We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Birthday Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Rabbit

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The White Rabbit
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
East London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Birthday Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked on line for a Birthday 4 day weekend Break. There was four of us and we had a small double room and a family room on the 1st Floor (Rooms 5 & 6). The rooms were absolutely spotless and the beds so comfortable. The showers in both rooms were hot and powerful, brilliant.
The Reception Staff were so friendly and helpful, The dark haired receptionist (so sorry I didn't see your name tag) and another young lady moved our booking around to ensure that we had two rooms on the same floor, so very kind. We ate here two nights, Between the four of us over the two meals we had, Rump Steak, mixed grill (to die for) and the sea bass. On the other evening we had steak and ale pie, Mixed Grill and vegetarian pie. ALL meals were cooked to perfection and so tasty, the service staff were again helpful without being intrusive, we can't praise the staff and the meals enough.

Our breakfast again, beautifully cooked and served by Helen, who was cheerful, friendly and didn't stop walking around picking up and making sure all the diners were happy, lovely girl.

The cleaners were fantastic, everything was replenished (tea, coffee etc) they are to be commended.

On leaving, several of the staff (Chef, cleaners and Helen) wished us a safe journey.

We will be back, an experience that will be remembered - Thank You All - Vivien & Mark Hutton and Jackie & Phil Gunning :)

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the first floor, the family room had a very small amount of traffic noise, but lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear jgumbo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    108
    95
    68
    78
See reviews for
133
220
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

One night stopover after returning from Brands Hatch. The staff were extremely polite and informative and went out of their way to make us welcome. A 'just in time late meal' was forthcoming and enjoyed with relish. If we are up that way again from Cornwall we will definately use The White Rabbit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Paul T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We visited today (2 adult & 3 children)
After looking throw the menu we pick of the lunch time menu ranging from £4.99 kids all had a kids meal - sausage mash & beans (smash potato & limited amount of beans but good qualilty sausages) meatballs pasta & garlic bread (fussiest eater of us all my daughter ate the lot) plus scampi chips & peas all nicely sized portions! As adults we had chicken breast burger and a mozzarella & pesto burger Absolutly lush!
Would recommend to passing trade

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank birdieofhythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear jenjuly82,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and have passed your kind words onto our manager so they can be shared with the staff.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is the first time I have been to The White Rabbit in Lyndhurst as I am not normally around the New Forest area.
Despite all of the bad reviews I have read on this website, I still decided to give it a try.

I was not dispointed with the service I recived that day.
I had a pleasntly polite young lady come to my table and ask if I wanted any drinks, which all got placed onto a tab and paid for at the end.

My food was delicious. I had the game pate as a starter, which came out promtly after ordering.
I had a meal from the specials menu, which was the Pheasant breast.
That meal was highly worth the price of "2 courses for £15.99".

I do not understand why I am reading such bad reviews when I have had such a lovely service..
I will definately be returning with more people.

Thank you very much for my wonderful food and service.
- Bob Miller.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear bob m, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Management Team. Many Thanks, Chef & Brewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited here not so long ago. When we first visited we sat near the bar and wanted to sit there and order food, but we were told to sit on the other side in the restaurant side, but we couldn't understand this as there were people sat on the car side eating meals. We then waited about an hour for our food, we only ordered 2 salads with chicken skewers. We waited ages to be served, but we weren't ready to order so we waited another about 15 minutes to see if we were ready. At the time the restaurant was near enough empty and there were plenty of staff walking around serving.

In the end we still didn't get our food and even after asking the waitress where our food was she never came back to us and still continued to serve other customer, ones that had just arrived about an hour after we did!!! We walked out disgusted with still no food!! We came before and the food was lovely, and we even sat on the bar side and came roughly the same time as before. We are definitely not coming back after that terrible service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelTheWorld789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Kelly1616

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback was a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your comments further with the Management team. I have sent you a private message with details of our feedback form and look forward to hearing from you.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lyndhurst hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at The white Rabbit ,Having booked a double room on line I read the reviews for a second time more thoroughly. I had to go and see what really was going on in this beautiful looking hotel on the edge of Lyndhurst which was near where our horses were stabled.The next day I was worried about the reviews so rang up and explained we were coming for a short break and although we wanted value for money we also wanted comfort, a decent bed and a bath.I was redirected to a manager who was most pleasant and helpful. We had been allocated a room which was cheap[disabled access] and was not quite what i wanted.We went over what I exactly wanted and he up graded us for the original price , We ended up in room 2 which was enormous, smashing 6 foot bed plus, a sofa bed, decent TV,lovely bathroom /and shower and soundproofed [from other guests].There was a slight noise from the central heating possible but no road noise whatsoever,the staff were most polite if a little harassed at breakfast , as the cooked meals were obviously takeing a long time.One has to remember this is a three star hotel but feels more like a fourstar,We didnt have our evening meals there as our friends wanted to eat elsewhere.but the camenbere looked delicious This is a beautiful looking hotel with good easy parking[we have a big long ford ranger truck] with possible some shortage of staff which may have put some people off but we had a lovely stay and would be delighted to stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: If you have any doubts ring up and enquire about noise levels and views, and unclear facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbysox_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear bobbysox_12, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team. Many Thanks, Good Night Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the White Rabbit Hotel during a Wedding weekend. We chose this place as it was well priced at £59 B&B via Bookings.com, it was right near the church and a 10 min cab journey to Rhinefield House Hotel for the reception. I phoned the hotel the week before to check our reservation and we were upgraded for free from a 'small double' to a 'standard double'. We were allocated room 6, it was huge, very clean and looked recently refurbished. The bathroom was huge too with both a bath and a shower (though a bit chilly).

There were a few annoyances such as the receptionist forgetting to call our taxi, no shower gel left in the dispenser and the free toiletries had obviously not been replaced. Also, we arrived back at the hotel at 1am and there were no cold refreshments available (no water in room, no vending machines, pub shut) - not nice when you wake up thirsty and have to resort to bathroom water! Also, we were not given any details on check in about breakfast - it stopped at 10am so we missed it and the hotel pub could not serve any food until noon.

Room Tip: Choose Room 6 - it is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
3.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Property: The White Rabbit
Address: The White Rabbit Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AR, England (Formerly The Mill Lyndhurst)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Rabbit 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The White Rabbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rabbit Hotel Lyndhurst
The White Rabbit Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing