We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pub in an Outstanding Location”
Review of High Corner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Corner Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love going to the High Corner as the staff are always so friendly and the food is great, our daughter particularly enjoys the cheesy chips! The pub has a wonderful community spirit to it and is a lovely place to stop by no matter what time of year. It is particularly dog friendly and ideal for dog walkers and their four legged friends. In the winter there is a lovely roaring fireplace, cosy seating and my favourite is that there aren't any televisions blaring in the background.

We recently were there for a fun quiz to help raise money for a dog rescue and have to say the atmosphere was fantastic, lots of people came out to support them and the quiz was great fun and I hope they will do this again as it was a great evening for young and old alike.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FluffyFiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 486 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We last ate at the High Corner Inn over a decade ago, when the food was better than average and moderately priced. We went back with some friends who knew people who were doing a fundraiser quiz for German Shepherd Rescue.

The room to whch we were directed had a lovely large fireplace and wall-mounted radiators -- the fireplace was empty and the radiators stone cold. We asked the staff to get the radiators working; someone came and fiddled around with a mole-grip, but they stayed stubbornly cold. We had to keep our coats on, as did other parties in the same room. By what weird reasoning does someone decide to leave a restaurant area unheated on a chilly February night?

The food wasn't unpleasant; it was just very ordinary and ridiculously over-priced for what it was. (Both the Royal Oak at Fritham and the Bat & Ball at Braemore do far better food at a substantially lower price.) At least the beer was well kept.

The quiz, when it happened, was dire! When we commented, we were told "it is a fun quiz, not a serious one" -- well, a quiz is no fun at all when you can't hear the questions properly and some of the answers are wrong!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tetenterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited this pub recently and had a nice couple of pints. We sat outside and were tempted back for an evening meal due to the cosy look of the pub and the reasonable looking menu.

Shame we did as everything else was a disappointment. The food was very average. I had a 'gourmet burger'. It turned out the 'gourmet' related to the fact that there were onion rings in it as opposed to the burger itself, Average quality at best.

After the meal the table wasn't cleaned until one of the many dogs in there came and licked it 'clean' of crumbs spillages. The bar staff, though friendly, were shockingly inattentive.

There were two soap dispensers in the ladies toilets, both empty. Fortunately there was one with some left in for the gents. What both toilets had in common was no hot water - dreadful.

On the plus side the beer was good - moving this pub from terrible to poor. Top tip, drive for 10 minutes and visit the Alice Lisle. The Fullers training of staff and idea of customer service is a million miles away from the Wadworths experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

booked a stay for my husband ,myself and son. We wanted somewhere in the forest and this looked like it fitted the bill . a little hard to find as already indicated on another review but not a big problem.
staff helpful, showed us to our room but the smell in the room was awful we think from the drains, the young lady apologised and brought air freshener and stuff for the drain, then advised to leave the door to the bathroom shut with the light on to help the fan
, this did work . Cannot understand how anybody cleaning could not smell it!
the room its self was clean and comfortable .
The main toilets are awful as also reported on by another reviewer, all six toilet pedestals filthy, floors not cleaned or the next day when paper from previous day still on floor even though toilets had cleaner in them, bin by baby changing area filthy, all very dirty and shabby not at all
appealing.
The food we had was not very good, my meal was tough ,grey looking and barely warm my son had the pie which was black and hard around the crust, my husband said his was just ok, we all agreed not good or value for money
the whole place is cold and in dire need of a shake up! shame as the location is great

Room Tip: higher floor smell free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fidgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have eaten at High Corner Inn for years whilst staying in New Forest but wanted to stay in hotel and finally have! Did not disappoint room large well dressed and warm excellent shower and en-suite clean and well equipped. As always restaurant welcoming and nothing too much trouble for staff, Food piping hot and selection almost too much. Rolled pleasantly into bed so much better than driving back to where ever might have been staying. Slept sleep of the just and eat hearty full English only sadness did not have time to stay for longer! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may have some noise from upper floor but we did not notice any as there was no up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_S187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week and a half (he stayed 3 in total) as he was working in Ringwood. We stayed in the Kingfisher suite, Willow suite, Rosewood suite and Tawny suite altogether. All rooms are very luxurious, comfy, clean and well kept. The Kingfisher suite is the most luxurious of all with a Queensize bed, huge room, huge bath, his and hers sinks, walk in shower, seating areas and private patio doors. Good quality tea, coffee and biscuits is provided in every one of the 7 hotel rooms.

The staff are brilliant and attentive and can't do enough for you. Service is definately with a smile at the high corner inn :)

The food is lovely, the cooked breakfast (incl in room price) is top quality and cooked to perfection. The carvery on a Sunday in fab, succulent meats and a massive choice of veg and condiments. The pub food is so tasty and they are big portions so go hungry :) puddings are lovely too.

The surrounding areas to the hotel is beautiful there is miles to walk and explore and the wild ponies are really friendly!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsEJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Myself, husband and dog have stayed here on several occations, i cant think of anywhere i would rather stay. The staff are so helpful and friendly they feel like family members, the food is always of a very good standard. We love the Kingfisher suite because it is so roomy and with patio doors leading into the garden, who could ask for more. Only one down side is the rooms are looking a bit jaded and could do with a lick of paint, perhaps but this is very minor when you look at the location, its so beautiful you just dont want to go home

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenysNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
4.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
409 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
594 reviews
6.1 mi away
Petherton Cottage
Petherton Cottage
#4 of 21 in Ringwood
111 reviews
4.3 mi away
Augustus John
Augustus John
#2 of 12 in Fordingbridge
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Corner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Corner Inn

Address: Linwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 3QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range: $74 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Corner Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Corner Inn is located in the Beautiful New Forest. The pub and hotel is a magical place full of wild ponies amazing walks and beautiful birds of pray, We also have a out door children play area and a beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your High Corner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Corner Hotel Ringwood
High Corner Inn Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing