We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and welcoming hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acorns of Lyndhurst
Ranked #9 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We only stayed at Acorns for one night, but what a very comfortable and pleasant stay it was! The room was clean and comfortable and the large shower was a real treat. The breakfast was excellent and Mel was a mine of information about where to eat in the evening. The location of Acorns is perfect; in a quiet spot but only a couple of minutes walk to the centre of town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmchenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for kind review it was a pleasure for us especially having such a special visitor - Charlie :) We hope that you had a good time at Goodwood too, you certainly had good weather for it and lightening. We would love to see you all again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely big room with huge en suite. A wide variety of cooked breakfasts plus cereals, fruit and yoghurts as well. TV in room, free wi-fi and complimentary tea and coffee as much as you can manage all day. Quiet location, we slept like babies all 3 nights, and only 5 minutes from the High Street which had all the amenities you would need, pubs, restaurants, good transport links. The owners were charming, friendly and very helpful, they provided us with maps and leaflets of the area and nothing was too much trouble if we needed advice on anything, eg bike hire, places to visit, where to eat etc. We had a great 3 days in the New Forest. We hope to stay here again when we next head to the New Forest for the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay & we would love to see you come back again for another visit sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Spacious room with spacious en suite. Choice of cooked breakfasts plus yogurt and cereals as well. Use of breakfast room during the day. Fridge available for guests. TV in room, free wi-fi and complimentary tea and coffee. Quiet location yet only 5 minutes from the High Street. The owners, Mel and Fred were charming, friendly and very helpful. We had a very comfortable and relaxed 3 days. We hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Allium room has a double shower and bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefx666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for a lovely review, it was a pleasure having you here. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you both back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you want the personal touch and to feel someone is genuinely going out of there way to help then look no further. Came across this place by chance when booking a last minute long weekend break to the New Forest a couple of weeks ago. Luckily they had vacancy on a busy weekend in the New Forest.

Very clean rooms, lots of tea and coffee, huge bathroom in the room that we stayed in, as mentioned in other reviews you have to see it to believe it. Mel and her husband were very helpful in guiding us through things we could do as on the second day the weather was not on our side!

Great Breakfast too!

Would thoroughly recommend this place for anyone who is going to the New Forest this summer!

Room Tip: The Allium room (there are only two so the one with the big bathroom) is the one you want to pick if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review, it's always great to get some feedback. We do always try to make your stay here memorable & enjoyable and hopefully we acheived that.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I'm just home after a few days staying at Acorns and it is the most welcoming B&B I've stayed in. A large room with a spacious bathroom is always nice. Super breakfast food and the wealth of local knowledge was so helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 585Janet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thanks for your kind words Janet, it was a pleasure having you here. The photo's that you took during your stay that you have put on flicker are really good, I enjoyed looking at them. I hope your cat wasn't too upset with you when you got back - I'm sure you were missed!
We look forward to seeing you again, possibly whilst the tour bus is running??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The price you pay worth it, high quality standard room nice deep bath and a very nice spacious shower you need to see it for yourself it's lovely.Mel go an extra mile to make sure you feel at home on your stay lovely B&B we've ever been to.From Mr & Mrs Stimpson in Oxford

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosipo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay & hopefully we will see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We happened on to this B & B quite by chance but were absolutely delighted by the very welcoming house, the fabulous hosts Mel and Fred and their beautiful two young daughters, the lovely comfortable bed and the scrumptious breakfast but the most gob-smacking thing of all was the man sized power shower big enough for two. Top marks and can't fault it in any way. We will be back!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms at present with expansion plans for the future but the room we stayed in ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EScalpello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review, we are so glad that you liked us and especially the extra large shower cubicle. We are looking forward to you bringing your family next time, hopefully the shower will convince them :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Whitemoor House B&B
Whitemoor House B&B
#3 of 22 in Lyndhurst
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns of Lyndhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns of Lyndhurst

Address: 6 Shrubbs Hill Gardens, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range: $97 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorns of Lyndhurst is a friendly, family run B&B tucked away in a quiet, leafy gravel track, and still ideally situated for all the amenities that Lyndhurst has to offer. With our central location we are only a few minutes walk in any direction from open heath & forest, and even closer to the High Street. So whether you are looking for a relaxing break to explore the New Forest or here on business you are sure of a warm welcome and a comfortable stay. Watch our video on YouTube: Acorns of Lyndhurst - probably the best B&B in Lyndhurst, New Forest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Acorns of Lyndhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Of Lyndhurst New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing