We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must try The Rufus!”
Review of Rufus House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rufus House
Ranked #6 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just back from a weekend staying at Rufus House and highly pleased with all aspects, a very clean tidy room, good breakfast and very welcoming owners and staff, helpful and accommodating. Has to be the best value in the New Forest. Also a perfect position a short walk into the village for restaurants and tea rooms (Try Indulgence!!) and the start of a good walk, opposite the front door, you simply couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 396 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at Rufus House for one night and found the hosts welcoming, warm and very friendly, the room clean and well-equipped and the breakfast was excellent. All in all this is a lovely place to stay with great access to the New Forest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdjkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband & I treated ourselves to 3 days exploring the New Forest this November, staying in this comfortable guest house. The owners were helpful & welcoming. Our ensuite room was clean & comfortable & quiet. The house is nicely situated just across the road from the forest landscape. Breakfasts were great. Rufus, we learnt, was the name of King William (Rufus) II, son of William the Conqueror. I would definitely recommend this B&B for a couple looking for somewhere quiet & within easy walking distance for the attractive small town of Lyndhurst in the New Forest, with its restaurants, pubs & shops, & easy driving distance for major sites in the New Forest. The coast & Lymmington, only an easy 7mile drive is well worth a visit, & Beaulieu Motor Museum the same.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the house overlooking the back garden & was nice & quiet. As th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugarsmith2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

room clean and warm but lacked power shower, Ask for a room at the back if you need to open the widow because of the traffic noise, overlooks busy road. Afraid we were a bit disappointed didnt live up to expectations.

Room Tip: if you need window open need room at back of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thompsy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

just come back from the Rufus House b&b in the new forest and would like to say how nice the place was we had room 1 it was a very clean room plenty of room we had the 4 poster bed very comfortable and the room was warm , also the breakfast was very good and plenty of it ,and a nice welcome on arrival from Ernesto and on leaving Etsuko gave us a lovely jar of pear jam
so thank you Ernesto & Etsuko from Mr E.Ward Hampshire uk

Room Tip: all rooms looked good we were in room 1 with 4poster bed and a lovely 2 seater setee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from a couple of nights stay at the Rufus House. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to go back. I especially appreciated the warm and friendly welcome. Our room was spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean. The cooked breakfast was prepared with fresh local produce and was absolutely delicious. The location was very handy. We could walk to a number of restaurants and the bike hire shop was close-by so we didn't need the car for anything while we were there.

Room Tip: For an extra peaceful sleep, perhaps it's worth asking for a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sogol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights very recently and was very impressed, both with the room and the warm welcome we received. The location is great, only a very short walk from the centre of Lyndhurst. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.1 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stag Hotel
Stag Hotel
#9 of 22 in Lyndhurst
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufus House

Address: Rufus House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $90 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufus House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With acres of exceptional woodland and open heaths as our front garden, Rufus House is the perfect location to explore the New Forest and surrounding areas of natural beauty all year around. Enjoy a relaxing break in peaceful surroundings overlooking views of the forest, ponies, cattle, donkeys. A grand Victorian house ideally located in the cent re of the New Forest. Many good restaurants and pubs are all walking distance from Rufus House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rufus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufus House Hotel Lyndhurst
Rufus House Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing