We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten Free dog friendly Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Gluten Free dog friendly Hotel.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had not originally planned to stay here but due to the arrival of a dog had to look for a dog friendly hotel and decided on this one. Have to say I am very glad we did.

The hotel is situated within 5 minutes easy walk into the centre of Lyndhurst and is set back off the main road enough for the noise of the road not to be a problem. It has plenty of free parking at the front of the hotel. The hotel is very dog friendly providing dog biscuits, water by the front door. Dogs are allowed in the bar and rooms and you are provided with extra sheets to put on the bed and chairs to stop the dog hairs getting over them.

Talking of the room, it was of good size (stopped in room 20 at the back of the hotel) with a comfy bed and pillows and a newly done bathroom. My only very small comment is that the room feels a little dated and could perhaps so with a refurb but thats a very small thing. Another small point was that the UHT milk in the room was to be off but when I reported this the milk was quickly changed although the second lot was also as bad so ended up buying a pint of milk for the coffee.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with good service at breakfast and dinner. The breakfast is very nice and well cooked and presented and locally sourced. They can provide gluten free toast in the morning (perhaps would of been nice to have the option of a GF sausage). We also stopped for an evening meal on one night and this was very nice as well. As the meals are cooked to order you are asked to book before but this was not a problem. Again the food can be tailored for those wanting a GF option. Two courses were £16.50 which seemed a good price.

Overall I was very happy with the hotel for the area the £80 per night B&B was good value and would happily stop again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianhrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    151
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
310
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just stayed a couple of nights here. Clearly dog-friendly as water & dog treats available in the entrance! Our room was up two steep flights of steps - not a problem for any of us, large & comfortable. Open space just across the road - with ponies, cows, donkeys & idyllic cricket pitch - perfect for long & short walks. A 5 minute stroll into the village. Great location. Super breakfast choice & quality too - fab duck eggs!! Thank you.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

after visiting Lyndhurst for a last minute meal and few drinks we decided to find accommodation,even though we only live in hythe! cheeky! tried so many b+bs and guest houses and hotels but these guys come up trumps. had stayed here a few years ago also,really lovely helpful lady on reception. smashing room,so clean. bed very comfy. unfortunately didn't stay for breakfast this time but enjoyed it years ago,top marks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlands, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We only had 1 night here but it was great anyhow. Plenty of parking off the main street leading through the New Forest, with a lovely conservatory where you can sit and read all the daily papers. Check in was efficient and fast and we were sent upstairs to room number 2. Lovely big bed, quiet at night and well decorated. Dinner can be eaten at hotel, orders must be in before a certain time, but we chose to eat out at La Pergola just down the road, which was very good. Bathroom had a super shower and was very clean. Following morning had superb full english breakfast which was served with a smile. Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Childa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is on the forest so you walk out of the front door and you are there. It is just as well because after a hearty breakfast or dinner you need to walk it off. The hotel is traditional not modern but the staff are friendly the beds comfortable and the food excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingSussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the may bank hols. There is nothing bad one can say about ormonde house hotel - it is spotlessly clean, beds are very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious and very filling. The service provided by all staff was great - and the location is perfect as a base. It's a very quick walk into town where they are lots of shops, places to eat. A perfect break - helped by the great weather!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crispslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Me and my partner stayed there over the May Bank holiday weekend where I celebrated my Birthday and also attended a friends Wedding.

We stayed in Pine 4 and could not fault the room! was lovely, lots of space, storage, clean and loved having the added conservatory area where we had breakfast delivered to us on all 3 morning. Best Breakfast ever had at a Hotel, great local products and was really tasty.

All staff were a great help and made you feel really welcome. Will be booking another stay at this hotel in the future! 10/10

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Property: Ormonde House Hotel
Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing