We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveler rating
297
184
45
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
184
45
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whirlpool bath dog friendly hotel groupon deal new forest garden suite top floor fresh milk compliments to the chef breakfast was excellent duck egg good size an evening meal short break huge bed each morning wide choice the main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 544 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2018

My husband and I and our two dogs stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights. We were given a warm and friendly welcome from Raj and Suzy and all the staff were hard working, helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was lovely with a good choice of locally sourced delicious food and wine, and the breakfasts were also outstanding in fact all the food served to us was delicious and cooked to perfection.our room was light and airy and was plenty big enough for us all lovely facilities .we highly recommend Ormonde House Hotel as it is very well placed with ample parking, and only a few hundred yards to local forest walks and all local amenities. We will definitely be returning to Ormonde House Hotel as soon as we get the chance, and thank you all for the lovely stay we all enjoyed so much. We only wish we stayed longer. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank petekarensaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormonde9, Front Office Manager at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear peter,

It was such a pleasure meeting you and your wife. Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review on our food.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Susie
Ormonde House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in a superior room and it was spacious and had everything we needed. The room was spotlessly clean and bed very comfortable so we slept really well.

The staff and friendly and efficient, and we were well looked after. The breakfast menu offered lots of choices and the quality of the food was excellent. We had dinner at the hotel on our last night and the meal was beautifully cooked and well presented.

The hotel has a good car park with plenty of room.

As mentioned by other reviewers, parts of the hotel are rather dated, but this does not detract from the comfort of the hotel. Although not a dog owner, it was nice to see that the hotel welcomed dogs .

The only negative thing about our stay was the fact that the hotel restaurant was closed on the first three nights of our stay, so we had to trudge out to the local pubs and restaurants for our evening meal, none of which matched the standard of the meal we had in the hotel. I had booked a hotel rather than a B & B to avoid having to go out in the evening so was obviously dissapointed (and even more dissapointed when we ate in the hotel on our last night and found out what lovely meals we had been missing).

Room tip: If space is important it would be better to book a Superior room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormonde9, General Manager at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Dear Lindsey,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this lovely review. We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and you were well looked after. Thank you for the generous comments on both breakfast and evening meals here with us.

We are extremely sorry that the restaurant was closed for the few nights of your stay and please accept our apologies for not informing you about it sooner.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Susie
Ormonde House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

We found this hotel on the internet and as we were looking for a disabled friendly place to stay this was ideal. Our room was ground floor with walk in shower and suitable hand rails. It was very clean and comfortable bed. The food was very nicely cooked and served. This was a three star hotel but to us the hospitality was five star.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormonde9, Front Office Manager at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear Suzanne B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review for Ormonde House Hotel.

its great to hear that you liked the ground floor room you were given and that it was accommodating for you. Thank you for commenting on our food here, most of which is locally produced and for especially mentioning our hospitalilty. Its very kind of you to think of us as a five star.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Kind regards,
Jessie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

We had a big room across the lawn, which has a fully equipped kitchen , wasted on us, but could be useful with children. A superb bathroom where even the hairdryer was in the best place for the mirror, not many 5 star hotels get that one right. A whirlpool bath and also an efficient shower. We fully agree with all the praise already heaped on this hotel. Yes there is some decorating needing done, but with a 5 star breakfast choice and service, who would quibble?
Across the road is a gate into the forest, every dogs idea of heaven. We will be back.

Room tip: Can't comment on inside rooms. But the outside one was perfect.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank loughside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormonde9, Front Office Manager at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear Loughside,

Thank you for taking the time to write this generous review on Ormonde House Hotel.

its lovely to hear that you liked the pinewood suites with the whirlpool bath and that you would like to come again.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Jessie
Ormonde House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for just one night but was put into one of the suites attached to the hotel. This was a nice room with a separate bedroom and a conservatory. Unfortunately I had to leave before breakfast was served but there were cerials etc in the room which was fine with me. I had dinner which was lovely. A good choice and reasonably priced. All of the staff were attentive and friendly. I would definitely recommend. The only reason for not giving five stars is that the room I stayed in could have done with redecorating.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank mitch067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormonde9, Front Office Manager at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear Mitch067,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for Ormonde House Hotel.

Thank you for commenting on our attentive and friendly staff and for mentioning that you had a lovely dinner with us.
Over the next few months we will be starting to re decorate our rooms so they will be with new décor.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Jessie
Ormonde House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews