We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location to visit the new forest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location to visit the new forest”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked a 2 night break in a superior double room which was spacious but hardly " boutique " with the decor aimed at the elderly.
The bathroom was spacious and modern though.
The room overlooked the rear patio area which was very peaceful but the hotel is on the high st, which is a one way system and is very busy day and night, so it might be worth booking a room to the rear rather than the front.
The hotel cannot be accessed direct from the high st off the A337.
Breakfast was buffet style and average with a number of items being over cooked.
The main complaint however was with regard to the reception staff on both the evening and daytime, with no pleasantries or smiles and the minimum information given. As this is the first impression you have of the hotel I found it very disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms to the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xbigalx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison_F_W, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear xbigalx,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased that you found our location in the 'heart' of the New Forest, great for your stay, and our Superior Rooms spacious.

As a listed building the hotel has undergone extensive re-furbishment works, sympathetic to it's historic charm, whilst ensuring our guests are provided with modern facilities.

I was dissapointed to read your comments regarding the reception team, and quality of breakfast, as from previous reviews these would seem to be the exception rather than the norm, and I thank you for bringing them to our attention.

I hope very much that you will return on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    413
    110
    34
    30
See reviews for
165
815
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights over BH weekend August 2013 with my children in a family room.
The room was furnished to a high standard and very clean.
Hotel set in Lyndhurst high st which is very central to visit New Forest and surrounding areas.
I have no complaints. Staff v professional.
Breakfast lots of choice even for fussiest of eaters.
Good value family hotel which has been refurbished to a high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here today from warners hayling island very busy main road but room large and quiet. Great shower. Just had dinner and really enjoyed food the staff were really attentive and great to see that they would change the menu to suit the customer. So far so good

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chappelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights. We had a lovely stay. Hotel is clean, with friendly staff. Big thank you to our cleaner Martha who kindly put up an extra bed in our room. Decor is beautiful throughout with lovely furniture. There is a garden at the back so you can chill out and a gorgeous lounge with a telly in it. The only moan would be the double bed in the standard room is too small, you can barely move with two of you in it. The morning breakfast wasn't that great, go for the continental not the fry up.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back as noisy at front with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location in the New Forest, this hotel is clean with a nice décor. The room we stayed in was quite small but nice, with a really nice bathroom with a good shower and really nice toiletries.
Breakfast was very good with an excellent selection, and staff were pleasant and fairly helpful.
Overall we had a good experience in this hotel and would return if staying in the New Forest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magberose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We took a short break for my wife's birthday, this hotel looks great on the web site but don't be fooled. It's on the high street which just happens to be the main thoroughfare to get from anywhere to anywhere in the New Forrest so is VERY busy, on a 1 way circuit so if you miss the turn for the car park ( as we did ) due to a pair of delivery vans blocking it, you have a 1.5 mile detour back around the 1 way system in the hope that the vans have moved when you get there again.

Our room was a "classic Club" room décor was very nice and the modern bathroom looked amazing, looks however are not everything. The room was very small, so much so that the door stop was placed to stop the main entry door from hitting the bedside table. It was not possible to get in or out of the bath without fully opening the bath/shower screen, this soaked the floor making it very slippery.

During the night we were kept awake by the noise of pipes every time someone else used water and also by conversation from the next room, so t he walls are not well insulated to sound. Some of the rooms have aircon, ours did not which made the room very stuffy. You should ask for a room with aircon.

We ate our evening meal at the hotel which was lovely, well cooked and presented. Breakfast too was very good and plenty of it.

Not sure we would stay here again as I've had much better rooms at lower cost elsewhere.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms have aircon but overlook the busy main road, rear rooms have no aircon but don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The crown manor was an excellent base for a day trip to Paulton's park and the surrounding area. Great room, which was already set up as requested, friendly and helpful staff, and the food was good, especially the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wh1terabb1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
1.2 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
9.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing