We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed (Sept. 2012)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White Rabbit

White Rabbit
Ranked #33 of 51 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hayes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointed (Sept. 2012)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went with the wife for an evening meal, had the starter which was very nice, then waited over an hour (4 pints) for our main meal, it was nice. I can only think that the chef was an apprentice working on his own. Just O.K. After complaining the bill was reduced by 3 pints and a large white wine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJones452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    80
    78
    86
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Dorset
Level Contributor
179 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a disappointing experience! Looking forward to a meal in a New forest pub and from the outside all looked good. Inside I was surprised at the size of the pub as it was very extensive. The main probelm lay in the fact there were only 2 staff behind the bar and 1 trying to serve all the meals. Tables were not properly laid with missing cutlery, napkins and condiments; one table had cleaning fluid and a cloth left on it; 2 meals on the September specials menu had been crossed off as unavailable (another 9 days yet in September!) and a 25 minute wait for my salad to appear. Around me guests were being told that there was no bearnaise sauce for the steak, there was no vanilla ice cream for another family. My food was expensive for what it was and did no tlive up to expectation. A 20 minute wait before my plates were cleared and there was no offer of dessert or coffee. This is such a shame as the restaurant has such potential. Unless they address the issue of staffing, things are not ong to improve.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingskerswell
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Food ok but over priced. Pub quiet when we called. Staff Friendly, pub ok but only one real ale available. Won't rush back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at White Rabbit, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Paul B,

Thank you for your comment, your feedback has been noted and will be used in future reviews for the White Rabbit.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very poor and over priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We ate here on Saturday night for a friend's birthday. We had to pre order our food for some reason and when we sat down to eat they came out with some excuses for not having some of the items - for sea bass risotto "we have sea bass but no risotto", some lame excuse about not being able to cook venison medallions and then for my salad (after serving the rest of the table with their orders) having no eggs to go on the salad, although they had one to go on my friends wild boar burger. Why pre order when you don't bother getting the food??
My salad had two chicken skewers, cold bacon, cold greasy croutons and a plate of leaves which cost me £10. My wife had a fish pie that looked like it had been supplied by the local school kitchen, I believe this was also about £10. Starter was prawns (5 of them) with chili sauce for £5.39 (£1 per prawn). Drinks were also way too expensive, for example old rosie cider which you can get in my local (only 4 miles from Lyndhurst) for £3 a pint was £4.25. Obviously this place exists to extort money from passing tourists, the fact that it was almost empty on a saturday night was pretty telling. Hopefully many tourists will read this and not get caught out, there's plenty of nicer places around

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
“Disappointment at The White Rabbit, Lyndhurst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My family & I ate at The White Rabbit last night (6Sept) and we had a terrible experience. The service (or lack off!) and the food was just awful and I wish I had read some of the reviews first. Anyway it took at least an hour for the over-priced, sub-standard food and even the simple desert of chocolate fudge cake & cream took 45mins to arrive and we had to ask for it!
I have never written a review before but on this occasion I felt I must warn others that there are certainly better places to eat in Lyndhurst, such as The Swan!! We have eaten there many times and have never been as disappointed as we were last night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Rabbit also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to White Rabbit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing