We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff!”
Review of The White Rabbit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Rabbit
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for a night in July with my mum and both my young daughters when we were taking a trip to Paultons park, there were some definate teething problems as there was new management. A few issues with which room we were supposed to be in, a couple of the most popular menu options were unavailable and there was no cold water in the morning. During breakfast there were also no glasses or tea bags available and one of the cleaners started hoovering right next to our table!!!
Could also do with slightly better mattresses on the pull out sofa, it was fine for my 4 year old but my 12 year old was very uncomfortable.
However, the rooms have completely been redone and are really good quality and good value. Also the whole hotel is very clean which is one of my most important things! Although we couldnt get our first choice of food in the evening the standard of our meals was absolutely excellent. All of the staff were really helpful and did everything they could to sort out the problems. And on check-out they voluntarily gave us a 30% discount.
If they continue to improve and sort out some of the smaller issues, as I think we were just unlucky, this will be a brilliant little place to stay and a great distance to get into the heart of the new forest and also to Paultons park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteU2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    114
    99
    69
    80
See reviews for
145
228
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

First of all the family room was a good size with large bathroom and location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the New Forest. Unfortunately that is where the positives end. We booked as a family of 5 but on arrival at 2pm the room was only set up to sleep 4 and I had to chase on 3 separate occasions for them to bring up another bed which finally arrived as we were taking the kids up to bed. We did notice a pump which comes on and off at night which may disturb light sleepers. There was no road noise and the room was well sound proofed. Decided to eat in the hotel on our first night however the food never materialised. Our starters appeared after an hours wait with 3 young children. After a further 15 minutes we chased the waitress who went to check with the chef and returned saying they had no record of our order despite having already delivered starters and us producing the receipt. By now they were turning non residents away despite only a handful of tables in use all of which were experiencing similar delays. In fairness they refunded the meals without question but we had no dinner that night as our kids were tired and ready for bed and we had no confidence of getting our food any time soon. The following morning we ventured down for breakfast. There was no white bread but we were not told this - we ordered 3 bacon sandwiches on white which came out as seeded baps with no explanation and again we had to wait ages but at least it did turn up this time. Other tables around us were also complaining. We had a lovely meal that night but in the Stag in Lyndhurst high street which only emphasised the difference in the level of service. The following morning was just as bad. No croissants - they hadnt taken enough out of the freezer according to the waitress. Still no white bread and then another long wait only to receive the wrong order. Overall the room was good value for money but negotiate a deal without breakfast and make use of one of the local cafes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frannydabidozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The White Rabbit, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hi Frannydabidozi

Thank you for your feedback. It concerns us greatly to hear of your experience, please accept our apologies for the disappointment caused. Your comments have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.

Kind Regards
Good Night Inn Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lyndhurst hotels

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

When we first arrived, it soon became apparent that things were not running smoothly! Only one bath towel in a double room, and on closer inspection a little later on, we noticed that the room had not been vacuumed properly for some time,(no furniture had been moved), and the lift up plug in the shower area had also not been removed and cleaned in ages.
At dinner, our steaks were fine , but someone on another table had to return theirs, due to it being undercooked.
Pillows and bed were not very comfortable, so a very restless night ensued.
The next morning, at breakfast, things just got worse! There was no orange juice available, no croissants, muffins or fresh fruit, as the menu stated.Apparently, they were awaiting a delivery. Only one young, inexperienced member of the waiting staff, (who we felt extremely sorry for), seemed to be on duty, even though the hotel was almost fully booked. We both had to have the full English breakfast, which was actually very good! I also had to ask two members of staff for some sugar for my coffee, before it eventually arrived.The first time of asking, I spoke to a girl on reception,as there was no-one else around. She disappeared into the kitchen never to re-appear! Whilst still at breakfast ,the cleaner arrived and began to vacuum the dining room even though we were still eating, and would have continued, if another guest had not politely asked him to stop!
We found out later, that the hotel didn`t have a manager,and that the head chef had walked out on the day that we had arrived, leaving the remaining staff to manage the best they could!
Naturally there was a mix-up when we went to check out. We received someone elses more expensive bill instead, and had to query it.This was not a surprise though, as several staff members were being trained "on the job",the previous evening, and didn`t seem to know what they were doing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed at the White Rabbit with my husband and two daughters aged 4 and 2, Wed 27th- Frid 29th June 2012,

I was delighted on arrival, the hotel from the outside was very welcoming with ample parking, at check-in the friendly welcome from the bar man and the young man at reception made us feel at ease after our 5 hour journey & when shown our lovely room we were taken back by the actual size.
The room had all the things you need for a comfortable stay, with a large superking sized bed and pull out sofa bed, the bathroom had a shower cubicle and a bath with dove hand wash and shower gel.
We went down to the restaurant for dinner, which was very nice and two courses for £9.95 it was excellent value, my 4 year old is a celiac and is unable to eat the usual kiddies meals e.g. chicken nuggets, sausage, fish fingers, but even though the waitress wasn't clued up on food intolerance, she made a couple of trips to the kitchen to check ingredient for us, in the end we decided to have our own pizza we had bought with us which the chief prepared no problem.

Good night sleep could have done with more pillows (2 between 4 of us).

Breakfast next morning was a sham, we went down at 9am but by then the breakfast table was empty, no white bread, no glasses, no bowls, no butter, no cups, the waitress looked very overworked and i think that if management are aware how many guests you have staying you should put adequate staff on, on a plus the cooked breakfast was lovely and again the chief toasted my daughters gluten free bread no problem.

Went to peppa pig world for the day only took about 10 minutes from the hotel.

The children were very tied so we went down for evening meal, we had a very very long wait for someone to come and take our order in the end i think it was the hotel manager who took it, we waited a good half hour for our starters and the girls jacket potato and beans, we had all finished and we were waiting for our mains (anyone who has children will know how cranky they get when they are tied), so after about an hour my husband decided to take the girls to bed and i waited alone at the table for our food to arrive, eventually when our main course arrived the waites's was very apologetic and insisted on carrying our meals up to our room, which were beautiful.

PLEASE CONTINUE READING.
What a difference a day makes, myself and 2 year old went down for breakfast at 9.15am (not realizing breakfast finished at 9am), the waitress said i don't know if you will be able to have a cooked breakfast but help yourself to the breakfast table, everything was still available it had obviously been well stocked up, a choice of brown or white bread, butter, jam, muffins,croissants, fruit, choice of cereals, fresh orange, tea, coffee, and all crockery and cutlery available, and eventhough we had gone down late the chief made us cooked breakfast, fried egg, sausage, bacon, mushroom, beans, very nicely cooked and tasty.

The staff at this hotel were wonderful, and could not do enough, the location for peppa pig world is brill, the hotel room was wow, clean, with tea and coffee, hairdryer etc, the food was lovely, and we would stay there again, just hoping that they increase the staff.

Room Tip: After reading other reviews i think the family rooms are a lot bigger than the double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabelann08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have just stayed for 1 night at this hotel. We had booked the family room. It was lovely. The room is very large and clean. The hotel is just fine and in a great location. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. We paid £69 for myself, husband and 2 children, bed and breakfast and we have no complaints for that price! The breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notapplicable186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked 2 rooms for my Son and Daughter in law and my Husband and I for Saturday 23rd June as we were attending a local wedding. We did a bit of research and after looking at the web site we all decided on the White Rabbit. We had lunch on arrival,prior to booking in and it was of excellent quality,well presented and perfectly cooked. The staff were attentive and service was very good indeed. We checked in and were directed to our rooms. We started to get a bit apprehensive as we wound our way further and further along narrow corridors and up and down stairs (no lift). We found our rooms and by this time were pushed for time to get to the wedding. Our room was a small room with just room for a double bed and a thin desk. Bathroom was small but adequate. The other room was double the size with what appeared to be a super king size bed and very large bathroom. We changed and left. Got back late and went to bed. I would have liked an extra pillow but none in room so had to make do with one. No telephone in the room either. No internet access either. In the morning we got up and showered but the shower was so hard to adjust I had to call my Husband twice to turn it down. The bathroom mirror was set so high I could just see the top of my head and I couldn't reach to put the mirror light on. The flooring had a large hole in it behind the door. It was however clean. No complimentary toiletries only a dispenser for shower gel that fell off when I tried to use it. I dressed and made a cup of tea..only one portion of milk provided. I drew the curtains back and was a bit shocked at the state of the windowsill and net curtain..filthy dirty. We met Son and Daughter downstairs and they had had a bad night. The bed was actually 2 singles pushed together. Each bed dipped in middle and caused a ridge between them and to make it worse the beds moved apart. They had no tea or coffee tray and their shower hardly worked once my son had managed to turn it on. He complained that there were pubic hairs in the shower and that there were spiders in cobwebs in the corner.
Breakfast was a nightmare.Ordered but then waited and waited, after 30minutes Husband went to find out what had happened and 2 breakfasts appeared shortly after. Rubberized scrambled eggs,dried up beans, overcooked mushrooms and tinned tomatoes. The next breakfasts arrived after a further 5 minutes...burnt fried eggs,nasty cheap sausage, awash with liquid from mushrooms and the awful tinned tomatoes. I couldn't eat it and when the waiter asked if everything was OK I explained that it really was not. He offered to get me another breakfast but I declined and settled for toast. That took nearly 10minutes to do in the inefficient toaster on the breakfast table. We went to check out and raise our concerns, the young lady on the desk was polite and nodded in agreement even commenting that she couldn't reach the light switch either and several people had complained about the same issues we were raising. My Husband remarked that it was hardly good enough and that their customers comments should be acted upon. She apologized and fetched the Manager, Jonathon who we had met the previous day. He was very courteous and could not have been more apologetic. He did however explain that lots of things were down to Chef & Brewer and he had no control over them. After acknowledging our comments he generously reduced our bill and we left promising to write to Chef & Brewer to see if we could get them to sort things out. The manager and his staff were very polite and the service we received was excellent but sadly this was a big disappointment for us.

Room Tip: Ask when booking if your room is in the far annexe..if it is ask to change!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gowergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

If you've read any of the negative reviews, bear in mind that the vast majority of them are pre 2012 . Also, ignore the google street view images, as an awful lot of improvements have been done, since they were made. The hotel provides very good value for money. It's not 5 star, but neither are the prices. It's a comfortable and convenient place to spend a few days. Access is easy if coming into the forest from the A31/A337, because you reach the hotel before hitting Lyndhurst's one-way system, part of which was designed by a man who never went to Lyndhurst at all!
The food definitely comes up to standard, and the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. If you do fancy eating elsewhere of an evening, take a short walk up the road to a little X-roads, turn left, and you will find 'The Waterloo Arms'. When we were there, they were not advertising the fact that they sell food, because they don't have to! It obviously gets most of it's trade by word of mouth. It's a PROPER old pub, and the food is superb.
Cheap parking available Sats & Suns, in Brockenhurst station car park £2 all day. We took the train to Lymington market on the Saturday, nice little trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSWNUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rabbit

Property: The White Rabbit
Address: The White Rabbit Romsey Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7AR, England (Formerly The Mill Lyndhurst)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Rabbit 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The White Rabbit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rabbit Hotel Lyndhurst
The White Rabbit Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing