We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“A proper B&B!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Ormonde House Hotel has a great position, 5 mins walk max to the centre of Lyndhurst, 2 mins to the nearest restaurant and yet opposite wonderful open land and the wilderness of the New Forest.

It is a comfortable and well maintained place, will probably need to do some updating soon but is exactly as you would expect a quality B&B to look like! The rooms were well appointed and well furnished and clean. We had a family room at the top of the house and it worked very well for us. Our BT baby monitor worked from our room in the lounge which was helpful.The staff were very helpful and friendly, the proprietor charming and enthusiastic.

Breakfast was brilliant, great freshly cooked breakfast using local produce, fruit juices, fruits, yogurts, cereals, anything you could want really. We were very happy and comfortable here and would/will return.

For those parents like us, Paultons Park is a very easy 15 minute drive from here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    151
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
57
310
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Seeing that they allowed dogs, we asked if we could bring our elderly (diabetic) cat with us and the answer was "yes". We were able to drop him off on the first day while we went sightseesing.

Our room (number 7) was very spacious with a huge bed plus sofa. Very good quality handwash, shower gel etc were supplied.

We only had breakfasts, which were very good. My better half was especially impressed with the coffee which didn't have the stewed taste one sometimes encounters.

All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Very well located for exploring Lyndhurst on foot. Off -road parking and a selection of eateries and small shops nearby.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 7 was very spacious with a huge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimpa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend with the dog and really enjoyed our stay. Very clean and friendly. Just a five minute walk in to lyndhurst. We are at the Italian just down the road which was also very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmi11y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel.

As normal the staff are lovely. Our room was ready by 1200 rather than 2pm. The room (number 17) was clean and bright. This was on the side of the hotel, so traffic on the busy A road could still be heard if the window was open, But was pleasant to relax in.

Breakfast was lovely. A great selection from a full English (with an option of Duck Egg!) to a muffin. On Easter Sunday each table was setup with a Creme Egg. A nice touch.

The location is perfect. just a 10 minute walk from the High Street with lots of dining options. Food on offer at the Hotel looks good. We didnt take advantage of this though. A gate into the forest was just across the road.

We would stay here again should we need an escape to the country :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor wont have creaky floorboard from anyone above :p
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxfordmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

After viewing their blog we bit the bullet and went for a three night break, with Emma our dog, We were not disappointed - a ground floor room, spotless comfy bed and terrific walk- in shower. The New Forest was just 2 mins across the A35 with lovely walks. Lyndhurst is also walkable from the hotel. Now the food!! Breakfast was great, plenty of everything, including duckeggs and toast soldiers plus a great buffet and freshly cooked full- English! As for dinners, the menu catered for all tastes, and everything was simply delicious, the rump steak was to' die for'. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Emma had a lovely time and was made a real fuss of, as were the other doggies guests. (There is a 'dog station' with a plentiful supply of dog biscuits and water, also clean dog-towels for muddy paws!).
Needless to say we will be back! The hotel is rated 2 star, it is well worth a 3 star rating.

Room Tip: If the dog is one who needs to spend a midnight wee a groundfloor room is a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightningman670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked one of the suites next door. Great beds, very clean, GREAT shower & bath. Breakfast delivered to us at the time we requested, let us leave our car there on the day we left. The manager was interested in how we had enjoyed our stay - makes a pleasant change.
Would definitely recommend & will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biff61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A two night stay in a superior room. For a hotel of this rating I was expecting something fairly ordinary. I was however, very pleased to find a lovely room, decorated well with a good quality bed and furniture. The pint of fresh milk in the fridge and the daily bottle of water, with no additional charge, was very welcomed. The service throughout our stay was excellent, the staff were attentive and despite the very wet weather they smiled throughout. Arriving fairly late on a Friday evening we were offered a varied restaurant menu and food cooked to a very high standard; breakfast was very much the same. A lovely location, easy to find and a five minute walk to the village or into the forest...

Room Tip: Book through the hotel and discuss room options
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShadyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing