We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location for New Forest - dog Friendly...”
other travelers have booked this property
Dog Friendly Holiday Cottage in The New Forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dog Friendly Holiday Cottage in The New Forest
Our guests tell us that Rhubarb Cottage is 'a home from home ' The New Forest Visitor Centre is in Lyndhurst
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Dog Friendly Holiday Cottage in The New Forest
Our guests tell us that Rhubarb Cottage is 'a home from home '
The New Forest Visitor Centre is in Lyndhurst
King Sized Bed in Rhubarb Cottage
Rhubarb Cottage has free wifi - no download limits. Keep up with your work emails :(
Beaches and Harbours are all close by
You can also see Donkeys in The New Forest
Why not visit the Titanic museum in Southampton?
Walk to the pubs and restaurants - no need to drive!
Come and enjoy the fresh country air in The New Forest
A New Forest Post Box
The Isle of Wight
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Safari577...
1 review
“Perfect Location for New Forest - dog Friendly break”
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have recently returned from a break in the New Forest at Rhubarb Cottage, situated in Lyndhurst. The cottage was very well equipped with everything you could possibly need, home from home, including beach towels, ample crockery, dog bowls, games etc and we very much appreciated the thoughtful welcome pack on our arrival (bread, milk, bottle of wine). The weather could have been better but that didn't stop us going out as there are many places to walk, eat and drink and are dog friendly. We would definitely recommend the cottage as the location is great for the New Forest and not too far from local clean beaches, whether you have a dog or not. Thank you Rob and Karen.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2018
Thanks very much Yvette for your kind review. Sorry that we couldn't improve the weather for you!
best wishes
Rob and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm F
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed February 21, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Rhubarb Cottage is a home from home! We found it to be clean, comfortable, well equipped and deceptively spacious. Compared to other dog friendly properties available for holiday rent in the area, we thought Rhubarb Cottage was competitively priced. We appreciated its quiet location; only a few minutes walk from the centre of Lyndhurst with its amenities and close to an open area of the Forest for dog walking! We would certainly consider staying in Rhubarb Cottage again and happily recommend it to our friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
Hello Malcolm and Anthea,
Thanks very much for your kind review of your stay in Rhubarb Cottage in February. Hopefully the cottage gave you a cosy and convenient base for you to revisit some of your old haunts in The New Forest.
You are welcome back anytime if you decide to venture back this way!
best wishes
Rob and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleyR10...
1 review
“Christmas in the new forest”
Reviewed January 1, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had a lovely stay at rhubarb cottage over christmas, Rob and Karen were the perfect hosts and decorated the cottage with Xmas decorations and a tree which was a lovely touch and made it feel festive. The cottage was very spacious and homely with a log fire which our dog teddy loved curling up in front of after a walk in the forest which is only a few minutes walk away! Lyndhurst town centre is a 5 minute walk away with lots of pubs,cafes and restaurants to choose from. We had Christmas lunch at the fox and hound in the centre which I would highly recommend a visit and it's dog friendly as are most pubs in the area which is nice. All in all a lovely Xmas in the new forest and I would highly recommend staying at Rhubarb cottage for a country cottage getsway ! Thanks again Hayley & family

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2018
Thank you Hayley. We're very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves in The New Forest over Christmas and took advantage of the dog friendly pubs and cafes in and around Lyndhurst.

Best wishes for 2018.

Rob and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CupcakeBa...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable house in a great location, very dog friendly too!”
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed at Rhubarb Cottage for 2 weeks and really loved it. Everything was perfect - the quiet location on the edge of the village was great but it was only a few minutes walk to the centre of Lyndhurst for grocery shopping and eating out (a vast choice!). Rob and Karen were very friendly and helpful hosts and there is lots of information in the house for walking and the local area. Our dog, Lily, loved it too, lots of walks from the doorstep straight into the forest. The house is very homely and well equipped and so comfortable and the little garden was a bonus! We also loved the log burner, it made the house so cosy in the evening.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2017
Thanks very much Louise. Hope your home move is going well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kustard47
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything about the cottage and location is perfect”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This lovely comfortable cottage has everything you need, all the comforts of home and so quiet. The location is perfect, five minutes walk into Lyndhurst which has too many good places to eat to choose from - including delivered if you want to stay in!!!! Also the town has lots of other amenities. For walkers, just five minutes and you are in the forest and, when travelling by car, there are numerous places to visit - towns, beaches, forest, stately homes - you name it, it's there. I like to sit in the garden to watch the birds and listen to the bell ringing practice from the local church (only one evening per week!!!) Can't wait to be back there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Thanks very much for the lovely review Kate. Look forward to seeing you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgi101
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“One of the best places we have stayed”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a lovely holiday, accommodation was great, so much room. It was a lovely location especially for walking the dog. Also easy to walk into Lyndhurst, the shops, cafes, restaurants and pubs. It was nice not having to drive everywhere everything was on our doorstep. It will stay on our list of places to revisit.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Thanks very much for your review Lynn, much appreciated. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The New Forest - plenty to do, even if the weather isn't the best.
best wishes
Rob and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky R
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A perfect break away from our family business. Great location with walking distance from the town but a quiet area. Comfortable cosy cottage with everything you need. Lots of information of places to visit. A warm welcome from the greeting card, flowers and groceries just explains the type of people you are renting from. Home from home.
Already planning our next visit in 2018. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
Thanks very much for your kind review Nicky, much appreciated! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing