We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B & B in Lyndhurst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitemoor House B&B
Ranked #2 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic B & B in Lyndhurst”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here over the cold Easter weekend and received a very warm welcome from Steph and John. Our room was lovely and warm and very comfortable with views over the New Forest. Breakfast was perfect - my husband enjoyed the full english and I had yummy scrambled egg and smoked salmon. Steph made all the jams, marmalade and lemon curd and I tried them all!! Nothing was too much trouble for Steph and John and they were full of information from the best places to eat, places to visit and walks to take in the best views of the forest. Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
214
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent accommodation, owners very friendly and helpful, rooms well equipped and very nice decor. It was a very cold weekend but the hotel was lovely and warm and very comfortable. We will certainly stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

arrived early Friday morning to be greeted by the very friendly steph,who made us feel very welcome.as we and the other couple in our party were the only people staying this weekend,our rooms were upgraded free of charge which was a lovely gesture,being our first trip to the new forest steph filled us in on all the places to visit and stop off for food.friday night after a lovely meal at the Italian restaurant called the pagolla(I think) were greeted by john who made us all coffee and gave us a free bottle of wine.a lovely weekend had by all and if we revisit the new forest we will have no hesitation in stying here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here many times and would recommend it every time. John and Stephanie are very friendly and have lived in he area for many years so are very knowledgeable about the area. You get a lovely cup of tea or coffee on arrival which is a nice touch. If you need advice on things to do, places to eat and where to walk they are more than happy to help. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfasts are generous and very tasty, made with local produce and homemade lemon curd and jams! The B&B is in a great location, offers walks right outside the door, is definitely good value for money and John and Stephanie are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBirchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here two nights ago and were very impressed, as expected, after reading all of the positive reviews. We'd read on the owners' website that Stephanie was runner-up in the AA Friendliest Landlady of the Year competition, and on spending time here, we could certainly see why - both Stephanie and John clearly love their business and sharing their home.

After spending the night in the lovely quiet and comfy room at the back of the house, we sat down for a top-quality breakfast, and were greeted separately by them both, each of them remembering what everyone in the room had done the day before - a nice touch.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, including the lovely banana cake and coffee we were greeted with when we arrived.

We definitely recommend Whitemoor House.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueAlex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for 2 mid-week nights in September. John & Stephanie were delightful from the moment we arrived. Room was lovely.

Had a nice cup of tea with Stephanie as soon as we got there and explained we were there for a relaxing break and to check out the New Forest. She kindly offered us some walking routes, tips on places to eat (great Chinese place in Lyndhurst) and was just really friendly.

Breakfast every morning was a perfect start to each day, nice hot fry-up (vegetarian option available too), toast, cereals, fruit, juices, tea & coffee.

Parking available easily and it's only a short walk to town.

Would love to visit again, and would definitely recommend. Thanks John & Stephanie for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudo_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwell Bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

John and Stephanie, the proprietors, could not have made us more welcome. The room at the rear of the property was very quiet and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and my Wife, who visited the property a couple of years ago and stayed in the same room, was delighted to see that Humphrey the Hippo was still in residence!

We stayed for two nights and each breakfast was first rate.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The property is on a very busy main road and it would be advisable to try to book a a room at the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiffyBackwellBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitemoor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitemoor House B&B

Property: Whitemoor House B&B
Address: Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitemoor House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David and Jayne are delighted to welcome you to Whitemoor House and will endeavour to make your stay a pleasurable experience. Book direct with us for the most uptodate availability and to discuss your individual requirements. Whitemoor House overlooks the open New Forest, and a policy of continual refurbishment ensures a high standard of accommodation is maintained. Well appointed rooms offer comfort and style, with double, twin and romantic four poster beds for that special occasion (champagne, chocolates, flowers and strawberries can be arranged on request). Our hearty breakfasts are cooked using only the finest local produce, from farmhouse sausages, dry cured bacon, free range eggs to scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. There is also an extensive choice of cereals, fruits and yogurts to start with. We make our own marmalade, jam, lemon curd, granola and welcome cake. We provide well stocked mini bars, a cosy lounge with real fires for those winter months, a sunny garden for warmer days, an extensive library of maps, guide books, DVDs and board games plus complimentary Wi-Fi in each room. Your comfort and enjoyment during your visit is our top priority. Lyndhurst village centre is just 7-8 minutes stroll away and has an excellent selection of restaurants, pubs and tea/coffee shops. Just across the road is direct access to the open forest, beautiful walks and close encounters with ponies, donkeys and cattle! Cycle hire is available in Lyndhurst, with several well-marked tracks to choose from. The unique New Forest Golf Club is a short walk from here and offers beneficial rates to our residents. With over 45 attractions including Beaulieu (the home of Lord Montague and The National Motor Museum), Eling Tide Mill, Hurst Castle and the New Forest Wildlife Park, Whitemoor House, with its central location, is a great place to stay in the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Whitemoor House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitemoor House Hotel Lyndhurst
Whitemoor House B&B Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing