We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and deceivingly spacious property”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Spring Cottage

Spring Cottage - front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spring Cottage - front of house
Front of House from the side Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Spring Cottage - front of house
Front of House from the side
Lounge
Dining Room
Double Bedroom 2
Double Bedroom 1
Double Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5 - Bunk Beds
Double Bedroom 3
Hallway and stairs (before gate was fitted)
Floor Plan
Bathroom
Games room
Conservatory from the back
Bolton's Bench - 5 minutes walk
Baby New Forest Pony
New Forest Ponies
Spacious Lounge
Local Playground
Paulton's Park Theme Park - home to Peppa Pig world
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kwo114
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could be easily be better with simple improvements”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Summary: A nice spacious place, but many little things would make the place so much better. It's dropped 2 stars because of that.

General:
+ The toy box was great, loads of toys to keep the kids entertained.
+ There's enough parking for 3 saloon/hatchback sized cars. If you have more cars, there's parking on the side road
- The multi-game table (air-hockey, pool, foosball) was really wobbly and falling to bits when poked with a finger. We had to move it to the shed because it was dangerous for the kids. Throwing it away would've helped.
- Multiple light bulbs not working in the house, so many I've lost count!
- None of the locks worked on toilets/bathrooms, please have this fixed. People like their privacy :)
- The vacuum cleaner was useless with the head broken.
- More hand towels needed please - at least 1 in the kitchen, toilet and bathroom. We ended up having to buy our own, and it'd be nice not to have to do this on holiday.
- We found the house difficult to find as it was buried in bushes. A nice clear sign visible from the road would've helped.
- WiFi was slow and inconsistent throughout house.

Location: A 5 minute walk to town, but is on a stretch of road which always has traffic. We had to sit in traffic every day for 5-15 mins to park up. Check Google Traffic.

Rooms:
+ The rooms were spacious for 8 adults and 4 little ones.
+ They were clean
- Lacked towels. We were informed about this beforehand, but it's a more complete holiday experience had we not had to bring ours.
- The cupboards were large, but more hangers are needed.

Kitchen: Plenty of easy fixes which would've made our stay so much better.
+ Good sized kitchen, equipped with dishwasher.
+ Enough pots, pans, plates and bowls.
- There were only a couple of teaspoons. Please buy more.
- The fridge is tiny (half height) for the size of the house, there's plenty of space in the utility room for another.
- There's an old washing machine but no tumble dryer.
- No Scissors
- There's no iron/ironing board.

Bathroom:
- Hot water was very inconsistent, sometimes it's hot, but other times you'd be having a cold shower.
- The bath is quite slippery, an anti slip mat would be good.

Garden:
- It's small and wasn't comfortable as it doesn't get much sunlight.
- Not much flat space for kids to run around, however we were in New Forest, so we simply went out.
- There's no BBQ. A summer holiday feels a bit wrong without having one.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaC178
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and deceivingly spacious property”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Spring Cottage proved perfect for our needs and our stay in Lyndhurst. We needed somewhere clean and tidy as we wouldn't be spending so much time at the accommodation and it was everything we expected. Deceivingly spacious with plenty of living accommodation downstairs and the bedrooms are generous in size with large double beds. One or two areas of the property looking a little tired and in need of TLC but otherwise we couldn't fault it. I found the owner really easy to communicate with and very helpful too.
Getting out on to the Lyndhurst one way system is a little tricky at times but other than that we found the location and the property really good value.
Parking is provided for 2 vehicles on the front and 1 in the car port which suited us fine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivy h
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal house and location”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Ideal location the town of lyndhurst is lovely with lots of places to eat or just grab a coffee a good base to visit other attractions we enjoyed a beach day in Bounemouth,the town of Lymington and Winchester. The grandchildren loved seeing the ponies in the forest and a great day was spent in Peppa pig world some of our party went into Portsmouth braving the spinnaker tower then going onto the dockyard to visit HMS Victory,HMS Warrior and the Mary Rose museum . Spring Cottage was great very comfortable spacious with everything we needed and a very good location we are hoping to return soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellie24
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal for a large family holiday”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My family booked Spring Cottage for a week 1-8th April and it was idea for our needs .. a big family getaway..10 of us in total, with room for everyone to do their own thing
The master bedroom luxury for myself & partner & the other 2 large bedrooms upstairs allowed the space for addition of a cot and an anxious 5yr old who was finding sleeping in a different place more difficult. The smaller double room suited the teenager who usually had to share at home and the bunk beds for cousins who usually didn't....
Downstairs we made use of the big lounge & conservatory with ample seating for a family The kitchen & dining room were ideal for my vision of "The Walton's type " family meals & cooking
The bedrooms & bathrooms were all clean with good pillows & mattresses no strange smells or leaks.
The kitchen facilities were adequate for 10 There was a well stocked cleaning cupboard with spare lightbulbs ,toilet roll & cleaning products.
I would recommend this property to others.
However to address some of the concerns expressed in other reviews Spring Cottage is not a show house its clean & adequate & homely but if your expecting 5* then you may be disappointed.The kitchen equipment is a little hotchpotch & some oven wear well used, a deep clean of the utility & under stairs cupboards wouldn't go a miss Having said that all needs were provided for & we had a great holiday
The owner Sandra was contactable best by her mobile number and dealt with a problem we had with garden furniture promptly replacing the old with a new set with in the week, Her handyman Adrian also fixed the showerhead while there putting the garden furniture together
Parking for 3 cars & access to the drive was fine once you are aware of the one-way system & prepare for heavy traffic at certain times of day. The garden gates were safe & the garden ideal to sit while the sun shone
The location is ideal we only took the car out twice having walked to Bolton's Bench & Emery Down several times The town of Lyndhurst has lots of food options & Bugden's was not especially over priced There is a great local play park with equipment for all ages including an outdoor gym.. Id also recommend getting your car & going to The Tall trees walk at Rhienfield Ornamental Ave & Walking from Beaulieu to Bucklers Hard a 3mile walk through forest & along the rivers edge
All in all a great success in a perfectly adequate family home

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gblmb
Weston On The Green
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely house, spacious but cosy”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely house in great location,, perfect for sharing with friends.
Although advertised for 10, insufficient utensils etc. for that number!
Ideal for 8 of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great weekend with friends
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria D
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in this cottage for our vacation. We were 5 adults and 4 children. The cottage is very spacious and there is room for the children to play. The toy box is an excellent idea. Everything in the cottage is nice. Beds very comfortable. Would recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs. Marg...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spring Cottage is quirky and was ideal for our three generations in spite of the busy road outside.”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage seemed a little odd at first but we grew to really like it. Some kitchen equipment needs replacing and there were not enough mugs. Also heating was a little temperamental and BBQ was missing. Children's toys kept our youngsters amused as did games around the house and garden. Proximity to town and country made for a good mixture of activities. Busy one-way system meant getting on and off the drive needed patience but garden is secure as long as gate is bolted. We would book again if we wanted to stay in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for nine family members
Liked least: Busy road at the front
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing