We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break.”
Review of The White Rabbit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Rabbit
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased with the room. It was clean, spacious, had a lovely bathroom and comfy bed. The staff were helpful and friendly. The location is convenient for getting about in the new forest and into Lyndhurst. The pub/restaurant lacked atmosphere and the food wasn't great but it's only a short walk into town for better dining.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 531 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lovely good size, clean room but unfortunately had an adjoining door to another room which meant that we could here everything. Luckily that room was only occupied one night out of the 3 we there. Was woken at 7am on Sunday morning by them talking and laughing and having a conversation about football.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nscoop90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed for three nights 7 - 9th March. We were given room 16 which is one with a joining door into the next room. No problem Friday or Sunday night, Saturday night room 15 was occupied and I can confirm that everything that happens in that room is clearly audible and therefore everything we said audible to them. Just what you want at 7am on a Sunday morning, a loud conversation followed by slamming of a door.

Saturday's meal was quite good apart from one point, seared scallops should have a bit of texture and colour? i.e. seared.

The ongoing real ale festival that's advertised, where were the ales? Doom Bar (not a favourite) and a very tired Brakspear Oxford Gold, no point asking for CAMRA discount.

Lyndhurst we'll return to but we'll avoid the White Rabbit.

Spirit P. I've read your cut and paste standard reply already in four other reviews so to save you the trouble I'll add it for you...

"Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the White Rabbit in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further. "

Room Tip: Rooms elsewhere are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here on the 14 th and 15 th feb .The room was basic and the tv lost signal frequently .
The breakfast area was sticky and glasses and cups not fully cleaned ....
But what was worse was that a poster advertised a stay of 14 th feb at £34 including breakfast we paid £109 for that night !
All very basic for the money paid

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

On arrival we was shown to our room only to find the tv not working, whilst waiting for the manager to come and sort it out we could hear people talking very loudly and then realised we had been put in a room with an adjoining door so the people we could here were in the very next room with just a door separating us!!! We asked to be moved to another room which was granted only to find the room was smaller and no tv reception! We made a hasty exit expressing our disappointment. ..very poor

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank loulou45h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear loulou45h

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the White Rabbit in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

On our way back from a weekend away we saw the White Rabbit and decided to stop for Sunday Lunch. As I am on Slimming World eating out can be a pain for me as I can't seem to eat the majority of food on a menu but I ordered the healthy Cod loin on a bed of vegetables and lentils and it was lovely. My partner ordered the Sunday roast and it was also beautiful. The atmosphere was friendly and inviting and most importantly warm in this cold weather. Would definitely stop here again if passing. Great country pub.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princess322013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend BREAK to lyndhurst. We decided to try the white rabbit for a meal on Sunday night and we were not disappointed. It was not over busy but the service and food we received were excellent. The also have a great selection of wines at a very reasonable price not like some in the high street. We look forward to returning to the white rabbit on our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear brendan m

Thank you for providing us with your review.

I can confirm that I have passed on your kind comments to the management team and to the Area Manager of the White Rabbit who would like to thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you soon at the White Rabbit

Kind regards,

Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
132 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,119 reviews
3.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Address: The White Rabbit Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AR, England (Formerly The Mill Lyndhurst)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $69 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Rabbit 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Rabbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rabbit Hotel Lyndhurst
The White Rabbit Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing