We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

The front entrance to The Bothy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front entrance to The Bothy
The rear communal gardens at The Bothy The lounge/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
The front entrance to The Bothy
The rear communal gardens at The Bothy
The lounge/diner
The bedroom at The Bothy
The bedroom at The Bothy
The kitchen at the bothy with breakfast bar area
The hall way at The Bothy
Boltons Bench in Lyndhurst (2 minutes walk from your front door)
Boltons Bench Lyndhurst, open forest at it's best !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Malcolm C
wOLVERHAMPTON
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday accommodation”
Reviewed May 28, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A very comfortable bungalow in a peaceful location well equipped and spotlessly clean, with a generous welcome pack. We had the most relaxing break in this wonderfull accoommodation looking forward to our next visit already.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2018
Dear Malcolm C,
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at the Bothy & were able to relax.
We would be honoured to be able to accommodate you again.
Once again many thanks,
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E
2 reviews
“Lovely, peaceful, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed May 18, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This was our second stay at this very comfortable, well-appointed cottage. Because it is set back from the main road through Lyndhurst it is a haven of peace, but with the benefit of being so close to all amenities (shops, restaurants. etc.) the car isn't needed. Spotlessly kept and with a 5star welcome pack from the owners on arrival, we hope to make this cottage a regular holiday destination.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2018
Dear David E,
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay at the Bothy.
We do hope to be able to be of service to you again soon.
Once again many thanks,
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauliney9...
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect well situated cosy bungalow”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Set in the heart of Lyndhurst, just of High Street, but within minutes reach of the New forest. Well equipped , spacious bungalow in a peaceful setting. Deer regularly visit in the evenings. This was our second visit and we will be back again . Always a wonderful welcome pack waiting on our arrival from owners John and Stephanie .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2018
Dear Pauline,
Many thanks for both a wonderful review and returning to the Bothy for another holiday, we do appreciate it so much & hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
The deer do seem to have become rather tame, when we drove in this week they did not even wander off.
Once again our grateful thanks,
Stephanie & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowy747
Somerset, UK
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent all round, both property and location”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What a lovely cottage in a beautiful setting but so close to the High Street and all the amenities. Very easy to get to Lymington, Mudeford, Highcliffe etc and just down the road from the Beaulieu Motor Museum. I arrived in deep snow although thankfully the roads were clear but the thaw left the forest a swamp so not good for walking this week. I highly recommend the Motor Museum, not cheap but lots to see and do and they have some amazing cars on site. Do take a walk around the Monastery, house and grounds.

Lymington is a beautiful town, you can walk down by the yacht club where there is a large car park with access to the Solent Way. The town itself and town Quay are well worth a wander with lots of independent retailers amongst the usual chain stores. You will also find an M & S food hall and a Waitrose here.

Marwell Zoo is also close by and easily accessible via the motorway. The new tropical house looks as though it is going to be well worth a visit once it opens at Easter.

The Bothy itself was very warm and cosy with a vast inventory of equipment. The internet is not very fast and possibly due to the weather dropped out a fair bit but I imagine they will upgrade the town to super fast at some stage.

The bed is extremely comfortable and the heating could be set in each room via the radiators to suit. This is definitely one of the better rentals I have stayed in and I would happily return. The deer really do frequent the lawns and they all looked in beautiful condition and were very laid back as they grazed the grass. Thank you to John and Stephanie for providing an ideal holiday home in the Forest.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2018
Dear Snowy747,
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy & surrounding area.
We do hope that you will return again soon.
Regards
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our 3rd Stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We've made the Bothy an annual event in our holiday calendar. It has a perfect location for both the town of Lyndhurst with its many good restaurants and pubs and walks in the New Forest without ever having to use the car. It's well appointed and has all the amenities a couple needs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
Dear Richard,
Many thanks for such a lovely review, we feel so privileged to have been able to accommodate you three times at the Bothy, please do return again in the future.
Once again many thanks,
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
Dear Helen,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we do hope that you will return soon, as we cannot wait to be of service to you once again.
We love the local restaurants too!!
Once again many thanks,
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mr Chris...
1 review
“great cottage”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

great bungalow every for thing you wish for when you book a holiday .Great cafes and places to eat in Lyndhurst .this cottage was in a very quite place and very easy to find .I would recommend this cottage to anyone

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Dear Chris,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy, your review is greatly appreciated, please do return soon.
Once again many thanks,
John & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing