We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff, lovely atmosphere”
Review of The Trusty Servant

The Trusty Servant
Ranked #13 of 50 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Trusty servant, is a traditional New Forest Pub with Real Food, Real Ale and Real Atmosphere! Dogs and children welcome. Now with 5 amazing bed and breakfast rooms!!
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Have visited twice recently, the second time was for a family Sunday lunch. We were so impressed with the choice of food,particularly all the different roasts. Any changes we asked for were no trouble for the staff & the food was delivered quickly, all meals together & were hot. Everything was really tasty! The staff left us alone but were attentive bringing us coffees when we decided we were too full for pudding.
We were not rushed & could have stayed at the table if we had wanted to.
I had booked a table in advance, but noticed that the staff were helpful if customers arrived wanting a table without booking.
Have already booked again for later this month & would choose to go here over & over again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dens35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    159
    62
    37
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not in Lyndhurst but Minstead”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Having been to this pub from a child I have seen many changes but the food today was the best in a long time. The wait for it was a bit too long when your starving & too hot to eat when it arrived without burning your mouth. However the food was tasty & well worth the wait. A table next to us had sandwiches which we could have eaten had we not chosen a hot meal due to it being cold outside. From the conversation behind the bar the pub was under new management. Can I suggest extra staff in the kitchen as it will be busy once our spring & summer arrives and people sit in the garden. The church is worth a visit at the top of the hill.

Helpful?
Thank 58clover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Revisited after 32 years!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wet miserable day with mother in tow we decided to "find" a New Forest pub! Excellent choice great welcome, interesting menu with lots of warming stews and pies. This no "chain" pub, but independent run by staff who were knowledgable had a sense of humour & enjoyed their work. Food was excellent and reasonably priced.
We will go again but won't wait over 30 years this time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had read reviews on here, my husband had fish and chip found it ok, I had chicken in peppercorn sauce it arrived with many legs and thighs in sauce with whole peppercorns so hard and very strong not had sauce with it like that before couldn't eat it.
The drinks my husband had a pint of weak beer and I had a pint of soda water the 2 drinks cost £5 can that be so!!! Will not use this pub again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilylou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikwake
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Great location, great food and friendly service put this pub high on my list of new forest pubs to visit, be it by car or by bike. Awesome garden for the summer and log fire for the winter with a great menu, this place never fails to impress me!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trusty Servant also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Emery Down, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Trusty Servant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing