We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Mixed bag!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband booked this a a birthday treat for me. We love walking in the New Forest so this hotel was in a prime location. He could not get on of the larger luxury rooms, so a normal double had to suffice. 30 minutes before we set off from home (two hour drive ahead) we received a phone call saying there were problems in the kitchen starting on Friday so could not provide evening meal (part of the package), a list of restaurants in the town was emailed to us and a reservation made in our name. We had a lovely day shopping in Southampton then on to the hotel. No one at reception had to press a bell for attention, booked in by a gentleman who again reiterated the kitchen problems, but breakfast would not be a problem. The room was small as was the bed, but very clean and nicely decorated as was the bathroom. The room was very noisy being on the front facing the church with the A35 flowing passed below. However when double glazing closed this was not a problem. Went for drink in bar no one there had to press bell for attention!! We went to the local Italian and returned to a comfortable nights sleep. The breakfast was a poor buffet style apparently shipped in due to the kitchen problems. Checked out by very friendly and cheery lady called Lisa. Whilst I had a lovely week-end, the hotel was lovely there was not even the offer of a complimentary drink let alone bottle of wine because of the inconvenience and short notice of the change.......we were charged of course B&B rate........but a little extra customer service would have gone a long way............"just saying".

Room Tip: Might be an idea for a room at the back, busy traffic and church bells at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    417
    115
    34
    30
See reviews for
169
841
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked to stay for just one night as we were attending a wedding. Everything about hotel was so brilliant we wished that we were staying longer. It's clean, beautifully decorated and the customer service is five star. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night whilst visiting family nearby. Staff were very helpful and we were granted an early check in after an overnight flight. Our road facing room on the second floor was small but clean. The buffet breakfast was good. Noise from outside traffic and adjacent rooms was the only negative but this is typical for an older hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Myself and my wife decided to have a last minute night away in the New Forest and happened on the Crown Manor via a Google search. I have to admit it was the price that initially attracted us as it was a bargain compared to some of the other places we found. When we got there though we discovered that the price was an even better bargain than we at first thought. The welcome and service we received from the staff was second to none, they really couldn't do enough for us. The room was absolutely lovely with a great four poster, lots of room and a stunning bathroom. To top it all off the food was great both in the evening and for the buffet breakfast. I really couldn't fault anything about this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or for that matter recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank descarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I visited the Crown Manor Hotel for a birthday celebration weekend with a party of 22. The rooms and public areas all seemed to be newly decorated in a cosy but contemporary style. We all stayed for two nights with a delicious dinner for all of us in the restaurant on the Saturday night. Although the hotel was practically at capacity with a wedding also booked you would never have guessed it. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming even though we lingered until the early hours in the bar and they had to get ready for breakfast. The hotel and everyone in it helped make the weekend a perfect autumn celebration. I would definately recommend the Crown Manor to friends and I know some of our party are already planning to return. A lovely New Forest find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for just one night but will stay again. Only a short drive from Southampton so handy for shopping. Very nice room with a very comfy bed. The room was very clean and although the bathroom lacked a bath the power shower was excellent. The food was very good, my steak was cooked to perfection. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUSTYYYYYYYYYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

After a bit of a hiccup on the booking, I have to give to this hotel and their staff for turning a bad situation into a brilliant one. I booked this for my parent's and their dog as a well deserved gift and I have to say they were full of it when they returned home. Complimented the hotel on their welcoming on arrival, especially having a dog (you dont recieve that in many places - pet friendly or not!). The food was lovely, the ambiance of the hotel. They loved the freedom of being able to sit and relax with a drink with their dog in most of the hotel (apart from the restuarant - obviously! but they did have the choice to eat elsewhere in the hotel with the dog which was really nice). My parents dont get away much and when they do, its usually a caravan or chalet. I wanted to spoil them but without them having to leave the dog at home. They have always gone to the New Forest to enjoy the dog walking and it was so nice that they had a luxuary stay with everything they wanted. I really appreciate that the hotel made this a fabulous and luxuary stay for them as it was much needed. I dont think they were ready to come home !
Thanks again to all the staff at the hotel x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
350 reviews
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,042 reviews
3.1 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,603 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing