if you need to get away before 9 am.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sub06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were looking for a nice pub/restaurant to have our last meal out to end our wonderful stay in the New Forest and were so glad we chose this place. Set deep in the woodland along a long unmade road, was a great find for us. It was a monday eve so fairly quiet but we were welcomed by the young friendly staff, they couldn't have been more accomodating. The food was excellent and service very good indeed. The young lad who was serving our food, made time to chat to us which made a real difference. Would recommend this pub!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here for the weekend of the New Forest Running festival and will be back again if we get the chance. Such a fabulous location, really friendly, helpful staff and the food was amazing. Even though breakfast wasn't until 8.30, they opened the kitchen for us at 7.30 so the runners could have their porridge before their 9am run! They also allowed a late check out so we could come back after the run to shower and change. It's unusual for people to go above and beyond these days but that's what they do here! The only slight criticisms would be that the place could be cleaner (the public areas, our room was fine), didn't like having a 'plastic' undersheet on the bed and if you get freaked out by a lack of phone signal/wifi then it's not for you! On the whole great though!

Room Tip: If you want a stand up shower ask for it as not all rooms have them.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamsin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
4.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
383 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,070 reviews
7.6 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
702 reviews
6.1 mi away
Petherton Cottage
Petherton Cottage
#3 of 21 in Ringwood
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Corner Inn

Address: Linwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 3QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range: $90 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Corner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your High Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Corner Hotel Ringwood
High Corner Inn Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing