We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

The front entrance to The Bothy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front entrance to The Bothy
The rear communal gardens at The Bothy The lounge/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
The front entrance to The Bothy
The rear communal gardens at The Bothy
The lounge/diner
The bedroom at The Bothy
The bedroom at The Bothy
The kitchen at the bothy with breakfast bar area
The hall way at The Bothy
Boltons Bench in Lyndhurst (2 minutes walk from your front door)
Boltons Bench Lyndhurst, open forest at it's best !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
tangerine...
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation”
Reviewed July 31, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The Bothy is perfect - a lovely comfortable cottage which was a lot bigger than we expected. It is well equipped and spotlessly clean. The welcome pack was a very thoughtful touch which was very much appreciated. The location of the cottage is also perfect - in a quiet location yet just a short walk to the high street, and also central to visiting the attractions in the New Forest. We would highly recommend this cottage and will definitely book it again next time we're in the area. Thanks John and Stephanie for this little gem!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2018
Dear Tangerinelions,
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy.
We realise home is a great distance, but do hope that we may be of service to you in the future.
Once again many thanks,
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2018
Dear marymac123,
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy.
Please do return soon, we would love to be of service to you again in the future.
Regards
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
welshwiza...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendiferous”
Reviewed June 26, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Beautiful, well appointed and comfortable cottage. The owner was very quick to sort out a minor problem, we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. We particularly enjoyed our visits to the National Motor Museum Beaulieu, Lymington, Winchester, Mottisfont (National Trust), Bucklers Hard and of course the magnificent New Forest. Definitely a cottage we would recommend.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2018
Dear Welshwizard2016,
Many thanks for your lovely review & choosing the Bothy, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Please do return in the near future we would be so pleased to be of service to you again.
Regards
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 20, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2018
Dear 109pault109,
Our sincere thanks for such a lovely review, it is greatly appreciated.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, we are lucky to have such wonderful guests.
Please do return soon,
Many thanks,
Stephanie & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malcolm C
wOLVERHAMPTON
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday accommodation”
Reviewed May 28, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A very comfortable bungalow in a peaceful location well equipped and spotlessly clean, with a generous welcome pack. We had the most relaxing break in this wonderfull accoommodation looking forward to our next visit already.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2018
Dear Malcolm C,
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at the Bothy & were able to relax.
We would be honoured to be able to accommodate you again.
Once again many thanks,
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E
2 reviews
“Lovely, peaceful, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed May 18, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This was our second stay at this very comfortable, well-appointed cottage. Because it is set back from the main road through Lyndhurst it is a haven of peace, but with the benefit of being so close to all amenities (shops, restaurants. etc.) the car isn't needed. Spotlessly kept and with a 5star welcome pack from the owners on arrival, we hope to make this cottage a regular holiday destination.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2018
Dear David E,
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay at the Bothy.
We do hope to be able to be of service to you again soon.
Once again many thanks,
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauliney9...
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect well situated cosy bungalow”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Set in the heart of Lyndhurst, just of High Street, but within minutes reach of the New forest. Well equipped , spacious bungalow in a peaceful setting. Deer regularly visit in the evenings. This was our second visit and we will be back again . Always a wonderful welcome pack waiting on our arrival from owners John and Stephanie .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2018
Dear Pauline,
Many thanks for both a wonderful review and returning to the Bothy for another holiday, we do appreciate it so much & hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
The deer do seem to have become rather tame, when we drove in this week they did not even wander off.
Once again our grateful thanks,
Stephanie & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing