We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Forest Pub”
Review of The Trusty Servant

The Trusty Servant
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Trusty servant, is a traditional New Forest Pub with Real Food, Real Ale and Real Atmosphere! Dogs and children welcome. Now with 5 amazing bed and breakfast rooms!!
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Superb Forest Pub”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We visited the Trusty Servant twice last week, and on both occasions the food and drink were superb.The sunday roast was one of the best that i have had in along time,The pub was packed out on both visits, and the landlady Debbie is right on the ball, and runs a well organised establishment.The prices are not cheap, but the quality is there.If you are in the New Forest try and visit this pub.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    160
    62
    38
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Food!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We visit the New Forest every autumn and for years we avoided The Trusty Servant - but finally its good again. A good country pub atmosphere and a well stocked bar with several real ales on tap and a good selection of wines by the glass, carafe or bottle. The food was great with the menu consisting of standard but good quality pub grub and a selection of ten specials using local game and fish. After many years of disappointment, we will be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam9175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Food”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stumbled on this pub by accident and was pleasantly surprised. A typical pub type atmosphere with a not so typical pub menu. Sure the usual food is still available, but this menu has a far greater selection of food than your average pub. If you go for a three course, then you'd better be hungry, as the portion sizes are NOT small, so you will need a good appetite. The quality of food is exceptionally high and I have now been here several times and it still continues to be. The only down side is, that you do have to initially order your food from the bar, but with these portions, you'll be glad of the exercise.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lunch in the forest”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Travelling back from the North to to Dorset, just off the A31 - a great stop for lunch. In a the pretty village of Minstead. Had the special of Smoked Haddock and my hubby the Rump "sandwich" all very tasty . The staff very pleasant. There is a great walk from there takes about an hour - did it a few years back, when we stopped there before. It takes you to the church where Arthur Conan Doyle and his wife are buried - and then round thru the forest back to the pub. The directions are printed on the back of the menu. With the sun shining a great stop on a lovely autumn day

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorsethill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub in the scenic village of Minstead”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have been visiting this pub for the last 7 years and the new landlords (they have been there for approx 18months) have finally got it right.

Large, dog friendly garden at the rear with plenty of outside seating.

Friendly and efficient staff and a menu to die for even on a Sunday when some places tend to abbreviate their normal menus.

We both opted for the Sunday Roast, pork for me and chicken for my husband. They were both absolutely fantastic. Lots of different veg, all cooked beautifully and yummy tasty gravy. My crackling was perfection. It wasn't the cheapest roast around however when you receive a meal that is cooked so wonderfully I don't mind paying for it.

We ate out four times in the New Forest this weekend and this was by far and above the best.

Would definitely recommend and we will definfitely be returning next time we visit the New Forest.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trusty Servant also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Emery Down, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Romsey, Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Trusty Servant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing