We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely peaceful B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rufus House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rufus House
Ranked #4 of 23 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely peaceful B&B”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We changed our plans are the last minute but the host was extremely accommodating. Throughout our stay, in fact, the host was brilliant; very kind and discreet, non-intrusive but willing to recommend local spots and walks. The room was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was varied and generous. Parking no issue. Best thing was the quilt - amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    78
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
254
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Rufus House. Ernesto and Etsuko were warm and friendly hosts, and made are stay an absolute pleasure.

We found the room was very clean and well presented, and the bed was very comfortable which was very important due to my wife has a bad back after a car accident some years ago.
We both had a good and full nights sleep, with the peaceful surroundings of beautiful Lyndhurst.

We also found that breakfast was exceptional, and a good start to a long day until lunch.

Thanks Ernesto and Etsuko, you are wonderful hosts and made our stay a home from home.

What more could you ask for!!! we will see you again that I'm sure of.

Room Tip: Our room was to the rear of Rufus House, overlooking a well tended garden. You may even get to feed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this excellent B&B, hosts couldn't do enough for us, room was at the front - more suite sized than normal hotel room size! Spotless, nice bright decor, great choice for breakfast, lots of local produce. Lots of good local restaurants to choose from and within easy walking distance. Unless you are the lightest of sleepers, comments about traffic noise seem a bit harsh.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jh43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a great time. The Rufus house was very nice clean and tidy. Breakfast was fantastic, room excellent. Lovely Hosts. Just a short walk to lyndhurst village where there are great resturants.. Forest just across the road with some lovely walks
This place wont be beaten!!! Returning very soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked this B&B on the recommendation of our daughter and were not disappointed. Our room was bright, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The owner Ernesto could not have been more friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The choice, quality of food and the cooking was of a very high standard. This is not an average B&B but a little up-market. It nevertheless represents real value for money. When we next go to the New Forest this is where we would stay.

Room Tip: We were happy to be placed in a room at the rear of the property as it was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here mid week, greeted by very friendly staff. Room was very spacious and clean and had good views across to the new forest.
Italian just down the road is well worth a visit too.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walks28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Rufus house. This time we stayed with our two children who had a great time running around the open spaces of the new Forrest. As usual we were greeted by the two very friendly owners for whom nothing is to much trouble.Our children were mad to feel at home straight away. Breakfasts in the morning were as usual fantastic with as much fruit cereal and fruit juice as you wanted then on to the full English breakfasts cooked to perfection. Our children could order as much as they wanted from a full breakfast to beans on toast.Thank you to all the staff at Rufus house for making our stay so nice

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulp3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Rabbit
The White Rabbit
#7 of 8 in Lyndhurst
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufus House

Property: Rufus House
Address: Rufus House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufus House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With acres of exceptional woodland and open heaths as our front garden, Rufus House is the perfect location to explore the New Forest and surrounding areas of natural beauty all year around. Enjoy a relaxing break in peaceful surroundings overlooking views of the forest, ponies, cattle, donkeys. A grand Victorian house ideally located in the cent re of the New Forest. Many good restaurants and pubs are all walking distance from Rufus House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rufus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufus House Hotel Lyndhurst
Rufus House Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing