We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
UK, London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location, great stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night in a classic room (room 101) after visiting the Boat Show. The hotel is old but modernised in a very contemporary (farrow and ball) style. Location wise it's excellent , ample parking and check in was swift. Good, competent service throughout. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and enjoyed it. Felt like good value. The only downside was the size of our room. It was small (as was the bathroom) and whilst it was fine for one night, but I wouldn't have wanted to spend more time I think it would have felt claustrophobic. Lots of things right here and we had a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    423
    116
    34
    31
See reviews for
175
849
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed from Monday 9th Sept to Friday 13th Sept 2013. Specifically booked a Classic Double room as bed size specified on Booking.com as 151 to 180cm (5' to 6' wide). Got given room 104 with view of a roof and large extract duct from kitchen. Bed was only 135 cm (4'6" wide). asked to move to room with correct size of bed but told hotel was full so couldn't move. Over soft mattress and small size meant poor sleep and back ache each morning. Every time you turned over at night your arms hit the sharp corners of the bedside tables. On checkout receptionist refused to reduce room charge to Club double (the correct charge for the size of room and bed we actually had). Hotel manager refused to come and speak to us.
We were forced to pay original charge and told we would have to complain by filling in the questionnaire. We asked for an e-mail address to complain to but were given an invalid one. We were told it could be two weeks before anyone looked at the complaint and replied to us.
Ridiculous over £60 difference, why can't the hotel manager deal with this!
Some food and drink items at breakfast very inferior, watered down fruit juice, stewed bitter coffee, processed ham and cheese slices, thin sliced very cheap processed bread and bacon tasteless and on two occasions smelled "off"
Not commensurate with the prices charged.
Adverts for hotel do not make it clear that it is on a very busy main road with a large church opposite whose clock rings out the time loudly.

Room Tip: Have the hotel confirm in writing before your trip that they will offer you exactly what you have bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pritchardbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I Stayed for two nights in August 2013 . A lovely hotel with an old world charm about it. Staff were truly excellent. Dined in the hotel first night, food very good and reasonably priced.

Right on the edge of the New Forest makes it a perfect location for visiting the region.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Made an error in booking this hotel on line and on printing out the hotels confirmation email before setting out on our short break fishing trip discovered that we had booked for the previous evening. My wife was upset, as she had made the booking, and immediately phoned to explain the mistake and requested a room for that night. A room was available but the hotel insisted in charging the full amount for the previous nights booking. I accept that they were entitled to do this but found the approach of the reservation manager unkind and unsympathetic to my wife who was distressed by a genuine error. She was unable even to throw in a bottle of champagne as compensation if we stayed that night, indeed the telephone manner was such that we did not wish to stay there at all and stayed at the Master Builders House at Buckler Hard instead which was brilliant and rescued a very pleasant short break from a disastrous start. I would never consider booking at this hotel ever again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_F_W, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Andrew G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am sorry that an issue arose with your reservation at the hotel, due to the incorrect date being booked via our website by your wife.

I understand that it was yourself who contacted the hotel, and I appreciate that you may have felt dissapointed by the response received, however, as you state as the room was kept for you, a non-arrival charge would have been applicable.

As the hotel was extremely busy on the night you wished to stay, it was not possible to offer you the complimentary room that you requested, or to reduce the room rate and offer a bottle of champagne.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future, and as such please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can personally look after your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a great find in the New Forest and great value for a weekend away. We stayed during the bank holiday weekend and were extremely happy with the hospitality service inclusive of our dog. The room was a club double which advertised as being small with limited storage, but we were pleasantly surprised. The newly refurbished bathroom and shower facilities were also in excellent condition and were a great use of space and perfect for the one night that we stayed. Breakfast in the morning is a full English and the catering staff were kind enough to reserve breakfast for my boyfriend after the 1000 cutoff as he was working away that morning. We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant in which was of excellent quality and very reasonably priced. Towards the end of the evening the service was a little slow as the whole restaurant was full. They could do with an additional member of staff during the busy period, as I think this was one of the best dinner options in Lyndhurst. The hotel is in a great location to the town and very close to open fields to where you could walk your dog off leash.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked this as a last minute overnight stay to extend our trip to the New Forest and got a great deal via Laterooms.com.

Situated in the centre of the charming High Street, the hotel combines modern boutique style with old-world charm in a lovely old building opposite the church.

We had a room on the top floor amongst the rafters which had real character, without losing any of the modern luxuries or comfort you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel - just watch your head!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LucyP1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our Daughter booked us 2 nights here as a present, we knew exactly where it was as we have been to Lyndhurst many many times and know how busy it is, so we have no complaints on the traffic... You only have to walk 5 minutes down to the bottom end of the town ( which by the way has some lovely shops ) and you have fabulous walks on open ground with horses and cows roaming, its just beautiful. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, we had a very nice room at the back of the hotel which had obviously been recently decorated very modern and a beautiful modern bathroom. I love watching "4 rooms " on t.v. so of course i had to have a really good poke around looking for a smidge of dust or a stray hair ... I didnt find a thing, the room was absolutely spotless, and while in the lounge I couldnt help but study the beautiful chandeliers looking for a stray cobweb, but no, it was absolutely sparkling, the whole place was spotlessly clean, which very much impressed us. On arrival at the hotel we were handed a bag with doggy biscuits, we have never had that in any other dog friendly hotels that we have stayed in, and we had a choice of eating in the library ( nice large t.v. in there ) or the lounge where the dog was allowed too, which suited us very well. all in all a lovely clean hotel with great staff and we will be going there again .

Room Tip: room at the back if you dont like noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
833 reviews
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,061 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
797 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing