We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely restful break in the gorgeous New Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acorns of Lyndhurst
Ranked #9 of 22 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely restful break in the gorgeous New Forest”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We happened on to this B & B quite by chance but were absolutely delighted by the very welcoming house, the fabulous hosts Mel and Fred and their beautiful two young daughters, the lovely comfortable bed and the scrumptious breakfast but the most gob-smacking thing of all was the man sized power shower big enough for two. Top marks and can't fault it in any way. We will be back!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms at present with expansion plans for the future but the room we stayed in ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EScalpello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review, we are so glad that you liked us and especially the extra large shower cubicle. We are looking forward to you bringing your family next time, hopefully the shower will convince them :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
49
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had three lovely nights over the bank holiday weekend. We stayed at Acorns before so we knew the stay was guaranteed to have a relaxing time in a comfortable, clean and very well served accommodation. The cooked breakfast is fresh and tasty and can be tailored to the individuals requirements. The guest house is run by the family and they look after their guests very well so you feel at home. The guest house has a shortcut of five minutes to the high street. Very well recommended to anyone who wants to enjoy a lovely time in Lyndhurst!

Room Tip: Registered with the tourist office
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Analia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you Analia for your review, it was lovely to see you both again and to welcome you to the new Acorns of Lyndhurst, I hope it was as good as the old place for you. Thanks for finding us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Acorns for 2 nights. Our room was comfortable, breakfast was great and Mel and Fred couldn't have been more welcoming. Location is great for town centre. Parking is easy. We will come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieB410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for your kind review and we are glad that you both ejoyed your stay again & I hope that your friends did too. It was lovely to see you both again and we look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Received a very warm welcome on arrival. Stayed 2 nights in the Allium room which was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Facilities were in private bathroom of very good size with both bathtub & separate shower cubicle, again all very clean. The breakfasts were lovely, cooked to order and at a time of my choosing, as I needed an early start during my stay. Located in a quiet side road, it is very close to local pubs & restaurants but without traffic or other noise disturbing sleep. The owners Mel & Fred extended every hospitality during my short stay making me feel very welcome. All in all a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks Martin for your glowing review, it's really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the New Forest even in difficult conditions, and staying with us, it was a pleasure. We very much look forward to seeing you and your family a bit later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Not the easiest place to find (thanks to Lyndhurst's one-way system), but worth it. And good value.
A friendly welcome to a family home offering just 2 visitor bedrooms.
My first night wasn't the best, as bed made up as a single with an escaping duvet. But that all changed for the next couple of nights (thank you). The en suite bathroom was great, with lovely shower and separate roll top bath.
Breakfast offerings were far more than I needed. Kindly served when I wanted (a little earlier than most tourists, as I had work to go to).
Kindly offered (and made use of) the dining room to have my own food an evening rather than eat out every night.
Would I change anything? A rain-free evening would have allowed me to explore the New Forest. And an upgrade on the duvet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterQS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your review Peter and once again I appologise for the single duvet. The least we could do was to change the bed to our superking with quilt to match, which hopefully overcame the problem. I wish we could have organised some nice weather for you during your stay but it does leave you with a reason to come back to the New Forest and hopefully to stay with us again. It was a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

After reading reviews on here we decided on an impromptu night here. This is a real home from home. The owner greeting us as we parked and offered to help carry our bags. She showed us the dining facilities, offered us the use of the dining room for take out food and also offered fresh fruit and milk. The room was comfortable and very clean. The owner is really helpful and knowledgeable about local places.
Breakfast was well cooked, fried egg, 2 bacon, 1 sausages, mushrooms, beans, choice of toast, beans, cereals, yoghurt, apple juice, orange juice and fruit. A great find and I shall return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thanks for a such a nice review, it's great to know that you have really enjoyed your stay at Acorns. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just completed a cycling weekend in the New Forest (March 2013) and we were fortunate to stay at this superb B & B. The owners made us feel extremely welcome and they were very helpful when it came to deciding which parts of the forest were worth a visit. The B & B was clean and tidy and we had a good size en-suit room with a good size bath and shower cubicle. Breakfasts were excellent and above all the house was kept nice and warm – the owners weren’t afraid to turn the heating up when needed. We were also provided with lockable storage for our bikes.
This is a great location for a cycling holiday in the New Forest. There are plenty of good on-road and off-road trails within easy reach of the B & B. The Acorns B & B is thoroughly recommended and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review, we are just glad that you managed to enjoy your stay even though it was so cold. Maybe next time the weather will kinder to you! It was an absolute pleasure and we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,045 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Rabbit
The White Rabbit
#6 of 8 in Lyndhurst
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reepham House
Reepham House
#6 of 22 in Lyndhurst
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns of Lyndhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns of Lyndhurst

Property: Acorns of Lyndhurst
Address: 6 Shrubbs Hill Gardens, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorns of Lyndhurst is a friendly, family run B&B tucked away in a quiet, leafy gravel track, and still ideally situated for all the amenities that Lyndhurst has to offer. With our central location we are only a few minutes walk in any direction from open heath & forest, and even closer to the High Street. So whether you are looking for a relaxing break to explore the New Forest or here on business you are sure of a warm welcome and a comfortable stay. Watch our video on YouTube: Acorns of Lyndhurst - probably the best B&B in Lyndhurst, New Forest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Acorns of Lyndhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Of Lyndhurst New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing