We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitemoor House B&B
Ranked #3 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
2 reviews
“Weekend break”
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Very friendly owners, and a complementary cuppa on arrival. The room was clean and kept in very good order. The Breakfast was probably our best ever, and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely book again when we stay in the area next.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast and owners.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostinthewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
211
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Last minute trip to New Forest. Perfect B and B . Very comfortable accommodation and owners friendly and knowledgable.

Excellent value --This standard is what all B & B establishments should strive for.

  • Liked — first class value and very comfortable
  • Disliked — breakfast only 8am to 9 am
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSJEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I'll keep this brief but we really enjoyed our stay at the Whitemoor House. We stayed in the Minstead Room which is a four poster bedroom with an ensuite shower room. It was beautifully decorated and furnished with plenty of storage should you need it. The owners are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The moment we walked in we felt relaxed and welcomed.

The area is lovely too.

  • Liked — The welcome and the decor
  • Disliked — We had to leave to go home!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinzRedhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willtshire, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We spent 2 nights at Whitemoor House in Lyndhurst, New Forest, for a weekend break.

I had read a couple of reviews and Lyndurst seemed an excellent base (it certainly was) for visiting all the attractions of the New Forest.

We arrived on Friday evening to a warm welcome, where we were shown to our gorgeous four poster room, spotlessly clean, with bath and shower. A pot of tea was made for us while we unpacked. After having a lovely cup of tea and biscuits we walked into the town (straight down the road 5 -10 min walk) and had a nice drink in one of the pubs.

The following morning we had a plentiful breakfast, a buffet style choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juice etc and also a menu where you could choose full english, smoked salmon with scrambled egg, vegetarian breakfast. The food was cooked to perfection. We were given excellent advice on places to visit, where to go and see the deer in the forest, which we really wanted to do. The couple who run this hotel are friendly and helpful. It makes you realise how important the accommodation and the little extra touches are, to your overall experience.

Saturday evening we had a lovely meal in 'La Pergola', an Italian restaurant just down the road, it was quite busy when we arrived at 9pm, luckily we had booked.

If you want a lovely break in the New Forest you cannot go wrong by staying at Whitemoor House.

  • Liked — Lovely decor and so clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2008

This is a great B&B - the Breakfast is excellent and Jon and Steph could not be more welcoming. Ask them anything and they will usually have the answer to hand. Their recommendations for dinner were great. The welcome pot of tea is a nice touch and try the lemon curd on toast at brekkie so good we took some home. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — smallish room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Very impressed with my stay at the Whitemoor House Hotel. I booked the king bed Burley room for me & my husband & the family Beaulieu room (comfortably accommodated one double bed, 1 single bed & 1 pull out bed) for my cousin, his wife & 2 children (they do not allow very young children) for 3 nights. Both rooms were good sized, clean, very well presented with tea & coffee facilities in the room, comfortable beds, clean linen, wardrobe, free Internet access in the room & a small wall mounted TV. En-suite shower was small but clean & had additional amenities like sewing kit, shower cap, etc. John & Stephanie are fantastic hosts & they know their stuff - the place is their home so they have good local knowledge & our morning chat with John over breakfast (good quality breakfast) helped plan where we would go/ what we would do during the day. The place had a lovely homely feel. We were lucky to have a lovely sunny first day & the next day a white New forest as it snowed overnight. Overall a fantastic stay at New forest. Good pubs - New Forest Inn (excellent food) & Red Lion (good ambience, good to okay food). Make sure you book before hand on weekends. Places I visited - Lymington market on Saturday, Beaulieu Palace & motor museum (entrance fee), Exbury garden (beautiful - but April is obviously not the best time. Entrance fee), Bucklers heart (entrance fee - its okay - did not enjoy much) & Calshot.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts with good local knowledge
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shalom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Our stay at Whitemoor House was delightful. Our room, on the top floor of the house, had sloping celings and beautiful views of the forest. It was lovely. The owners were very friendly and attentive and always went the extra mile- they left a note for us because our tyre was flat and recommended us a garage! Whitemoor house is within easy walking distance of Lyndhurst and, again, the owners were most helpful in providing information about things to do and places to eat. We had a great time and look forward to our next visit!

  • Liked — Our room was lovely
  • Disliked — No bath in our room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrsKellyCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemoor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemoor House B&B

Property: Whitemoor House B&B
Address: Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemoor House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Jayne are delighted to welcome you to Whitemoor House and will endeavour to make your stay a pleasurable experience. Book direct with us for the most uptodate availability and to discuss your individual requirements. Whitemoor House overlooks the open New Forest, and a policy of continual refurbishment ensures a high standard of accommodation is maintained. Well appointed rooms offer comfort and style, with double, twin and romantic four poster beds for that special occasion (champagne, chocolates, flowers and strawberries can be arranged on request). Our hearty breakfasts are cooked using only the finest local produce, from farmhouse sausages, dry cured bacon, free range eggs to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. There is also an extensive choice of cereals, fruits and yogurts to start with. We make our own marmalade, jam, lemon curd, granola and welcome cake. We provide well stocked mini bars, a cosy lounge with real fires for those winter months, a sunny garden for warmer days, an extensive library of maps, guide books, DVDs and board games plus complimentary Wi-Fi in each room. Your comfort and enjoyment during your visit is our top priority. Lyndhurst village centre is just 7-8 minutes stroll away and has an excellent selection of restaurants, pubs and tea/coffee shops. Just across the road is direct access to the open forest, beautiful walks and close encounters with ponies, donkeys and cattle! Cycle hire is available in Lyndhurst, with several well-marked tracks to choose from. The unique New Forest Golf Club is a short walk from here and offers beneficial rates to our residents. With over 45 attractions including Beaulieu (the home of Lord Montague and The National Motor Museum), Eling Tide Mill, Hurst Castle and the New Forest Wildlife Park, Whitemoor House, with its central location, is a great place to stay in the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitemoor House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitemoor House Hotel Lyndhurst
Whitemoor House B&B Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing