We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm friendly welcome in a comfortable Hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Rufus House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rufus House
Ranked #6 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Rufus Hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the New Forest. We started each day with an excellent breakfast. Our room overlooked the garden providing peaceful and restful base. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and we would certainly not hesitate returning again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeRoy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 395 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have just spent 6 nights at Rufus House and could not have been made more welcome. Our hosts were very charming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Rufus House is in the heart of of the New Forest and all local amenities within walking distance of the town of Lyndhurst. Rufus House has pleasant gardens with a pond full of Koi Carp, excellent place to sit and read.We will definately be re-booking for another stay.
Jeff and Sheila H.

Room Tip: Ground floors are spacious. Higher floors will have less noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Visting New Forest for a 2 day cycle ride arrived by car (ample parking ). Placed cycles in locked sheds within the B&B grounds. Located in lovely area just outside Lyndhurst but only 10 min walk to town centre. Room was very clean , beds comfortable and nice shower. The owner is very friendly and helpful , he booked a local pub/ diner for me and my guest and gave us pointers on good routes in and around New Forest. He even let us use his water facilities to clean our bike which was nice. Breakfast was great and so was the service. Would visit again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kzaoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Rufus House while exploring the New Forest.

The B&B is a bery nice looking venue, clean, with spacious rooms.

The proprietors are really friendly and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible, including arranging restaurant bookings for dinner while we were out enjoying the region.

Breakfast was excellent and served in a light and friendly dining room. Try the home made pear jam.

If you are looking for a great little place to stay in the area this would be my first choice.



  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very friendly owners who get to know their guests very quickly. Clean and comfortable accommodation and excellent eggs for breakfast. What more could you want? You are right in the heart of the New Forst with lots of local amenities close by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Spent the bank holiday weekend in Rufus House. Booked a deluxe room, which turned out to be on the ground floor at the front of the property. This was really noisy from the road, front door and proximity to the breakfast room. The bed felt small for a double and the ensuite had carpet on the floor. The TV was very small and had a really bad signal, so offered no real choice in programmes to watch. On the plus side, the owners were really friendly and breakfast was tasty. My husband and I felt the room was over-priced given its quality, and over-stated as a deluxe

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manta-Manta-Diving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

we stayed here to get a nice weekend away from London life and it was all we hoped for, and more.
our hosts gave us all the information we wanted, the breakfast is really nice and your are served with attention but perfectly at ease.
we had a nice chat with Ernesto (initiated by us), after breakfast one morning and the phrase 'if there is anything we can do, we will' really came across from that conversation.
lovely genuine people.
we arrived late friday evening after being held back by traffic on the M25 and got a lovely welcome.
we were told about the restaurants down the road and had a lovely meal, then it was back to our room to relax.
so peaceful.......!!
our room had a garden view,
you can see the pond with the fish in, some quite large and clearly visible from our 2nd floor room.
tea/coffee/electric kettle laid out in room, lovely touch.
shower/wc nice.
room carpet looked new.
tv screensize not the biggest, but not a problem.
clean comfy sheets, extra in the cupboard......... didnt need to use them though.
bedside cabinets, lamps, basically all you need to have to make your stay a pleasant one is laid on.
as we were determined to take in the sight of the wild horses in the New Forest, we were ready to take the drive round to a veiwing point, which we mentioned, and were asked why did we not want to just cross the road directly opposite Rufus House and see them from there.....
we had No idea................! and huge thanks to Ernesto for informing us, we stayed there a few hours and were amazed with the sight of horses and foal of differing size and colours.
also some cows and calves,
totally worth it.
did i mention the horses even actually approached us once we went a little into the forest and sat on the park benches there for an hour or so, actually right up to the bench we were on.
i'll try to upload a pic of the horse near out bench so you get more of a feel of it,
it is a lovely experience....... and all because we were given the information that we could just cross the road from Rufus House...!!
we will definately be back to Rufus House to spend more time being hosted by them.
well done and thanks,
Brian and Kunbi JONES
lady in red is my wife, so yes..................... like i said, the horse was so friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonesfamily54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.1 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reepham House
Reepham House
#7 of 22 in Lyndhurst
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rufus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufus House

Address: Rufus House Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $91 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufus House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With acres of exceptional woodland and open heaths as our front garden, Rufus House is the perfect location to explore the New Forest and surrounding areas of natural beauty all year around. Enjoy a relaxing break in peaceful surroundings overlooking views of the forest, ponies, cattle, donkeys. A grand Victorian house ideally located in the cent re of the New Forest. Many good restaurants and pubs are all walking distance from Rufus House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rufus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufus House Hotel Lyndhurst
Rufus House Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing