We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ormonde House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here with some friends a couple of nights ago, and what a great place. Two of us are wheelchair users and the staff were very helpful and ensured that our rooms were suitable and met all our needs. The rooms were clean and very well presented with very nice tea and coffee facilities. However the real gem about this place is the food. I can only describe it as 'Amazing'. I had the king prawns in white wine with garlic and spring onion and every mouthful was heaven!! We all ate different dishes and all were equally excellent. The bar and lounge area were very pleasant and free newspapers were provided in the bar area. If you're staying in Lyndhurst, do yourself a favour and don't miss this hotel, it's lovely!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoggyFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 481 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a 2 night stay here as my partner was taking part in a cycle ride. The hotel was warm and friendly. Was the room in need of some modernising, yes, but that did not mean it was was not clean and have a good standard of facilities. Shower and bath, comfortable bed, television, fridge etc.An early breakfast was provided for my partner, something other places had promised, but never delivered!
I would stay here again, particularly in this room. Thank you Ormonde!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsWMch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a lovely 2 night break at the Ormonde House Hotel.Excellent food,excellent staff and perfect accommodation.Overall a relaxing break especially as there was a whirlpool bath in our room,which was modern and luxurious.The food was just delicious and so much to choose from.Will look forward to returning. Many thanks from the guests who stayed in room 12 on 28-30 Sept 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dliow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night break with out 10 month old dog. It was her first trip away and we chose the hotel for location and as it seemed dog friendly which is most definately was. We booked the Pinewood 4 apartment which was perfect as we had our own conservatory and it was straight out onto a garden. Breakfast was ordered the night before and delivered to our room which again was great with the dog and it was of a really good standard. I would definitely book again, in fact we were so impressed we tried to book an additional night but they were full which says a lot for a hotel. All in all very friendly and helpful staff, great location and perfect for what we needed. No it's not a posh hotel but it doesn't pretend to be but it does give you everything you need and does it very well we found. We will be repeat guests.

Room Tip: The pinewood apartments all have their own entrance and are great if you are taking your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murphy001965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have now stayed at Ormonde House 4 times over a number of years and have not yet been disappointed with the high level of service and the quality of food provided. It is also excellent value with a range of accommodation including some with whirlpool baths. Our recent visit was with a small walking group, in the heart of the New Forest it was an ideal location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The location of Ormonde House Hotel is excellent for those who want heather heathland and forest grazing on their doorstep; just cross the road and there it is! Ideal for morning or late-evening walks, with New Forest ponies and cattle plus occasional deer. Parts of the hotel are looking a bit jaded, but some rooms have been modernised really well. I especially like the en-suite bathroom which had an illuminated mist-free mirror and a really good towel-warmer. Sadly, our bedroom was at the rear of hotel, just above the noisy, smelly kitchen extractor fans.On the positive side, the breakfasts in the hotel are great, and a wide choice is available. Other than breakfasts, my experience of the hotel's food was quite limited, and I chose only to have dinner there on the day of my arrival; however, the hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants, which suited me and my wife's diverse palate.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nottsnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormonde9, Owner at Ormonde House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your review which has highlighted our two areas of concern.

1. We are conscience that there is a hum from the main extractor but from now on this will be turned off at 9.30 pm and not switched back on till 9am.

2.With regards to the smell of cooking we will be installing a small air con unit so that the double glazed windows can stay closed in the summer months.

3. The room in question is Room 2.

As for looking a little tired, well I am pleased to say we are two thirds through our refurbishments and all will be complete by Easter " fingers crossed "

We have had some rave reviews about our new rooms and we look forward to their completion.

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we have now stayed here several time and stayed in the Pinewood suites nearby.Excellent accommodation especially with dogs. Breakfast uniquely delivered to your suite following preorder night before,
Staff friendly and accommodation clean and comfortable.
Meals in restaurant give wide choice and generally very good and good value. Restaurant lacks a bit of atmosphere but ok.
Will continue to look forward to staying there many times in the future...very convenient for New Forest.. across road and only short walk into lovely town . Many good eating places in Lyndhurst

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
841 reviews
6.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House Hotel

Address: Ormonde House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $77 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormonde House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ormonde House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormonde Hotel Lyndhurst
Ormonde House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing