We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Lyndhurst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sleepless in Lyndhurst”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel, steeped in history & charm which was perfect apart from the lack of sleep courtesy of a very loud disco & after party.

We only stayed here for one night, and would have given the hotel at 5 out of 5 as our experience on Saturday evening was wonderful - lovely staff, delicious food, and gorgeous bedroom.

Our bedroom was situated above a function room and we were aware of a party but it was barely audible for most of the evening, didn't bother us and it was made clear in the booking the hotel hosts events so no problems.... Until midnight! We were awoken by a loud blast of Whitney Houston from the room below, the bass shook the bed, and this disruption continued until 1am. After this, the music stopped but the party guests must have occupied the rooms above us as the noise continued long into the night.

Unfortunately, the lack of sleep overshadowed our entire stay here, and made my Sunday birthday treat very difficult as we were both too tired to enjoy the New Forest properly.

We complained to the night porter & receptionist the following day who apologised, but sadly it was too little too late.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah P, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear HonestHannah,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as all feedback is very much appreciated.

I am pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, but apologise for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of music noise which you had been made aware of at time of booking, but which did not finish at midnight.

The hotel does hold some events, and a small number of rooms are affected by residual noise, which is specified at time of writing, and a preferential rate offered. I have spoken to the night team, and can confirm that as soon as they were aware of the disturbance issue, the guests were advised and the music ceased. I am sorry that this was later than advised.

I hope very much that you will have the opportunity to visit us again, and as such please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can personally look after your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    413
    110
    34
    30
See reviews for
164
815
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Beware of this hotel's draconian 48 hour Cancellation Policy! They will hold you to it and charge you for nights not taken if you have to amend your stay for any reason - in our case, we had to change the 2 night booking to 1 night as a relative was seriously ill in hospital in London over Christmas.

We booked this hotel on 22nd December 2012 for 2 nights over Christmas 24th/25th December and had to amend it to 1 night at the last minute. They have refused to re-imburse the night not taken. The sad thing is we booked directly - if we'd booked through Booking.com or Late Rooms they would have re-imbursed the night not taken for obvious reasons.

We are persuing the matter.

B

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah P, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear BT T,

I would like to assure you that the hotel's cancellation policy is the same whether you book direct or with booking.com or laterooms.

By booking direct with the hotel you obtained the best available rate, and our cancellation policy was detailed in our confirmation.

No payment was taken for Christmas Day Lunch which you had booked, and your table could not be filled at such short notice.

I am sorry that you have chosen not to accept our goodwill gesture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

we stayed here before xmas for a few nights,our 1st room we were given wasnt cleaned thoroughly so when my husband reported this we were moved (hooray) i must say that is the 1st time theres been no quibble so thankyou,our next room given to us was fab, bigger room bigger bed,superb!!lyndhurst is a lovely place,my only complaint is that there was a party going on & most of them were very mature aged people so we were VERY surprised when a lady in the nxt room to us decided to retire from party at 1245 only to bang wardrobe doors & then continue to watch tv at a very loud level,& alot of them later than that saying a very loud goodnight to each other on the landing,i know the hotel cant be held responsable for this i just wish people would treat other peoples space with abit of respect,the next morning at breakfast was overrun with this party of people who seemed to take the whole dining room up(like it or not) the lady doing breakfast very good,i admire the way she deals with awkward people,trouble is i dont think people realise shes doing a job same as the rest of us to live she is not our scivvy!! so all in all well done as over the last 2 months we have stayed in many places & this was 1 of the better ones value wise too.

Room Tip: 210 very spacious & a pleasure to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I have to say the only good thing is the location. Very old and everywhere you move the floor boards creak. The bathroom floor feels like you are going to fall to the next floor. Tired looking and dated. We paid more for a upgraded room but it was small and cramped and clearly not a deluxe room. The walls are so thin we were kept awake by the room next door snoring.
Would never return

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW44London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah P, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear SW44London,

Thank you for your recent review, and I am sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied with the standard of your room, which as you will see from previous reviews is not typical.

I would like to assure you that had this been brought to our attention, an immediate room move would have been arranged.

The hotel is a listed building and as such some floorboards do creak, and many of our guests have remarked that this adds to the character.

As the new owners of the hotel many improvements are being made for the benefit of our guests, and as such your comments regarding the soundproofing are appreciated.

I understand that you feel that you do not want to return, but would be delighted if you would contact me to arrange a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel including the gala dinner on new years eve from the time we arrived to leaving on new years day the staff could not have been more helpful or polite. the gala dinner was a fantastic success the food was first class and the service exceptional and unobtrusive.
the hotel is old but the rooms were clean and spacious, the beds comfortable the bathhrooms and bedrooms we understand are to be upgraded this year lets hope they keep the character of the hotel.
we will be back

Room Tip: chose a room at the rear for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messenger580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Wonderful hotel as part of a New Year's Eve package arriving on 30 December and leaving on New Year's Day.

The staff were extremely good as was the quality of the food and the entertainment. The way in which we were cared for at every single stage was faultless and the value for money unbeatable. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely overnight stay in the week before Christmas. A friend had booked his birthday party at the Crown so we stayed for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was spacious, bed comfy, bathroom adequate. We had a view of the church and were right in the town centre.

Staff were helpful, friendly and the food was good too.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: I didn't mind being woken up by the traffic but some people might. You should ask for a room awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
1.2 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
9.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing