We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country pub for Sunday afternoon lunch after a walk in the New Forest”
Review of The White Rabbit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Rabbit
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here for food after my partners parents were staying here overnight. Great range of pub food with fab extras such as added a large pig in blanket to your roast dinner-went down extremely well! Good service and lovely atmosphere, have returned since & would recommend.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Victoria Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Victoria Q,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoy visiting the White Rabbit.

Your kind comments have been shared with the team.

Regards
Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for The White Rabbit
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 511 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had family visiting during the Christmas break and were looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful to have lunch. We called the White Rabbit at about 1.30pm on 29th December to enquire about any food deals. The lady on the other end of the phone had no knowledge of the menu or any offers (managed to find the answers online). We then asked if there was a table free for 10 people and she said that they were quiet and to come down.

10 minutes later, we arrived at the empty pub and asked for a table. We were asked quite bluntly if we had booked?? We said we had called a few minutes earlier and were told that seating would be no problem. We then were told it'll take 10 minutes to set up a table and to have drinks whilst we waited. This is where the problems started....

The draft beer all smelt like rotten eggs, we returned 4 pints of Stella and Carling and ended up drinking the bottled beer. We waited over an hour for food and no aplogy was given. The food was substandard, cold and the childrens meals wouldn't have fed a hamster.

The staff treated us like we were a hassle and that we were in their way! This is a restaurant and an empty one at that.

I will never return to this restaurant again.... if you pass this pub, keep on driving!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LadyBeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel and dined in on both occassions. I have to say both the food and service were excellent. We had a family room allocated although there were just two of us, and the room was of substantial size and well heated. The only thing that stops me rating this hotel five star is the constant noise through the night of the air conditioning. On saying this I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a family room if available
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witwatersrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed in White Rabbit 14th Dec for one night on business B&B. We had planned to go out for dinner in Lyndhurst somewhere but we got settled in the very nice bar at White Rabbit and dined there. Food, drinks, service, ambience Fantastic! It is true what other reviews say about the staff, they do work really hard and do go out their way to make you welcome. Bedroom was very welcoming and clean (i am a bit funny about hotel bedrooms) but the room was immaculate and i didn't have to wash the cups before i made tea (just another thing i am funny about).
Breakfast was excellent, help yourself buffet for starters and then a nice fresh cooked full breakfast with nicely mannered waiting staff, which makes a nice change. Overall expereince Fantastic and i will stay at this hotel again also great value for money.
When i arrived home i thought i had left my works diary at hotel but thankfully found it here but when i phoned hotel they were so helpful and got onto housekeeping straight away to see if they could find it, and if they did find it they were prepared to send it to me with no cost to me, how lovely! I got a phone call later on the same day to say they couldn't find it and they were really concerned. Wel Done White Rabbit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinchesterDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear WinchesterDiane,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear of the experience you received whilst staying at the White Rabbit.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked on line for a Birthday 4 day weekend Break. There was four of us and we had a small double room and a family room on the 1st Floor (Rooms 5 & 6). The rooms were absolutely spotless and the beds so comfortable. The showers in both rooms were hot and powerful, brilliant.
The Reception Staff were so friendly and helpful, The dark haired receptionist (so sorry I didn't see your name tag) and another young lady moved our booking around to ensure that we had two rooms on the same floor, so very kind. We ate here two nights, Between the four of us over the two meals we had, Rump Steak, mixed grill (to die for) and the sea bass. On the other evening we had steak and ale pie, Mixed Grill and vegetarian pie. ALL meals were cooked to perfection and so tasty, the service staff were again helpful without being intrusive, we can't praise the staff and the meals enough.

Our breakfast again, beautifully cooked and served by Helen, who was cheerful, friendly and didn't stop walking around picking up and making sure all the diners were happy, lovely girl.

The cleaners were fantastic, everything was replenished (tea, coffee etc) they are to be commended.

On leaving, several of the staff (Chef, cleaners and Helen) wished us a safe journey.

We will be back, an experience that will be remembered - Thank You All - Vivien & Mark Hutton and Jackie & Phil Gunning :)

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the first floor, the family room had a very small amount of traffic noise, but lar...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear jgumbo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

One night stopover after returning from Brands Hatch. The staff were extremely polite and informative and went out of their way to make us welcome. A 'just in time late meal' was forthcoming and enjoyed with relish. If we are up that way again from Cornwall we will definately use The White Rabbit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Paul T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We visited today (2 adult & 3 children)
After looking throw the menu we pick of the lunch time menu ranging from £4.99 kids all had a kids meal - sausage mash & beans (smash potato & limited amount of beans but good qualilty sausages) meatballs pasta & garlic bread (fussiest eater of us all my daughter ate the lot) plus scampi chips & peas all nicely sized portions! As adults we had chicken breast burger and a mozzarella & pesto burger Absolutly lush!
Would recommend to passing trade

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank birdieofhythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear jenjuly82,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and have passed your kind words onto our manager so they can be shared with the staff.

Regards
Chef & Brewer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
466 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Stoney Cross Lyndhurst
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Address: The White Rabbit Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AR, England (Formerly The Mill Lyndhurst)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $76 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Rabbit 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The White Rabbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rabbit Hotel Lyndhurst
The White Rabbit Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing