We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Royal Oak Pub

Royal Oak Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Nightlife in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Woking, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a pub with lots of character, very busy, but service is quick and the turnover of people is fast. My family ordered the substantial ploughmans and I wished I had too. As I didn't want such a big lunch I ordered the ham soup and was so disappointed. It was a bowl of large diced vegetables in tasteless liquid with no ham.Situated in a good area of the New Forest it's worth another visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    18
    5
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fire, friendly and filling.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We managed to stumble across this little gem accidentally whilst on a drive through the new forest, and after looking through the reviews on here previously, we were very happy we did!

For a Saturday it was quiet with only a few punters in from the local area, and this added to the trip! The staff were extremely friendly, happy to chat, along with the customers too.
There was a fire burning welcoming us in from the cold too which added to it all.

There were 4 ciders on top including 1 cloudy (pheasant plucker) which I found lovely and sweet. They also have a number of bottled ciders. I'm not really a beer drinker but they had a large number on tap and again a fridge stocked full of them and other alcopops and a wide range of spirits.

Now, we had come here for a late lunch early dinner and so had left a hole in our stomachs. But no amount of fast g could prepare us for the amount of food that was going to be placed in front of us. I had a pork and sage pie, whilst my girlfriend had sundried tomato fishcakes. The portions were absolute humungous...and cooked to perfection. Finishing off with the last bit of sticky toffee pudding crowned a brilliant trip to the royal oak.

The only possible improvement that could be made was that whilst there chairs were comfy, maybe a cushion on them wouldn't go amiss. But this is the smallest little thing at a pub that is otherwise by far the best I have been to in a very very long time.
The prices are beyond reasonable, cheap almost, you will leave feeling like a stuffed turkey, and if you're not driving the wide selection of local tipples that are available to try might just leave you nattering on in a merry state...

Well worth a visit I couldn't recommend it more.

Helpful?
1 Thank Al_Gordon_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Pub”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stopped here on a sunny winters day after walking in the forest, sat in the front room with sun streaming in had a lovely pint of ale and a cheese ploughmans which consisted of generous portions of local cheeses, everyone very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great beer.Excellent Ploughmans”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Planned a 15 mile circular walk starting/finishing from Rockford Common with a lunch stop at The Royal Oak.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

After a setting off on a chilly but sunny late november morning on foot at 10:00 am from the high corner inn we made it to the Royal Oak at just after 11:30. Feet tired and cold faces we stepped into a warm open fire and an even warmer greeting from behind the bar. A pint of rich warming ale was needed and 'the devils backbone'' provided this in being a dark full bodied porter and an aspell was the wifes tipple. On scanning the locally sourced menu my wife plumped for the smoked trout pate and for me it had to be the Ham and Barley broth, both with home baked granary bread. The ale, food and service was 100% and I would recommend this local country pub to everyone, but as it was packed solid by 13:00 pm I think everyone already knows. Thankyou and see you very soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak Pub also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ashurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Royal Oak Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing