We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Great B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burwood Lodge

Burwood Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burwood Lodge
Ranked #18 of 23 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, Great B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed for 1 night with my family of 5. We were really impressed with the room and the breakfast was the best we have had so far. Kids liked the garden with waterproof table tennis paddles. Originally I had not wanted to stay in Lyndhurst but really glad we did.

Room Tip: Bit expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthHardieboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed as a party of adults for a New Year break. Location is excellent, within easy walking distance of Lyndhurst town centre and with ample off-road parking. Our room was a good size and comfortable. Betty was very hospitable and provided useful suggestions on places to visit and pubs to try. Breakfast was substantial and well-prepared, setting us up well for walking in the New Forest. We plan to return in the summer and use Burwood Lodge as a base for a cycling trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

A run of the mill UK B& B, needs better upkeep to warrant "super" status. Breakfast was cold, friendly enough owners but do shop around before you book this place. You probably get a modern full facilities hotel for cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris.lalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at Burwood Lodge for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon. Very welcoming, extremely comfortable beds are really great room with excellent facilities and super breakfasts. Betty was very friendly and gave us lots of ideas on what we could do in the New Forest. This was a really special start to out honeymoon.

Thank you Betty and Tim, we will definitely be coming back.

Caroline & Dave

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Upon arrival we were not greeted and instead had an envelope pinned to the front door with our name on and room key inside. We thought this as very laid back, perhaps a bit reckless? As anyone who might have approached the door could have just taken the envelope and helped themselves to a room??
We were never formally checked in, or actually spoken to until breakfast the following morning, and even then that was the breakfast waitress, we didn't actually see the owner/manageress until we ducked our heads into the kitchen to thank her for breakfast. We had no complaint about our room, the breakfasts were very enjoyable and it sets you up for the rest of the day. We had a very enjoyable time in the New Forest and this B&B met all of our needs.
On our last morning, we ate our breakfast and were very sad to leave, as it was our honeymoon I don't think we ever wanted to go back to reality!!
I stripped the bed linen and piled them with the towels before we left our room, felt it was only polite as our room had been entered and cleaned on each of the 5 days we were there.
My husband paid the bill while I wrote in the guest book, after payment had been made, the lady then stated she was very 'disappointed' when she cleaned our room the day before, when we asked her why, she said that she had found a 'scorch' mark on the bath from a CIGARETTE!! She then proceeded in telling us about the law and that she could inform the 'Forest Association' and we could face a fine!! I was absolutely gob-smacked, not to mention extremely insulted!!
We would never entertain smoking indoors, we don't even allow smoking in our own home, the grounds outside are beautiful it was not a chore to go outside. We were not given the benefit of the doubt, she assumed us guilty and wouldn't accept our pleads of innocence! Comparing us to her chain-smoking sister-in-law!!
The gentleman who served us breakfast then appeared in the corridor and seemed to accept what we were saying, even now i'm not convinced either of them believed us. I've never been so insulted, she said she wouldn't report us 'this time' i felt an inch tall, we are both in our 30's, responsible adults, not children and unfortunately because of her judgement we left very upset. I was in tears and felt sick to my stomach that we had been judged so unfairly.
I implore everyone staying here to thoroughly check your room for anything you may be blamed for during your stay here, we will not be visiting here again, which is what added to my upset, as it was our honeymoon and now we do not have the option in later years to re-visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I recently visited Burwood Lodge whilst touring the South of England with friends. We hadn't booked so tried pot luck. Burwood Lodge is a substantial house standing in large gardens just a minutes walk from Lyndhurst town centre. There is ample off road parking to the front which enabled us to park our motorcycles securely out of the way.
Our first impressions were mixed, the hallway and landings are in need of some modernisation- the stair carpets being a little thread bare. However we were immediately bowled over by the rooms. I was in a single room with a three quarter size bed, all of the normal facilities and a fantastic en suite shower room. The room had obviously been recently decorated and was absolutely spotlessly clean. The bed linen and towels were of excellent quality. My bed was firm ensuring a good couple of nights sleep.
Having booked us in Betty, the owner and hoste, took time to explain what we could see in the area and made good recommendations as to places to eat out.
The breakfast, which is served in a beautiful dining room overlooking the extensive rear garden was of excellent quality and cooked to perfection. Tim, Betty's partner, who served us was charming and friendly, ensuring that our needs were taken care of.
Lyndhurst has a good selection of restaurants and places to drink- just be aware that the prices were quite high. The town boasts a Ferrari and Masserati dealership, excellent for petrol head window shopping. We used the Thai restaurant on one night of our visit which was particularly worthy of note and worth a visit.
I would definitely return to Burwood Lodge should I return to the New Forest and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stopped for one night at Burwood and wasn't disappointed, bedroom was tasteful and ample room with en-suite, had a lovely walk in shower and toilet.
Location is good being only a minute walk from the high street in Lyndhurst, although it is located on the main road it is set back with ample parking in front of the house with a large lawned garden at the rear, we couldn't hear any traffic whilst we stayed here.
The Breakfast is really excellent with a choice of menus and also cereal, fruit, yoghurt's etc, fresh coffee or large pot of tea, full english, scrambled eggs, smoked salmon, poached eggs etc.
We couldn't fault our stay at all, would definitely stay again and highly recommend, the lass who runs the Burwood was very helpful and made our short stay welcoming!

Room Tip: We stopped to the rear of the house away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyndhurst hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reepham House
Reepham House
#6 of 23 in Lyndhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acorns of Lyndhurst
Acorns of Lyndhurst
#10 of 23 in Lyndhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burwood Lodge

Property: Burwood Lodge
Address: 27 Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Burwood Lodge Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing