We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlestick Cottage - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Candlestick Cottage
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Country boy in london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stopped here to have a drink and a bite to eat before going on the Ringwood Brewery tour.
The beer was great as was the food. The service was top notch we were made to feel so welcome. So much so that the landlord invited us to leave our car in the car park in case it got damaged in the car park of the brewery.
Loved it but I know what people mean when they say a time warp. But who cares? I didn't.

I will visit again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    1
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“we atayed here so also eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

fantastic food best we have ever had, great service and good prices, 3 course for 2 £25

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank widgetparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

very well looked after, amazing cosy cottage, perfect! feels like you're at home!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank ukf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Levy's review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

A charming little restaurant run by a very nice middle aged couple who obviously still recognise that people prefer some genuine home cooking at sensible prices. They offer a special of £25 for a 3 course meal for two beside their extensive a la carte menu. We went for the special and very nice it was too. Vicki had a starter of woodland mushrooms with melted cheese with garlic on toast followed by vegetarian lasagne with saute potatos and then chocolate fudge cake with cream. Being a veggie Vickie appreciated the lasagne which was made with quorn rather than vegetables.I had as a starter, prawns, smoked salmon and crayfish tails on a bed of lettuce with a sea food sauce which was delicious followed by a roast beef dinner which was equally as good.
The building was early 15th century with low beams a lots of cute little features, overall a very nice evening was had by all and I would recommend this venue for good food and value.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikelevy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.leonards,Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Timewarp”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

went here with friend for xmas meal & was very disappointed,i had mushroom soup to start & it had just come from a tin as Ive eaten in some top restaurants & can tell if its homemade or not & this definately wasnt.
Turkey was just ok & the dessert of xmas pud was microwaved to long,all in all I could of cooked better myself.
I wont even go into what the decor of the place was like.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank velia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candlestick Cottage also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing