We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As in Wonderland the staff kept disappearing”
Review of The White Rabbit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Rabbit
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
West Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As in Wonderland the staff kept disappearing”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here this weekend and the room itself was clean and pleasant enough but being above the kitchen meant constant noise from the fans; the staff when you could find them were nice and helpful but I lost count of the times I had to look for them to get served.
We only ate here on the one evening and although not busy had to wait for a table to be cleared then I had to clean the seat which had food squashed on it! The food was ok but very limited choice after a busy weekend; the service was pretty poor as it wasn't at all busy. We went out for an hours walk and the tables still hadn't been cleared by the time we returned - sorry I don't find this very acceptable particularly when there are no customers - is that any wonder?
The following day we had no hot water in our room as did many of the other guests and we were told it was a recurring problem; the staff all seemed very young, and, no offence intended, there seemed to be no obvious manager to speak to - maybe therein lies the problem?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxartmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear foxartmary,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the White Rabbit in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    121
    102
    75
    84
See reviews for
154
238
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here in June and were pleased to have found somewhere that was reasonably cheap.When you arrive it's quite an impressive looking place,but it was fairly empty,it's one of the Chef and Brewer chain.We were shown to our room by a very friendly chap called Alex.The room itself was disappointing,small and a bit jaded.There was no shaver socket,the wallpaper has splashes of coffee or blood or something up it,and it was close to the outlet for the kitchen so smelt of food.The bed was comfortable enough,but the overall feeling was one of poor Travelodge standard.We got up to a poor breakfast on the first day,it's clear there are not enough staff about,the poor waitress was trying to do umpteen jobs at once,booking people out while taking orders while answering the phone.Our second breakfast was far better,there were enough plates out and it all seemed to be organised better.We didn't eat here based on the first breakfast,the menu looked overpriced anyway.If you want something on a budget that's convenient to Lyndhurst with ample parking its alright,just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgebacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited the White Rabbit a few weeks ago and had a nice meal with good service. Having recommended it to our friends, six of us visited the White Rabbit this weekend and experienced very poor service. We arrived at 7.40pm for an 8pm table and after getting a quick drink, were shown to our table, which appeared clean but was a bit sticky. We sat and chatted for a while before someone came and took our order. The starters arrived within 20 minutes but after that was all cleared away, everything seemed to grind to a halt. e were sat across from the kitchen entrance and very little came out until a blond haired lady (who we assumed was in charge) took control. There were some raised voices from the kitchen area and we perceived an atmosphere amongst the staff! Just as we were about to complain about the delays, the first of our dishes came out, at 9.25pm! The remaining dishes came out over the next 5/10 minutes and the the blond haired lady was now handing food out, barking the food choices and planting our plates down in front of us. Not exactly friendly service! The food was good and we had fun catching up with friends, but the delays made the restaurant experience a real disappointment and none of us will be back in a hurry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the White Rabbit for a few nights over half term in May .The room itself was immaculate and really really spaciuos for a family of 5.The staff were really helpful and attentive .I have nothing to say but praise for this fabulous place and and really surprised to read some of the other reviews.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked a stay in the summer holidays along with extended family

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear amanda s,

Thank you for your review of the White Rabbit, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you this summer.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were greeted by a friendly young man who checked us in and showed us to our room. The room was nice enough and clean. We didn't eat in on the evening but we did have breakfast the next morning which was plentiful; cereals, toast, yoghurts, juice, iced water, tea/coffee and a cooked breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful, would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We were a large party of about 30.
We had our own room which dowdy but private . We had to submit our menu choices in advance and the pub was not busy so it was extremely disappointing to have to wait over an hour for our food.
Typical pub chain food.
I had a vegetable tagine which was tasty, but there were several complaints about the quality of the food. I felt sorry for the staff who were extremely pleasant and helpful but had to take the brunt of complaints about the delay and food.
Wouldnt eat there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hgslcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lyndhurst hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Cannot speak for the accommodation but my husband and I ate here last night and couldn't believe how long it took to be served. We ordered our drinks and meals before 7 pm and by 7.35 pm I still hadn't received my starter (my husband didn't want one). You'd think I'd ordered something really exotic and time-consuming to cook but all I had ordered was sweet chilli prawns. After I had finished it took some time before my plate was taken away, despite the fact that several staff walked past our table completely empty-handed they seemed oblivious of dirty plates! After about 10 minutes we received our main courses. After this course my husband had a long wait until his sweet arrived. On completing our meal we asked for the bill which surprisingly only took a very short time to arrive. We gave the waitress cash and sat for about 10 minutes before my husband eventually went to the bar to ask for his change - interrupting the staff having a chat!! The staff were very friendly but there was a complete lack of communication. Surely if the staff are passing by tables that they have taken orders for they should be able to be aware that their customers are waitiing. I appreciate that there was a large party in, as informed by the waitress, but we ordered before them. Needless to say we didn't stay for coffee. A two course meal that should have taken perhaps an hour took over two hours. We were not the only ones having a long wait. I have written to Chef & Brewer Head office and await their comments.

Room Tip: Be prepared for a long wait
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jean_Norma, thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback was a concern to hear and I would like to investigate this feedback further with the Area Manager of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,061 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Stoney Cross Lyndhurst
2.8 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Property: The White Rabbit
Address: The White Rabbit Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AR, England (Formerly The Mill Lyndhurst)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Rabbit 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Rabbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rabbit Hotel Lyndhurst
The White Rabbit Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing