We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with our boisterous 1 year old Old English Sheepdog, we were made to feel extremely welcome, the room was very clean, well appointed and even a good picture on the television. The hotel is very dog friendly, (they supply additional sheets to cover the beds etc, towels, water and dog biscuits in the entrance) so we were able to relax and not worry about having the dog with us. Breakfast is very good fresh and plentiful. We will be back

Room Tip: Some rooms are on 3rd floor and no lift so check when booking if you have problems with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 481 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a really lovely stay in this hotel. Room was very spacious and comfortable, en-suite with a bath and overhead shower. Had to order our meal by 6pm and book our dining time, good choice of menu and the food was delicious. Very good wine list, reasonably priced. Breakfast was another delight, freshly squeezed orange juice as well as lots of local produce. Altogether an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiewEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our third stay at Ormonde House and once again I have no complaints. The hotel is situated on the edge of Lyndhurst in the middle of the new Forest and is the perfect base for exploring the area. We had our dog with us and the Forest itself starts opposite the hotel, perfect for a morning walk. The staff were excellent, the room was clean and well equiped and the breakfast was very good. This is a very pleaseant, quiet, relaxing hotel. We stayed in room 17 which is on the top floor, but has the advantage of being very quiet, which is what we wanted. I would recommend this hotel and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ormonde in one of the suites. The room was clean and tidy and spacious. the breakfast brought to your room was novel and very nice. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Great central location for exploring the New Forest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed on a mid-week break and this was our first holiday with our little boy. We stayed in one of the garden suites which was a little dated to what I was expecting. The staff however were very accomodating for us as we opted to have dinner in our room as we thought it would be easier with a little one. The food was lovely especially dinner and there was also a good choice of childrens meals.

Room Tip: Pleasant accomodation but in need of updating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights recently. Our room was a good size but décor a little dated, however the en suite shower room was very modern. We did hear noise from the road especially in the early mornings. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. We also had dinner at the hotel and found it a little odd, having to pre order our food earlier in the day. I'm not sure I know what I might want to eat later in the evening. We were also asked to choose a time either 6.00pm, 6.30pm, 7.00pm etc.( Not come across this arrangement before when staying in hotels) The food at dinner was not as good as the breakfast. Staff were very helpful. Overall I think the hotel could do with some updating/decorating. Not sure if the cost was justified.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hopemwnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having moved on from a disappointing stay at The Bell Inn at Brook, we were pleased to have found this lovely little hotel. It's not 5-star luxury, but it's exactly what you would expect of a nice country hotel and is expertly run by competent, friendly staff. We stayed 2 nights in room 10 which is one of several rooms up in the roof. It overlooks the front garden and the road, so there's a bit of traffic noise, but not too excessive as it's set well back. The room itself was spacious and more than adequate for our needs; not luxurious but just what you would expect of a country hotel. The hotel location is excellent, being close enough to Lyndhurst for a pleasant stroll into town. We didn't have dinner in the hotel, as we wanted to walk out and try the local restaurants. The breakfast was first class with a good choice of food, individually prepared rather than a buffet. A nice touch on the menu is the message in red suggesting that you ask for an extra portion if you're hungry. The staff are probably the friendliest I've encountered in any hotel for many years. Nothing was too much trouble and their jovial personalities added to our experience. I hope to visit again at some point.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
841 reviews
6.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $78 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing