We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Still good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

My wife and I booked into The Crown Hotel for a long weekend, as she is 6 months pregnant and we wanted our last break away before the arrival! We have stayed there before, about 5 years ago.
Lyndhurst has gone down hill unfortunately but thankfully the hotel hasn't, it fact it has undergone a make over in some places.
The hotel kindly ungraded us from a superior room to the Evergreen Suite. I would recommend that you do not book this room, it is need of a serious makeover, dark with low ceilings and felt uncomfortable.
Thankfully the hotel moved us, without fuss, to a superior room and this was very nice (although bathroom could do with a refit).
We ate in the brasserrie in the hotel both nights and it has a nice atmosphere in pleasant surroundings. The food is also of a very good quality.
The breakfast was good and also served in the very nice garden restaurant.
The other thing worth pointing out is the staff were always very helpful and happy to assist (particularily Emilia).
If you are staying here and want to eat outside the hotel I would recommend booking early as we had real trouble getting a reservation on Saturday evening.
Overall a very good 3 star hotel, good food, good location for the New Forest and excellent staff. It is in need of some more updating but I understand this is ongoing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamandPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Porter22, Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Crown Hotel, and thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer you an alternative room during your stay. As you can appreciate all of our bedrooms are individualy decorated with many of our regular guests having prefered bedrooms.

From all the Staff at The Crown Hotel we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Andrew Moody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    404
    108
    34
    30
See reviews for
160
786
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

As a group we have been returning to the Crown Hotel every year for a weekend in February since the year 2000. Usually we fill the hotel and this year [year no 12] there were 67 of us, all friends and family members. The Hotel is brilliant, nothing is to much trouble, the staff always make us so welcome we feel like old friends, the food and service is excellent. The Manager Andrew, with Tracey, goes out of his way to help me to plan and organize the entertainment, menus etc plus other special touches that make such a difference to a large group, each year the experience gets better and better, hence the fact that everyone wants to come back.
In summary I cannot recommend enough this hotel, the fact that for twelve years we we have been returning say's it all, we have already booked for next year my only worry is that will we have more requests than there are rooms available, come on Andrew get that extension going! Thanks to all staff see you next year.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janethiscutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Porter22, Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Many thanks for all your lovely comments. I think it's safe to say that myself and the staff always look forward to your visits and enjoy them just as much as your many guests!

On behalf of The Crown Hotel team we are thoroughly looking forward to welcoming you all again in 2012,

Kind regards

Andrew Moody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

I/We always stay here when we come to the New Forest- despite the fact that there is a lot of choice for accommodation. I/we do because The Crown is full of friendly staff, serves excellent food (as well as being nearby to other good eateries) and provides good rooms.

I/We come back each year in February regularly as well as other times for other occasions. An excellent hotel

James and Pat

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stonesfordf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Porter22, Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Many thanks for your lovely comments. It is always very pleasing to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us in The New Forest.

On behalf of all the staff and myslef we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Andrew Moody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband, son and myself had a very relaxing weekend break at the Crown Hotel. We were very impressed with the food, the rooms and the staff. We enjoyed sitting and chilling beside the open fire in the lounge on a cold afternoon and have returned home very relaxed.
After a busy start to the new year our stay has recharged the batteries and we hope to return in the warmer weather.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jobassist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Porter22, Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We take all our feedback seriously both positive and negative. As a team, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. It would be lovely if you could return in the summer when the weather is better and there is much more to do around the forest, although winter is lovely because of the log fires as you said! We're so pleased that your batteries are re-charged and ready for a promising 2011.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the sunny months,

Kind regards

Andrew Moody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We married on the 28th December 2010. Just would like to highly recommend The Crown Hotel, Lyndhurst as a wedding venue. The Manager and Wedding co-ordinator plus staff, made our day the best we could have hoped for. We had guests who were thrilled with the whole day and the food was excellent. 25 rooms were booked to accommodate some of our guests and nothing was too much trouble.
This is a 3 star hotel with at least 5 star service. A big thank you to them.
Mr. & Mrs Gilbert

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duchess1Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Porter22, Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Mr and Mrs Gilbert

We are so thrilled that we could make your wedding day and your stay so comfortable for you and your guests. It was our pleasure to provide you with our best service to ensure that your special day went without any problems. We hope that you will consider coming back to stay, maybe for your 1 year anniversary?

Kind regards

Andrew Moody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Kaiya, you wrote the review for the last hotel we stayed at, so, it’s only fair I write this one.
I’d stayed at the Crown Hotel in Lyndhurst each year during the latter part of December from 2000 until 2006, so, the thought of going back 4 years later pleased me.
I always liked the hotel. It had stairs and, as I live in a bungalow, stairs fascinated me; I would first run up them and then down them, much to the annoyance of my owners. I should also add that there is a lift for those of you not as fond of stairs as me. In those days, I was allowed to sit under the tables in the bar provided I wasn’t a nuisance and, as I’m not keen on being separated from Jan and Ray, I found it comforting. Also, as it was the time of Christmas parties, it was always a bit raucous, but never too noisy. The food must have been plentiful, because there was always a doggie bag to supplement my breakfast the following morning.
I always found the rooms comfortable and warm and, being the New Forest, there were plenty of choices of places to walk. For that last minute stretch before turning in for the night, “Bolton’s Bench” is situated just at the end of the High Street. For the more ambitious of you, “Pig Bush” is another good long walk, especially as you end up at “Beaulieu Halt Railway Station where your master and mistress can revitalise themselves with a pleasant lunch (no Kaiya, I’m not always thinking of my stomach, and I’ll thank you to keep your thoughts to yourself).
Over the intervening years, the hotel has undergone total redecoration and updating. The biggest change being the restaurant, now incorporated in the bar and, I’m no longer allowed to keep my owners company in there!
That apart, the rooms are still comfortable and well appointed, in character with the age of the building, although a mini fridge to help keep our food fresh wouldn’t go amiss. (Andrew, take note.)
Dinner is now served in the restaurant/bar and not in the small, cosy, room opposite. However, the quality is still as good as ever. Last night’s beef, chicken or pork, that Jan and Ray couldn’t finish, still make a tantalising top up to our breakfast the following morning.
To close, I would like to add that, the staff was all friendly to Kaiya and me and would always come from behind the desk to fuss us. Tracey in particular remembered me from all those years ago and came to give me a big hug. I hope we go back again in 2011, but when it’s warmer (Jan and Ray take note).

Hetty

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hettybarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Porter22, Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thank you Hetty, for such a wonderful review of our hotel! it's always a pleasure having you and Kaiya to stay, especially as your owners are so well behaved! We have had many changes here since your last stay in 2006 I can imagine, the biggest being our Brasserie which is now our full time restaurant for residents and non residents alike (We're sorry that this means you wont be allowed in there any more!) at the front of the hotel.

We are looking forward to your next return visit to The New Forest and hope that the weather is better for you then.

Kind regards

Andrew Moody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night just before Christmas. We found the room and bathroom to be clean and reasonably sized, but a bit dated and not very inspiring. Breakfast was a continental buffet plus cooked breakfast to order and was pretty good. 
Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to shops and restaurants and a private car park at the back. 
All in all, not a bad place to stay, but it was a bit overpriced and we'd probably try elsewhere if we were staying in Lyndhurst again. 

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Porter22, Manager at The Crown Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Many thanks for your review. We take all our feedback seriously and are very grateful for your time.
As a team we were very pleased to hear that the service and breakfast during your stay was good and helpful and that overall you had a nice stay here with us at The Crown Hotel. Please accept our apologies on this occassion for your room not meeting your expectations, we are currently re-decorationg all of our bedrooms.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, when we are further on with our refurbishment.

Kind regards

Andrew Moody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
3.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
3.1 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Manor House Hotel

Property: The Crown Manor House Hotel
Address: 9 High Street, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lyndhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lyndhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Manor House Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Lyndhurst Village, the capital of the New Forest National Park. Our beautiful 15th century listed hotel has been totally rebuilt over the years from modest beginnings to its current impressive, large black and white timbered building.So why choose to Stay at The Crown Manor House Hotel? We offers guests a relaxing English countryside getaway with real log fires, tranquil gardens, attentive service and fantastic locally sourced food, including a great breakfast, combined with a real sense of tradition. All 50 guest rooms, some of which have four poster beds, are well appointed, individually lovingly designed for the 21st century, sympathetic to our period listed building.With a large free car park and being only 3 miles from the mainline railway station, exploring couldn’t be easier. Lyndhurst is brimming with quaint shops, new forest tea room and fantastic pubs. There are walks on our doorstep on picturesque heathlands and bicycling in ancient woods. You can wear riding boots in the morning, wellington boots at noon and golf spikes in the afternoon. Maybe take a 15 minute drive to the beach with the family or even the Isle of Wight. Special weekend breaks are also available to Peppa Pig world, Exbury Gardens. WiFi is complimentary. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, a romantic getaway or precious time with family, The Crown Manor House Hotel is the perfect place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Crown Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
The Crown Manor House Hotel Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing