We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good warm scones, good range of teas and very pleasant surroundings”
Review of The Greenwood Tree

The Greenwood Tree
Ranked #2 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: It is in the New Forest
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good warm scones, good range of teas and very pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The staff were friendly, the food arrived quickly and the whole experience was very pleasant. We had fruit scones with cream and jam. There are so many cares to choose from in Lyndhurst that we had difficulty deciding which one to go in. This was one of the cheapest and easily met our expectations for a very good afternoon tea. I would recommend this cafe to anyone looking for afternoon tea in Lyndhurst.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    113
    36
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast! A credit to the village!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here for breakfast as we missed breakfast at the hotel we were staying at. When looking at the prices we were a but apprehensive with paying around £7 but we were hungry!
The breakfast was delicious, definitely worth the money!!! Portion sizes made the price worth paying :)
Pleasant place to eat, if in the area again will definitely return!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“mmmmmmmm, Lovely toastie!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Popped in here while passing through Lyndhurst.
My husband and I simply wanted a snack. He ordered crumpets with butter and jam. He said they were very good, home made, not like the shop bought stuff.
I ordered a cheese and onion toastie, which came with a salad garnish, it was appetising fresh and really delicious.
We had a pot of tea which was very good and strong, they didn't scrimp on the teabags which so many cafes do!!

I would have only one criticism, and that is that the young staff who served us were quiet and lacked a little personality. They did their job well, but coldly and without that personal touch.
Hence we did not leave a tip.
We enjoyed what we ate but the atmosphere could have been a little better.
Would definately go there again, perhaps we just caught them on a bad day.
Would love to try other things on the menu, which was varied and I'm sure it's all home made and appetising.
Has free wifi which worked very well.
Go try it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBBB090858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A lovely cafe offering wide range of food and drinks”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Have been here four times now and is always pretty busy which speaks volumes! It is bigger inside than you might think and is clean and welcoming. The range of food and drinks is very impressive, including many vegetarian and gluten free options which is good to see They seem to offer something for everyone so should cater for everyones requirements from breakfast through to tea although some of the specialities are only available at certain times which is very understandable. Can highly recommend and is certainly one of the better tearooms in Lyndhurst and has stood the test of time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great little cafe with good food options.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice cafe and good for a stop to recharge. Good selection of sandwiches and burgers. Good range of vegetarian and gluten free options too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillDanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenwood Tree also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Greenwood Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing