We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorns of Lyndhurst
Ranked #8 of 23 Lyndhurst B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Acorns for 2 nights. Our room was comfortable, breakfast was great and Mel and Fred couldn't have been more welcoming. Location is great for town centre. Parking is easy. We will come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieB410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for your kind review and we are glad that you both ejoyed your stay again & I hope that your friends did too. It was lovely to see you both again and we look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
48
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Received a very warm welcome on arrival. Stayed 2 nights in the Allium room which was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Facilities were in private bathroom of very good size with both bathtub & separate shower cubicle, again all very clean. The breakfasts were lovely, cooked to order and at a time of my choosing, as I needed an early start during my stay. Located in a quiet side road, it is very close to local pubs & restaurants but without traffic or other noise disturbing sleep. The owners Mel & Fred extended every hospitality during my short stay making me feel very welcome. All in all a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks Martin for your glowing review, it's really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the New Forest even in difficult conditions, and staying with us, it was a pleasure. We very much look forward to seeing you and your family a bit later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Not the easiest place to find (thanks to Lyndhurst's one-way system), but worth it. And good value.
A friendly welcome to a family home offering just 2 visitor bedrooms.
My first night wasn't the best, as bed made up as a single with an escaping duvet. But that all changed for the next couple of nights (thank you). The en suite bathroom was great, with lovely shower and separate roll top bath.
Breakfast offerings were far more than I needed. Kindly served when I wanted (a little earlier than most tourists, as I had work to go to).
Kindly offered (and made use of) the dining room to have my own food an evening rather than eat out every night.
Would I change anything? A rain-free evening would have allowed me to explore the New Forest. And an upgrade on the duvet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterQS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your review Peter and once again I appologise for the single duvet. The least we could do was to change the bed to our superking with quilt to match, which hopefully overcame the problem. I wish we could have organised some nice weather for you during your stay but it does leave you with a reason to come back to the New Forest and hopefully to stay with us again. It was a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

After reading reviews on here we decided on an impromptu night here. This is a real home from home. The owner greeting us as we parked and offered to help carry our bags. She showed us the dining facilities, offered us the use of the dining room for take out food and also offered fresh fruit and milk. The room was comfortable and very clean. The owner is really helpful and knowledgeable about local places.
Breakfast was well cooked, fried egg, 2 bacon, 1 sausages, mushrooms, beans, choice of toast, beans, cereals, yoghurt, apple juice, orange juice and fruit. A great find and I shall return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thanks for a such a nice review, it's great to know that you have really enjoyed your stay at Acorns. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just completed a cycling weekend in the New Forest (March 2013) and we were fortunate to stay at this superb B & B. The owners made us feel extremely welcome and they were very helpful when it came to deciding which parts of the forest were worth a visit. The B & B was clean and tidy and we had a good size en-suit room with a good size bath and shower cubicle. Breakfasts were excellent and above all the house was kept nice and warm – the owners weren’t afraid to turn the heating up when needed. We were also provided with lockable storage for our bikes.
This is a great location for a cycling holiday in the New Forest. There are plenty of good on-road and off-road trails within easy reach of the B & B. The Acorns B & B is thoroughly recommended and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review, we are just glad that you managed to enjoy your stay even though it was so cold. Maybe next time the weather will kinder to you! It was an absolute pleasure and we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Acorns. Mel and Fred could not have looked after us better. The Teal room was comfortable and stylish. Lots of local information available and excellent veggie option for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morris-Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

After searching for somewhere to stay and explore some of the wonderful experiences of Gt. Britain, came across this amazing B&B in Lyndhurst.This was everything I could have asked for. I can't praise Acorns enough for the wonderful time that I spent there. An awesome family with so much passion for what they do. They go above and beyond to make their guests feel comfortable and relaxed. They offer so much information about things to do and places to see, which was wonderful when you only have so much time to take in this wonderful countryside. You are greeted with such friendliness, nothing is too much trouble for these guys!! One of the things I am going to miss most is the wonderful English breakfast......oh the bacon.....you just want more and more!! Excellant choice of breakfast and Mel and Fred are so willing to do any special requests. Beautiful rooms are so comfortable and very clean, with everything you could need. Very good value for such an outstanding B&B. This is a place where I want to take all my friends back home in the USA to.....I want them all to have that awesome experience that Acorns of Lyndhurst gives you. I will certainly be recommending this to all in the USA, what a great experience of British hospitality, and beautiful country. Thanks for the great memories Mel and Fred. Hoping to return to see you in the future!!

Chris W.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie B, Owner at Acorns of Lyndhurst, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it means so much to us to know that you have enjoyed your stay. I know that the bacon in the States is not a patch on ours and maybe one day you will be able to come back for another visit and another breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
0.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penny Farthing Hotel
Penny Farthing Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns of Lyndhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns of Lyndhurst

Property: Acorns of Lyndhurst
Address: 6 Shrubbs Hill Gardens, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorns of Lyndhurst is a friendly, family run B&B tucked away in a quiet, leafy gravel track, and still ideally situated for all the amenities that Lyndhurst has to offer. With our central location we are only a few minutes walk in any direction from open heath & forest, and even closer to the High Street. So whether you are looking for a relaxing break to explore the New Forest or here on business you are sure of a warm welcome and a comfortable stay. Watch our video on YouTube: Acorns of Lyndhurst - probably the best B&B in Lyndhurst, New Forest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Acorns of Lyndhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Of Lyndhurst New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing